Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Get the Game!

by xirion11 - Jam Entry

While you are watching TV you watch a commercial of the release of the most anticipated game of all time : "Ultra Awesome Game", you have to get it before it sells out, but there is a problem, you are taking care of your granny! How are you going to get the game without leaving your granny alone?... Unless...

Controls:

Aim with your mouse to throw yarn balls to the other kids and make them trip so they can't take your precious game copies.

This is our entry for the #ldjam 32.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#78Humor(Jam)3.83
#85Graphics(Jam)4.27
#109Theme(Jam)3.96
#358Mood(Jam)3.29
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#538Audio(Jam)2.67
#631Fun(Jam)2.88
#762Innovation(Jam)2.66

Comments

Zo0MER says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

I really loved the graphics. And story very funny.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Funny game, graphics are very nice too.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The art direction and production quality blew my socks off! Hats and socks off to you!

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Great graphics!

rosy_tucker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

This game is hilarious and has fantastic graphics. Well done! :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Can't beat that comic style graphics. Gameplay was a little lacking. Hard to hit anything. And I won without even trying...

Arowx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Great little game. Found it very hard to aim, the speed of the wool was slower than the amazingly fast speed of the runners.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Awesome artwork, great job!

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The Graphics are amaizing, but the gameplay not so much. It was too hard to aim, and despite not really hitting many I still won

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Seconding much of the reviews here already: really fun artwork, but the actual game is pretty lacking. Congrats on your entry nonetheless!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Realy nice

flyingbear says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Yay I got the game! Very impressed by your artwork! I love that knitting the runners a sweater = incapacitating them, hahaha

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

Nice artwork,,, good game,

dlowe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

Thanks for the game!

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:56am

Was pretty funny. Nice job on the art. :)

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30am

Funny story, Granny is too strong, making stuff on the fly.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Hahahaha nice premise! The graphics are neat and the story is well explained with the comic art. It took a long time for me to download it, but it was worth the wait. The first time I lost but the second I got the remaining unit. Yay!

On the other hand, the gameplay should be adjusted if you want to make a larger game out of it. And the audio is very annoying.

Good work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great art, and a novel concept.

The fast-moving kids were really frustrating. Since yarn is so slow-moving, predicting their movement seemed unnecessarily challenging.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

The idea is hilarious and the art is nice. However it's really hard and the game is very simple.
Good job!

pema99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

The art was great, the comic in the intro was a giant plus!

christophowa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

The art is the best part here, and you stuck with the theme which was good.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35am

Nice game. Gameplay rather random, but story very funny

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:03am

Cool game. I wished there was more gameplay, but the art was fantastic, and the story was very funny :)

joe40001 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:02am

Really great art, gameplay needs tweaks, everybody was running off the bottom of the screen.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:17am

Cute concept and graphics! The granny is adorable :D

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:44am

Good job guys! On my third try I was saying "Come on granny, we gotta get trhat freakin game!" Won with only one copy left. The story is really funny and the weapon's unconventionality is one of the best I have seen.

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:54am

It was a bit frustrating getting the yarn throws right, but otherwise this was great! Excellent use of the theme and the presentation is stellar, though audio could use a little work too.

Hilarious take on the infinite runner genre. Thumbs up!

muromets says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Very nice idea! Still the gameplay could use some polish, had a lot of fun though. Saludos desde Saltillo, Coah!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]