Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Invictus

by coderitual - Jam Entry

Enemies chasing you. It is certain that you will be caught. Collect explosive packages and survive as long as possible.

Notice: This is very simple mobile one-button game. It's more like prototype than real game. It was really hard to get it done though.

Controls: only click/tap to change direction of the player movement

The best experience is on mobiles, but if you are browsing on your desktop also *use the link* - embedded version does not fit (portrait mode)

Changes/Fixes:
* Fixed player spawning position
* World wrap added

Game was created with xna.js library.
https://github.com/coderitual/xna.js

WebGL support required!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#459Innovation(Jam)3.18
#574Fun(Jam)2.99
#675Overall(Jam)3.04
#695Graphics(Jam)2.92
#873Mood(Jam)2.47
#918Humor(Jam)1.75
#976Theme(Jam)2.35

Comments

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27am

I really liked this! It's really simple and clean. At first I didn't know how to play, but with afew clicks I got it. Good job, I love the clean look :)

grifdail says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31am

I sometime spawn outside of the world, but it's great otherwise.

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:50am

Ah yes. I forgot to reset the player position after death. I'll fix it.

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

interesting. You should have the player wrap from one side to the other to avoid getting of screen though.

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:21am

This is really cool! It's brutally hard, though. I feel like if the explosions were quicker that might give the player more of an advantage. At the moment, if I trigger an explosion, I outrun the bullets and get killed by enemies that it would have killed.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:31am

Even being simple, I love the graphic theme. It's coherent and give a zen feeling to the whole game. It's pretty hard, you should maybe slown down a bit the enemies.

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

@StabAlarash Wrap player from one side to the other is really good idea. I bring it to the game.

@BermudaCake I also think that bullets should move faster (player could be saved at the last moment :))

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Oh, this is kind of nice. Very relaxing to wobble around the screen.

I agree with Mixer, it would be nice to have a few seconds to work out the controls before the enemies start spawning; it's not immediately obvious what effect tapping has.

It might also be nice to have the world wrap asteroids-style -- one you're off the screen, it's almost impossible to get back on.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18pm

It's pretty cool, I can see this getting better with a little more work. I think the enemies spawn a little too suddenly and maybe a bigger map would be cool. The movement mechanics are pretty nice and I almost got good enough to weave in and out of the enemies which felt pretty sweet :) Overall pretty cool

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Not bad! After I got how to play it, I did so for some time. Nice mechanic. Just needs audio, more visual effects.

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Bullets are little bit faster now :)

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Great game - very good control scheme. Challenging and addictive! Needs to wrap around when you go off the screen in one direction though. Add more particle effects! :)

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

* Added world wrap

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

This was extremely challenging, but I did find myself getting better and better the more I played, which is very satisfying and hard to pull off. Nice work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Really nice start, I like where it's headed. I didn't notice an impact when I held my clicks, maybe use that for an extra dimension of control.

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Thanks!

@Incredible Ape: For now it is just tap, but good idea!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:43pm

I don't like how enemies can spawn directly in front of you. The mechanics are simple and if you put a little more work into it, this game might become quite fun.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Great start, nice simplistic graphics. Would love to see this after more work and polish!

HayBee05 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Simple, clean, challenging. As fun as it was intensely clicking, I would like to try it on my phone. I hope you get the chance to work on the prototype more.

coderitual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:37am

Thanks for advices! Today I'll fix this bug with enemy spawning.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:32pm

A really cool idea that always keeps you on your toes. Challenging and fun to play.

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Great prototype. I could see people playing this on mobile. It's frustratingly difficult but doesn't make you wait a long time to get right back into it, which is great.

ker0chan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:10am

Very nice idea :) With some polish and a bit more content, that would make a cool Steam game !
Great job on finishing something during the jam :) !

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:39pm

High score ~2500. Pretty fun game, though seems a bit out of time. Also there is a lack of music for me. Otherwise, pretty great game! Giving a good rating

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I really like this. It's simple but perfect for a mobile game whilst waiting for the bus. My one gripe was some cheap deaths where I was outrunning loads of them then have one spawn a millimetre in front of me. I was on the edge of my seat then disheartened haha.

Would definitely encourage you to pursue finishing this!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Its very smooth and original. The controls sure are unconventional, but the game doesnt fit the theme quite well.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Thanks! Agree with you @AnioraZ. I was focused mainly on gameplay. This was also first game created with my webgl library. I've found many bugs in it doing this game...

Currently I'm working on highscore system and fixing last (hope so) bugs.

PS. My record is 14920

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:46pm

It took me a little too long to figure out what was happening with the controls. but once I got the hang of it I appreciated the simplicity while still offering good (if somewhat awkward) control.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49pm

@rodobodolfo this enemy spawning bug will be fixed today.
@TeamCalcium probably you are right. This LD convinced me to finish my old idea. This weapon system (not connected to the ship) is somewhat related to the theme but only little bit:)

scumbly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Nice work, appreciate mobile games in LD

Blobo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Really cool! i loved the concept, only complaint is having enemies appear right in front of you with no time to move.

gene-z says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Good... lite and fun,, congrats

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:36pm

It's a nice idea here, which, despite some bugs, is a pretty solid game.

I kept getting killed by enemies spawning under me, or directly in front of me which hampered my enjoyment somewhat, but I can see how with a bit more time, you could have something more unique and playable out there, nice concept for sure!

coderitual says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:50pm

*Fixed enemy spawning point

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Wow! What a fun addicting game! You're really on to something here! It reminded me of the pacifism mode on Geometry Wars. I would definitely put this on my phone.

1 piece of feedback: consider waiting a few seconds after an enemy spawns before allowing it to kill the player. It was quite frustrating have 3000 points and then getting an enemy spawn right in front of me with no time to avoid it.

coderitual says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:28pm

@Archonthewizard Although I have eliminated the enemy spawning very close to the player, as you say will actually be better.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:57am

Hm. It't too easy now...

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:09pm

A bit difficult at first, but you improve fast the longer you play. I liked the one action control.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Really basic, but it's good enough. It could be a good game for IOS or Android. Add some noises or music ++

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Very fun arcade game! Hard, too! I like the circling controls instead of the turn left/right idea. Very cool.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:48am

Nice game ! Interesting mechanics and pretty well executed I'd say :D

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I liked this, simple and addictive! Took me two runs to figure out what was going on, but after that it was great fun :) Seems very well suited as a phone game!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:04am

Really cool style and play - I sometimes wish the control was a little tighter since I found this suuuper hard, but that can add to it too

Yword says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:57am

Really additive gameplay, reminds me of playing Tilt to Live on iOS! But I think it will be better if the player can move and rotate towards the tap position. Well done!

shimage says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:39am

I got 2300. Very addictive game. Good works!

coderitual says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Thanks you all for your comments. This is really motivating.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:24am

Its a simple but nice design, and I really like the gameplay, works everything fine!
Its just, it doesn't match the theme imho.

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Very interesting concept! You have to push this to a full game on mobile!

jk5000 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:52pm

A nice and simple game. Give it some funky music.

coderitual says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:35pm

thx! Now I am waiting for music from my friend.

Photon says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:08am

Not sure what the unconventional weapon is and I really feel like the direction reverse should be more responsive/instantaneous. Its pretty tough as is but its a cool little idea that would be interesting to see more of.

Pietdagamer says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Very cool, even though it is just a prototype.

coderitual says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:18pm

@Photon Right. I will definitely tweak movement parameters.

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Neat idea! I enjoyed the color pallet and effects!

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Wow, that was hard to get used to, but it was so unique that I loved it. Good game!

Graphics were simple, but sharp and polished, can't dock points there. Once I figured out how to get going had a very smooth feel to it.

REIN1 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:20am

Little hard but interesting!

May 5, 2015 @ 4:28pm

It's very pretty, good use of simple art. The game is promising and worth developing further

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:22am

Nice game. I think, difficult becomes too hard so quickly. It must grow slowly. It will be more interesting.

FrozenCow says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Simple but really nice game. It was somehow pretty hard (or at least it felt so), but exploiting the borders made it somewhat easier. Good entry!

coderitual says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Thanks for comments!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]