Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Combine Carnage

by acro - Jam Entry

The evil, landgrabbing Farmer Derek has built all over Farmer Keith's unused land! Bogged down for years with legal wrangling, now Keith's finally snapped: he's on the warpath, with a most unconventional weapon - his trusty combine harvester!

Physics mayhem and carnage abound - try to clear as much illegal property as possible before the time expires.

-----------------
Following LD32's keynote, this entry was a brand new team, using Unity for the first time ever.

Team Members:

Robin Knox - lead programmer and mechanics design
Adam Crossan - modelling and coding support, textures
Andrew Knox - main modeller, music & sound production, and vocal talents.
and special thanks to Rowena Aitken for the title art.


-----------------

Mac OS:
Tested and runs well. If you encounter a security warning when running the .app bundle, select Apple Logo > System Preferences > Security and Privacy and press the 'Open Anyway' button.

Linux:
Compiled version is for both x86 and x64. Extract the 7z's contents, ensure you have set execute permissions on the relevant .x86 or .x86_64 files and data folder/files, then from terminal run ./Combine_Carnage.x86_64

-----------------


All feedback eagerly welcomed! Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Humor(Jam)3.95
#68Audio(Jam)3.90
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#274Mood(Jam)3.41
#335Fun(Jam)3.29
#352Theme(Jam)3.59
#440Overall(Jam)3.32
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Hahaha, great idea! Fantastic fit for the theme.

It was very laggy for me, so I can't rate the gameplay with much assurance, but the graphics looked nice -- as long as you avoided the wheat :)

The occasional voice over was amusing, but took me out of the game more than it immersed me.

Great work!

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Your avatar image is basically the face I was making while playing this :D

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Impressive graphics! Also I like the way you can harvest everything, and the voice. But I got two bugs :
- while going into level 2, the camera was stuck in the ground and the harvester didn't want to move any more.
- And I got also this in level 2 the second time I played:
"Out of memory. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating more memory to your WebGL build in the WebGL player settings"

richiebranson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:09am

I enjoyed this. ran into some interesting physics issues with the harvester, but other than that, solid entry. That title screen...perfect!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:53am

Good one! Better download than web, though.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:54am

Great entry! Really fun to play! I found it so funny when the tractor hit the cow, and there was no blood or anything, the cow just went flying, and then the voice said: "Well that wasn't very realistic was it?" Great game, maybe add some enemies or something to try to avoid hitting, (just to add some different gameplay). But this is good too. Anyway nice game!

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:09am

Quite fun sometimes, but the gameplay needs some work.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I feel like I'm back in Wiltshire. I enjoyed that, but my laptop did rather struggle to maintain anything like a decent frame rate. Funny, and very amusing, and playable despite the lag (probably my laptop, not the game).

"I've got a brand new combine harvester..."

ZYXer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:24am

This game is hilarous, good looking and fun to play! Best game I've seen so far! Well done!

Demy says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:20am

I love the intro image. The game is fun and I liked the sounds. It crushes every second level, but I think, it's just a regular bug at Ludum Dare =)

Tselmek says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:24am

The controls are very hard and the lag didn't make it any easier. The sounds and graphics are nice, a bit more explanations on how the levels work, what the goal is and what we can encounter would be nice.

May 6, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Excellent game! The music is great, and the graphics are very competent. The character art really stands out. The mechanics are great, though the controls are a bit slow due to the lag. Nice job, 5 stars! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]