Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lazy Sunday

by mathmadlen - Jam Entry

Oh no!
The moles are after your beer!
Use toxin to fight those pesky thieves - press SPACE to spray it on the ground. Move with ARROW KEYS.
You have 5 loads of toxin at once, after using that, you'll have to wait for it to regenerate.
The place you've sprayed will hurt moles for about 15sec.
Don't use toxins near your chair or beer, after all, you want to relax there!
Protect your beer, destroy all the moles and win - a lazy Sunday...

Created in GameDevelop.

[UPDATE: fixed some bugs, especially with collision boxes. Missing sprite animations are finally showing. Moles don't die on the stone square]

[Working on a post-jam version - thank you all for the comments! I love reading them and rating your games! -M]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Audio(Jam)3.22
#407Humor(Jam)3.10
#586Theme(Jam)3.26
#607Graphics(Jam)3.11
#641Innovation(Jam)2.89
#731Mood(Jam)2.75
#874Fun(Jam)2.52
#919Overall(Jam)2.70
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53pm

I love the sprite for the main character. The other sprites are nice too, but the main guy is amazing. There are a few bugs, and I guess your job is to debug them and keep your beer safe. I had some trouble with this, as they would move a bit unpredictably at times. Still, a solid entry.

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Well, good try, with best collisions and controls the game will be better.

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:56am

Nice idea! Very unconventional weapon, and played a bit like a single-person tower defense game. Some more feedback (flash the moles red?) would have helped, but overall good job.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Good entry, I think the only thing that would make it a bit better is some sort of animation or corpse when a mole dies, rather than just disappearing. Simple to play but still felt solid in it's mechanics.

goerp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Just the day to rate this game.
It feels a bit like an 80's arcade game (only a lot easier), also because of the music.

I think the game could use some audio and/or viual feedback on the weapons/effects but other than that, it's fine (altough I would like an 80's arcade style high score list, but that's just me).

I think I've deserved that beer now.

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:08pm

A good little game with a retro style.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:20pm

It's cool, great graphics and animation. But it seemed really hard. The 'toxin' hardly affects the moles at all, and they just keep coming and stealing your beer...I assumed that if I put down a toxin in time I would be able to stop a mole BEFORE it stole a beer, but apparently that's not even possible...

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Controls are a little less smooth than I'd like, but I've never been more pissed at a pixel animal before! Good start.

spin-down says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Boozy moles are the worst, but your game was pretty nifty. The main character was nicely drawn and the toxic sprayer was a nice touch.

May 5, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice work, the graphics were good, and music was pretty great too. The gameplay was fairly well put together, though a bit simple.

It might have been better to make it clear that the poison won't keep the moles from getting to their target immediately, and that it's a game of attrition. It took me a while to realise what I was doing was actually working.

Overall a pretty solid game, with some fine spots of polish!

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:10am

I thought this was surprisingly effective. I think it would be more enjoyable with snappier controls over the old man, it feels a little mushy at the moment. Nice game!

davient says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:23am

Fun Concept. I found that the space bar kept moving the page down so I couldnt play the game easily. Loved the Idea

biscuitdough says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:43am

Had a little trouble figuring out if what I was doing was working. Great music though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]