Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

bloodshot

by rogueNoodle - Jam Entry

Downloads now available. Thanks to everyone for the great feedback so far - I will be reviewing and rating your entries soon!

----------------------------------------------------------------

There's something about your blood - the reaction they have to it... it just might be enough to hold them off. This is a rescue mission first, but if you happen to take down one or 100 of these alien freaks in the meantime? Even better...


----------------------------------------------------------------


WASD to move (can be customized on the main menu)

Mouse to aim and shoot. Your blood is your ammo though, so guns blazing might not be the best tactic.

Follow the guiding arrow at your feet to find the next injured civilian and reach them before they die. Stand next to them to donate the blood they need to survive, but make sure you leave enough for yourself.

Red cell count a little low? You can always get more from the chunks of dead alien. If you're into that sort of thing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#24Overall(Jam)4.09
#34Fun(Jam)3.95
#74Audio(Jam)3.87
#90Graphics(Jam)4.26
#114Mood(Jam)3.73
#188Innovation(Jam)3.63
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#739Humor(Jam)2.41

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58am

Another awesome game that makes me try to get the highest score possible :P

I like how your blood is the source for everything, you gotta think about the way you shoot but also if you want to donate some in order to save a dying person, perhaps the best choice would be to let him/her die an recover some health before trying to save the next.

Art-wise, the game is simple yet elegant. Indicating everything through colors(your life, enemy life, etc) works perfectly well.

Nothing much to say, well done sir! ^^

StrayByte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07am

Great game! Runs smoothly and it's quite fun and engaging.
I'll point out what is good and what is bad in my opinion:
Good:
- two types of enemies, well different one from the other.
- Clear interface, points towards objective straight and clear.
- The mechanic is clever, i like having to micromanage.

Bad:
-It's still a gun. It uses blood ammo, but i feel like it's just another rifle.
-It's not clear if killing aliens has any impact. You might have wanted to put win conditions clear on the screen, if there's any.
- Really aseptic. It has no kind of personification, no immersion at all.

Overall i really liked your game although i don't feel it is really on spot with the theme of the contest.
Overall I rated it 3/5 because of the entertainment value and the smoothness.

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

This is a great one. Tons of fun and challenging but not overly complex.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30am

Fun! Challenging but not frustrating, you just gotta stay calm and line up the shots to conserve blood! Good use of the theme :)

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48am

This was really cool. I liked the sounds, graphics, game-play, menus and just all the things and I thought the challenge was increasing at a great rate. Great job with your game and great work with that idea!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

Absolutely awesome. Mechanics and control are great, visuals are super stylish, music and sound works really well. I'm really really impressed. Man! Good job.

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52am

This was a great little game. It took me a while to get that the blood drained with every shot. A very intersting game mechanic! Nicely done!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16am

The aiming is a little weird but other than that it is pretty fun. The graphics are simple but don't detract from it at all. The audio is really good.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Awesome! Love how the health, damage, and ammo are presented. Very intuitive and fun to play!

paruthidotexe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

Enjoyed playing the game and it is immersive with cool music. I have difficulty in point and shooting at the 3 stone pillars popping..

retrophantom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21am

nice and clean graphics

igoramendola says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18am

Your entry is so good that makes me feel bad about mine hahaha xD
It's an awesome game! The concept is pretty cool and I think it fits very nice with the theme. I already played many times and have improved my high score to 11, but I know that I can do more! h0h0. Marvelous work, Chris :D

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02am

Loved the concept, very interesting use of theme :)

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08am

I love that the minimal colors tie in with the mechanics and make the whole piece work together. It's a lovely design. I think you should release a downloadable version too.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Pretty nice, the blood as ammo is a cool idea that i never seen so good job!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Amazing work!

I really enjoyed how it's very conventional, while there's a twist there that's not instinctive, but makes sense once you play for a while. It enables learning and understanding, and that's great.

At first I thought you were an alien there to suck blood..... Well you looked exactly like a Grey. So that looks anti-human and aggressive.

The way the colour and concept tied together in everything is brilliant! having the blood drained out of you provided a very strong visualisation of the concept, and picking up the chunks to fill you back up, everything, was great. Same with the civilians.

The graphics are just phenomenal. The balance is pretty amazing, that there's even sound is just stupid good.

Please please tell me there's a way for me to learn that aberration effect? :D

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Amazing as always...I don't know what else I can say xD

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Health as ammo. Neat concept. I found it hard to aim, but I'm kinda bad at this kinda game anyway.

bazld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Awesome concept, and plays well.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice idea! Movement feels pretty good.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Guns blazing is DEFINITELY not the right way to go!

Loved this. Everything about it is cool. That simple mechanic of shooting hurts you too really forces you to play more tactically.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

I had a lot of fun playing this game! The music is really nice, and the different game mechanics and enemies fit perfectly together, it was intense but I beat your score! :p

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Very cool, I ended up with a similar idea for my own entry, Though yours is presented way better than mine :) well done

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Wee! Way to go!

local minimum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Fantastic again. First I was a bit surprised. I was running around for quite a while and feeling like it was not that hard of a game. Felt like I had missed something. The civilians. The do need a lot of that blood. Never got past saving two of them. But I'm pretty sure they don't deserve saving since they are so sloppy at maintaining their own blood.

Here's an odd suggestion, odd in that it would make it harder. If the towers were slowly rotating. Now they are kind of safe. It would have been fun to know how many civilians one failed to save too.

Graphics as usual. Stunning. Very smooth gameplay, though I agree with the other comments on that aiming was a bit hard.

0x0961h says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Amazing. A-ma-zing. This is amazing. I mean, this is so amazing, it amazingly amazes me in most amazing ways. Great job!

YM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Love everything about this. The trade off between reviving guys quickly and losing lots of blood, or piece by piece staying topped up on enemy chunks. The nice glitchy effects when enemies pop in. The clean low poly blocks that are almost unity's default cubes, but so much better.

Rocks.

Zielak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

BRILLIANT idea. Couple of simple rules mixed together very well. Every time you save each civilian you have to think forward if you're gonna make it. Very challenging and I love it.

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Very cool idea and well executed! I found it difficult to aim at first, but eventually started to get a feel for it. I could sink a lot of time into this game! I really enjoyed the visual style you chose, and the minimal color use did a lot to reinforce the concept.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

This game is really good! I don't know what to say, you deserve some reward :) It would be awesome if it was multiplayer and fallen players could be saved :)

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

simple yet very clever concept. and it's amazingly implemented too! loved this one :)

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

Cool game, dude! The mechanic is simple and easy to understand but a lot of fun. Love the style and the glitch fx. Only thing that bugged me was how the aiming line didn't follow my mouse 1:1. I understood how it was working, but I think it might have been easier to have the plane the mouse was casting against at the same height as the aim line. Nice work though, solid entry :)

ploogle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44am

Took me a couple tries to figure out why I kept dying, because I forgot to read the instructions. :) Very clever, perfect difficulty! This is a really good one. You did good!

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Very well executed. Bravo :)

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I'm pretty speechless! The game's got a beautiful and distinctive look to it, and there are little touches, like the player acting as their own blood meter, that really add a lot. Completely sure that this could be developed into a great standalone game outside the jam!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Impressive graphics and animations. Very well done.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:08am

Nice mood and audio, smooth controls. It does get a bit boring after a while though, and I wish there were different encounters, but you just end up facing the same things you did when you started.
Great game all and all, enjoyed playing it.

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Solid entry! Liked the concept. Was a little tough getting the aiming as it was a little off from the mouse depending on the angle you're facing.

Really well done! Good Job!

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:25am

Awesome game! There is some really cool mechanics at play here that can lead to fun, interesting, and sometimes tense situations. I love how anything you do costs blood have to keep that it mind at all times. The game controlled very well too. I also really enjoyed the art style, which is simple yet stylish and very effective and telling you everything you need to know. Very nice work!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:47pm

One of my favorite games this Ludum Dare :D The possibility to rotate the camera angle is a nice touch !

Garris says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Excellent entry! This game was polished, engaging, and original. The idea of blood as a weapon, and "your health is your ammo" turns a twin-stick shooter in a precision experience, and I had a blast playing.

jplur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:50pm

fun and very polished!

monika says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Fun, and fantastically difficult to balance at first. I had to find a mouse since it was hard to aim with my touchpad, and then realized I was doing better the less I shot at things, which was an interesting way to really figure out the mechanics.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Beatiful game

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fantastic game! Great models and animation, and that's a lovely looking shader you got there. I think the blood as ammo resource mechanic is really interesting, and I'd like to see more of that kind of stuff in games. Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:20am

really like the game - cool that u use the destroyed enemies to fill your energy - great job

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:17pm

This bloody addictive :/ Well done. I guess the only penalty for leaving civilians low on blood to die, and save only those you can get to quickly in order to give them as few blood as possible is that you lose time and difficulty increases with time?

Junber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cool game with nice visual style. Very fun but I think its better to not shoot at all. At least thats how I got to 71, which currently makes me the 1st place in the gamejolt leaderboard :D

lochmann-apps says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:14am

Nice entry, really enjoyed it! Good controls, nice graphics. Well done!

ChronoDK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:19am

This game could be used in a blood donation campaign! Great game too, and clever mechanics.

cmayhem says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:03am

Love the art style. Very good gameplay, well done!

jushii says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Yay, great game! One of my favorites. I liked the music and the mood! :)

May 5, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Like the concept! The game is well put together. Good job!

justthestudio says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:20pm

It was really fun, thanks!

Skiddings says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:44pm

This was amazing! I love the style, it looks great and music was great and it was fun to play too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]