Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Teburu Furippu Do

by zwartraider - Jam Entry

Teburu Furippu Do gives you the skills of a true warrior, one who is able to put any object to use as a weapon.

Instructions on screen will help you on your way. Your goal is to acquire MUCH HONOR!

Music by DesoPL - DFL-SamuraiDuel:
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/347854

Some graphics assistance was provided by the amazing Halonix:
http://halonix.deviantart.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#19Humor(Jam)4.16
#42Theme(Jam)4.16
#80Fun(Jam)3.82
#229Overall(Jam)3.58
#343Mood(Jam)3.31
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#475Graphics(Jam)3.37

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45am

Cool game

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Funny take on the theme, I like how the enemies and assets keep the pace with the music. Good work!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

LOL, why is this so addicting? Great entry!

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Dishonor on you! Dishonor on your cow!

That was a lot of fun, well put together, and a great art style. Humor was perfect in it too, just over the top enough to be incredibly amusing :)

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Quite a funny (and fun) game! Honestly, the main thing you could benefit from was another gameplay screenshot--with the low number of comments, I had my fingers crossed that it'd be an unfinished game where you'd be able to flip the table once and nothing else.

Was it inspired by Nanaca Crash at all? It feels similar even though it isn't based on bouncing.

Also, why no audio rating? The audio's great :(

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Ah, kotatsu, the most unconventional and frigging awesome weapon ever made.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Lots of fun, very funny, enjoyed the option to kill myself for dishonoring my table flipping lineage.

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Haha. table flipping as a weapon! :D Great idea! I would have liked to be able to vote on the audio part because I think the music ans sounds are very fitting. Great game!

kipelovets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Cool game! It's nice to commit seppuku after failing dishonorably :)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:23am

A nice variance of endless runner! The animation makes me laugh ;)

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Had a good laugh :) though my performance was shameful. well done!

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:56pm

I really enjoyed how the game immediately threw me into the action with no time to think. It felt dynamic and the music adds well to it.

I need to practice more to master the ancient art of flipping tables. My family is dishonored by my shameful performance.

monika says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:42am

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:01am

My best best score is 3061 ( tried it 7-8 times ). That was great, and this seppuku animation is gorgeous !

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:28am

Hilarious and fun. This game is intense!

Boberro says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:48am

I really need a sprite of main character throwing a table. This face was hillarious.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:10pm

@Boberro

Here you go! http://i.imgur.com/8AaINUx.png

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:54pm

This was great! :D

Love the concept and the game itself was fun to play. The art style seemed consistent which made it all fit nicely, topped off by letting me perform seppuku for being so dishonourable just made this entry hilarious - SO MUCH BLOOD!

Boberro says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:17pm

@zwartraider thanks XD

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:08am

This is one of the most hilarious I've played. I pronounced the title before realizing what it was going to be, and then I was even more amused once I started playing and saw the various animations.

Even 5000 honor is considered shameful though. I fear there is no honor total high enough. :( SHAMEFUR DISPRAY

lochmann-apps says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:49am

Funny game :) the steering of the table is well done!

stoarch says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Good game. And intense fight add fun to play. If we can see tips about enemies...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]