Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sun Beam

by BadPaul34 - Jam Entry

Did you ever see a Vampire Wizard fighting Zombies with the power of the sun??

Now Yes !

Let's introduce you Sun Beam !

Hold your mouse button to rise the sun. Turn your mouse around the center of your screen to orientate the light.

You spend some mana when the day is up. Collect some mana blobs to get back some power.

Hords of zombies rush on you. Make them burn with the sun light before they eat you.
You're a tasty burger for them.

But be careful... The vampire you are can't stay in the day light for long.

ATTENTION: The webGL version includes some graphic bugs. (weird sprite stretching) If you want to enjoy the pure awesome beauty of the game art, please download the Windows version.

BY LAZYFROGS TEAM
Code by Paul Vaillé
Game Design by Mathieu Labelle, Léo Noël & Paul Vaillé
Arts by Arnaud Chatté
Sounds & Music by T.O.M. Avatars

We're some LD fans since a long time now. You can check a game we made at first for a Ludum Dare ("You only Get One"): 1shot1killgame.com
We are working on it and it will be released on consoles and pc!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Theme(Jam)4.25
#79Innovation(Jam)3.88
#149Fun(Jam)3.63
#172Mood(Jam)3.56
#181Overall(Jam)3.63
#316Graphics(Jam)3.69
#376Audio(Jam)3.07
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

jcsirron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:55pm

This was a rather interesting game, but I did run into a bug where WASD wasn't working after a short time starting the game. I found that the arrow keys didn't run into this issue.

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07am

Such a funny idea, and nice art style, but a 100% pixel art style would've been better. The WASD also seem only to apply only to w and a.

Ourson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

brilliant idea!
The game is a bit too hard in my opinion.
Mabe there should be few ennemies at the beginning and then, waves with more and more ennemies.
I really like the concept! =D

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18pm

It's fun ! I like the concept.
Graphics are cool, audio goes well with game.
The game is simple to understand yet challenging.
Nice job !

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:27am

Nice gameplay idea!

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

The mechanic was interesting and it was nicely tied together with the visuals, which is always a plus :) Had some WASD issues (for some reason for me the key bindings were SDQZ?).

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:49pm

amazing... lol i love the concept !!...
but so hard to win for beginner...lol...

but really fun to play this game..

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Well firstly, NOONE calls ME Loose. Really awesome concept for a game, love the idea of using lighting and shadows as a weapon. Lovely art style to it aswell! I found the W & A keys didn't seem to work on the windows version though. Would love to see the idea developed further!

-Neith

Perjoka says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40am

Great concept! After some time, i couldn`t rise the sun anymore, nothing happend.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:06am

Clever mechanic and nice graphical style, great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]