Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Flying Carpet

by Kalinka - Jam Entry

Flying Carpet

You are a sorcerer on a flying carpet. Defend your base and explore this strange world. You have got many powers to help your quest. Try them ! And don't worry ! You're balloon will bring back mana for you.

* Procedural generated world
* Many power, from fireball to Vulcan casting
* Invoke Pets and guards to help you

Enjoy,
And please give me your feedback !

Tools :

Unity
with help of many voxel engine tutorial,
in particular http://alexstv.com/index.php/
Gimp
Bvfxr

Miss time for :
Some little bugfixes
More terrain modification power
More RPG dimensions !
and more Monsters !!!

PS : In tribute to "Magic Carpet" from Bullfrog. Really great game !

/!\ Linux version not tested

Edit : Please, for best performance and stability, prefer windows executable.
Edit2 : Apparently, web version is really instable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#654Audio(Jam)1.94
#700Graphics(Jam)2.91
#706Fun(Jam)2.77
#802Mood(Jam)2.63
#803Overall(Jam)2.87
#844Theme(Jam)2.81
#861Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Kalinka says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:34pm

And now, i'm going to bed !! So tired !

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

I couldnt rate this game because on the loading screen Unity crashes and comes up with an error report =\

Might be my computer so I hope other people are able to play and rate the game.

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47am

Which platform and browser plz ?

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04am

The game crashed on first try (web version on safari + osx yosemite), but on the second reload I got to play. At first I was wondering that why is the game looking so strange, but it turns out I was flying upside down :D

Should the other powers work (dragged from inventory)? Maybe I was out of mana.

Nice game anyway! I loved Magic carpet back in the day (the reason I tried this entry :) )

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07am

NICE !!!!

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

Thanks for testing ! Yes, didn't have the time for some corrections. For now, have to keep mouse on center on screen to avoid upside down, there is no automatic recovery.
Second point is better power control with mana and reload time mecanism.
I will try to make a post-mortem version with this stuff ;)

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29am

and yes, most powers should workd :)
some likes seism should be casted on sand

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Took some time to learn the controls. Pretty great game, imo. Although it crashed after 10-15 seconds.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Aladdin simulator! :D I like it, specially the "minecraft" look and the construction of the towers, it looks nice. It's a pity that it doesn't have music, and i got a bit dizzy after a while.

Keep up the good work :D

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:20pm

This was so fun!!! I liked it at first for the cool ability to fly on the carpet and to attack from there, but then i discovered the volcano looking ability and I spammed it everywhere trying to see what would happen!! definitely a great game that im glad I played!

also got me wanting to try out the game this is based off of

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Like all 3D games in the ludum, this is impressive, and I'm sure that Sr Peter Molyneux likes this !

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I hope so ccglp !! :)
Thanks all for reviews !

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

webplayer crashes on IE & win8.1

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The controls and camera made me sick, and on firefox the unity player popped up the dev console and spouted tons of errors at me

Kalinka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

texdata, sorry for that ! Prefer windows version
Ilseroth, wait to try an occulus rift version :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Hi! The game is awesome! Cool 3D and world (flying enemies, comets and so much more!), though took a while to get a hang on flying.

Great game, good luck!

Johan Blade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56pm

The controls feel great once you learn them. It's fun to fly around, would be fun to see the concept expanded upon.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I like the idea, but it make me feel dizzy (mouse lag)
I played the windows version.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39am

Really had problems with the controls on windows. For the first 10 seconds, nothing would respond to button presses, then all of a sudden i was in a twirl :(

Kalinka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12am

Apparently, this take some time to finish loading the map when game start :/
I will bugfix all this problems when i have some time

Kalinka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24pm

and you have to press forward key to begin moving. It can explain why it does nothing at start

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:48am

I like the movement once you get a hang of it :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Liked the flying carpet transport method, the quad angle for was appropriate.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:19am

I like that there were a lot of spells here, but the lag in the controls/camera really were dizzying and nauseating.

The shear amount of what you did here is way impressive, but it could certainly be made more pleasant for the user!

DesignerNap says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice spread of powers, trickery to pick up at first but a great entry

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]