Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nanobot

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

Unfortunately this Ludum Dare has been some what of a failure for us. We had a few major setbacks in design and loss of work that resulted in us loosing a lot of time and motivation. But we decided to cobble together what we could and submit something!

The original concept was to play as a nano bot entering a host via needle/blow dart with the objective of taking them over. We were thinking of implementing this in an objective based way, where you had to fight your way to different parts of the body in order to make the host do something.

The core mechanics were to be indirect control of the body's dead cells to make them destroy opposing live cells using the commands 'wait', 'follow' and 'attack'.

Controls:
W/S/A/D - move
1 - wait (AoE)
2 - follow (AoE)
3 - cancel (AoE)

(Note: some people have experienced a significant pause after loading before the scene appears)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Graphics(Jam)3.88
#489Innovation(Jam)3.13
#665Mood(Jam)2.86
#712Theme(Jam)3.08
#860Overall(Jam)2.79
#869Humor(Jam)2.05
#1020Fun(Jam)2.13
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

Ludomade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Beautiful pixel graphics, and the parallax effect is awesome. Finish the gameplay and this will be great!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00pm

really cool

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:14pm

In the description you say there is an attack command, what is it? It looks good just can't do anything more than recruit things to follow you.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Sadly we never put in the attack command, it was only part of the original design. Attack would have been '3'.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18pm

It's too bad that you couldn't complete your game, because i see very nice graphics and an interesting concept here. But every experience is good to learn

6x13 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Great concept and it looks cool! I've some suggestions for you. There are some distinct characteristics of microscopic photography:

- The objects have high amount of subsurface scattering which makes them look like dark in the center and glowing closer to the edges.
- The foreground of the scene is kind of ambient lit though it smoothly gets dark further from the camera.
- The DOF is usually extremely narrow so you will get high blurriness further from focus distance.
- Even the specular highlights are really soft and blurry in most images and are indistinguishable from diffuse. (This will make them look less like jellies and more like blood cells.)

I don't know how these characteristics match your art-style but IMHO even partial use of them will make them look even cooler. Good luck and keep up the good work!

someone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05am

The concept sounds interesting and I like the artwork.
Shame you didn't finish it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Please do something with this!

gene-z says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Good artwork ,, nice concept

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Great start, love the art style.

geekdrums says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:39am

looks cool ! and cute character.

gelisam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Excellent game concept. Nice artwork. The player is easy to control. Worth finishing.

(rating and comment by my teammate François Mayrand)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]