Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Deminescent

by Chronodrax - Jam Entry

Deminescent is a sort of Minesweeper in 3D with Descent-like controls.

The objective it to find the exit, and collect as many Blue cores as possible while avoiding Red cores.

The weapon allows the player to dematerialize blocks (left click) or analyze blocks (right click).
Analyzing blocks can give hints on where bonuses and traps can be found (in a 2-block radius), but when analyzed a block cannot be dematerialized anymore.

-----

Unfortunately the game has only a half-finished tutorial and no other levels since I had to deal with GUI issues making the built versions of the game crash...
I lost the last 6 hours on fixing a bug, then those GUI crashes. In the end it still crashes so I removed the GUI entirely. I hope I'll find a way to put it back in a post-jam build.

Apart from that the gameplay works (though the GUI displaying the score is missing), and you can still find the exit of the 1st level though there's no level 2.
I'll probably make some levels in a post-jam version, at least to test the mechanics further.

--------

Edit : GUI corrected, but only in the post-jam version (that's the only change between the two versions for now)

--------

Music : Büromaschinen - "Run" (http://freemusicarchive.org/tag/bromaschinen)
Everything else is from me (Sound effects made with bfxr, art with photoshop)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#511Audio(Jam)2.77
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#669Fun(Jam)2.82
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#770Theme(Jam)2.97
#897Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

I really tryied but I could not understand the controls. But I really liked the concept, could very nice if the controls were easier.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51am

Controls are buggy

Q and A seems to be switched. W doesn't seem to work at all.

Looks like a cool game, I'd love to play it and leave a rating once you've fixed this to make it playable.

Chronodrax says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

Sorry, with all the last hours bugs, I forgot to put the controls back to QWERTY (I'm french so my keyboard is AZERTY). It should be fixed now.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17am

Awesome, I found a glitch where your ray gets stuck to the orb and the controls die. But understanding that almost every one of these games will have some hiccups I really liked it!

Chronodrax says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18am

@GenericTeamName : When you trigger the red block, if you touch the resulting explosion, you die :) (but due to my GUI issue it's harder to understand). I've added an automatic respawn 3s after death for the jam version until I can solve the GUI issue for a post-jam version.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Very nice idea, has some potential for sure.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59pm

i liked the floating gameplay, the game ends quickly but it was nice to experiment

pk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I like the concept and looks. Too bad there's no real levels or puzzles.

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Nice concept, the art is great, too bad there's only the tutorial !

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34am

Very cool, controls are strange though.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31pm

The controls feel good for me. I like the concept, you should really continue working on the game! :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Pretty good concept! Got potential! I love the control, it was good and fitting for the game!

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39pm

The floating in mid-air feeling made me dizzy really fast, and I think it's less intuitive than being on the ground and running+jumping. If you want to allow the cube to be walked in on all sides, perhaps you could achieve that by jumping to the wall and then the camera auto-rotating to show you're now on another plane? Just a suggestion.
I do think with the current controls and camera, there will be more than a few players that get dizzy/sick (look up simulation sickness if you haven't experience it :)).
Other than that I'm very curious to see this concept continued, and the game has a really nice aesthetic.
Minesweeper in 3D sounds like you might be on to something!

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47pm

To clarify, when I play certain first-person-camera games, like Portal for example, it takes about an hour for me to feel nausea/dizziness, and with your game it unfortunately happened much faster.
I think it's impossible to completely avoid simulation sickness when making this kind of game, some people suffer really badly from it and just can't play certain games, but there are design/camera techniques that can really help make it better for most players.
Good luck! :)

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:39am

I like the graphics of the game as well as the weapon! But I like the players movement most.

Simon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:54am

This is really cool dude. Nice idea I wish there was more things I could do! I think the most interesting feature is the chain reaction from the red cores I wanted more of these ones to open passages and stuff :)

Chronodrax says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for the feedbacks!
@natalye: yeah I tend to forget that some people even have motion sickness since none of my friends experienced that, either in racing games or space battle simulations. I'll look that up.
@Simon: the initial idea was to have enemies coming out of some cubes that you could destroy only with red cores' explosions :) (way too ambitious for a 48h LD...). Maybe with non-destroyable cubes and those explosions something interesting could have been done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:17am

I didn't understand that it is in fact a sort of minesweeper in 3D. The idea is good, but the gameplay seems to me too annoying. I prefer a 2d game minesweeper. But who dares wins. It's a good attempt for this LD32. Thank you ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]