Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Kick it Hard!

by f7f5 - Compo Entry


Your unconventional weapon is your football. You can use it to attack your
annoying neighbours, and even (not so) innocent birds. Beware - they fight
back with their own unconventional things. If you're hit, you'll be stunned
for a brief moment.

Use the left and right arrow keys (or A and D keys) to move around, and kick
the ball with the left mouse button. Use the mouse pointer to aim your shots.

Graphics were mostly hand-drawn on Infinte Design - as you can see, my drawing
skills and at the level of a 5-year-old (with lousy drawing skills). At least
I tried.

Music was done with Fake Music Generator (amazing piece of software), and sounds
were either recorded with my phone or generated in jfxr.

Enjoy! Or at least give it a try longer than 15 seconds :-P

Software used to build this game:
Chrome, Firefox (and Safari, IE)
ImpactJS
Kate
Audacity
jfxr - http://jfxr.frozenfractal.com/#
Fake Music Generator - http://www.fakemusicgenerator.com/
miidio Recorder
ffmpeg
Infinte Design
Pinta
Inkscape
Gimp
OPO phone
jQuery
Google App Engine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#59Fun3.87
#278Theme3.68
#279Humor3.26
#286Mood3.26
#333Overall3.41
#440Innovation3.26
#493Audio2.81
#857Graphics2.52

Comments

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

hehe. kicking football to the face!.. spot on. :D with some UI work it would have made a big difference to this game. :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:08pm

That was really fun to play! I like the bounce physics on the ball. The sound effect really made it feel like a real soccer ball. Well done!

rplnt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Great little fun game. I can imagine it being on one of those old handheld devices (like Nu Pogodi was) with fixed angles. The difficulty progress was great. Sometimes I missed that I can't jump though.

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Can I kick it? Yes I can! This was a lot of fun. Love the old school feel and the music sits well with the action. The kicking mechanic is simple but really satisfying and once I worked out how to head the ball I became pretty skilled at it. Nice work!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:38pm

It was a very basic game, but I legitimately had fun. :D
I thought the falling blue things were some kind of powerup, so I found out the hard way it was a bad thing. :p

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Really fun! Nice work!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Ooh, footballs to the face hurt :( Great idea and interpretation, think the audio and graphics could have used a bit more but that just comes down to time. Good effort, the mechanic works! :)

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Excelent physics.Nice concept.It was funny too.I like how you taken the idea to another level.Good job

MrMordem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Minimalist but fun to play :) Reminds me the Game and Watch games. Good concept and nice realization.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Really fun! Love the music too especially when I died and listened to the piano section for a bit. Good stuff. Loved when the birds started coming down and getting combos. Nice work!!!

Funske says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Really fun game! The use of the graphics was really good. Your theme was good and music was great too!

Almax27 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Hahaha! Hitting stuff with the football was surprisingly satisfying and a little addictive.

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very fun game! I honestly did not expect it to control well, but it really did. The soccer ball went where I wanted to, but with enough of an arc that you had to think around it.

The baddies were annoying, once the birds and policemen started appearing. If you keep working on this, I DEMAND that you add a jump button. Just enough to get out of being cornered by a policeman when you don't have the soccer ball.

Also, being stunned while hit was really frustrating. The main difference between your game and others is that you can get hit when you're stunned! Mercy invincibility would've gone a long way in the anti-frustration factor.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Ha, fun game. Smooth controls. Cool!!!

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:52pm

So funny to use the ball as a weapon, heh!
My only concern is to remain stunned when I'm ambushed by a lot of enemies. There should be some invincibility time so I can get the heck out of the way.

filipe.silva says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:58pm

a lot of fun even. the theme was fun and the fact that the birds are enemies also left even more fun. Congratulations

uberscientist says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Funny game

NuvlearGames says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Was quite fun kicking birds and people.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Basic, but fun gameplay!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Really fun! I could see this working really well with a visual style similar to old LCD games (like these: http://pica-pic.com/#/octopus/)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]