Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

drone-a-pult

by ChrisGaudino - Compo Entry

Pilot your drone-a-pult and fire projectiles to knock down the walls!

Tip: If you're having trouble making some of the longer shots, trying taking a run up at the line before shooting to get some extra oomph.

EDIT: I've uploaded a post-jam version as well with a new slow motion effect to make it a bit easier to line up shots.

Controls:

WSADQE to move. Double tap in any direction to perform a flip.
Shift to climb.
Conrol to descend.
Touch a projectile to pick it up.
Perform a flip, then left click or space bar to release the projectile.
Right click and drag to rotate camera.
M toggles mute
T toggles fullscreen
You cannot cross the red line.
Knock the wall down below the line shown to win!

by Chris Gaudino
@GaudinoGames
www.gaudinogames.com

Note to Chrome users: Sorry, I tried the webgl export, but it just wasn't satisfactory at this point. If you'd rather not use the workaround to re-enable NPAPI, I did include standalone builds for Windows, Mac, and Linux (they run better than the webplayer anyway).

Known bugs:
If you hit the ground too hard (like during a flip), the 'springiness" of the catapult arm can launch you pretty far, including over the red line.
The blue 'win' line is sometimes black (so far only seen on Windows).
There seems to be some input lag in the webplayer version. It is much easier to time your shots in the downloaded version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#34Innovation4.13
#104Overall3.79
#165Graphics3.79
#195Fun3.55
#325Theme3.62
#338Audio3.10
#484Mood3.00
#766Humor2.31

Comments

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53am

Nice! Very well put together overall. Had a very tough time releasing at the right time on the flip though, it happens very fast. The drone kept bouncing off the ground and floating off into space, as well.

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

Very polished game. Great work.

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

At first glance, wow wow wow! I love that intro transition with the falling blocks. And the rotating menu screens-- clever and beautiful. And the transitional fades... I love it. As for the actual game, I couldn't really get the hang of it. The flip happens so fast that I could never release the blocks at the right time. Also, how do you move up and down?

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

Rutihipee, thanks for pointing out that I omitted the climb/descend buttons from the game page. They are listed in the control page in game. Shift to climb, control to descend.

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37am

Loved the menu design. Nice and clean. and nice transitions. Had alot of difficultly trying to move the drone where I wanted to go though.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49am

Great job! The game definitely seemed polished/finished as if you weren't scrambling at the last minute to get everything done.

Only concern was that you couldn't exit the game...? Didn't rate down for that of course tho.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55am

I spent way too much time on this. It's very well put together, but I ended up giving up on the fourth level as I was just having too much trouble releasing at the right time to get anywhere close to the wall.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

I really like the overall concept. My biggest trouble was getting the hang of the controls. To me they felt kinda weird, and having the camera rotation be completely independent from the player's orientation made it difficult to navigate, even paying attention to the colored markers on the drone. It was fun zipping around and picking up stuff, though. I feel like a step-by-step tutorial could really help in getting the overall idea of the game across. This was fun and I'd love to see more of this, great job!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20am

Nicely done ! I could almost see this becoming a real life thing. I would totally participate in Drone Olympics.

With some simple but nicer graphics, I guess you could turn this into a real game/toy :)

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

I hope this later becomes a thing in real life. I would totally watch this.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

picking can be troublesome and controls are many but nicely put game where you can spend lots of time !

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

It's awesome! Really enjoyed playing it. My main gripe is that the controls aren't very responsive, which makes it frustratingly difficult to aim.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Really hard to get the hang of, but so satisfying when you pull of a successful throw.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Nice and polished. I am terrible at it but its good

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

Great game, one of the best I've played so far. Nice work :)

amras0000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21am

thanks to how quickly the flip happens, any aiming was reduced to hoping that my timing was alright. Otherwise, a well-polished game.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45am

Simple beautiful graphics, nicely polished, nice sounds. This was fun, it was very satisfying when the walls came down! Totally worth putting some time in to get the hang of the controls. The only issue I had was the drone floating upwards after throws (probably just a preference but I'd rather it stabilized itself instead of keeping its velocity). Fantastic job!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

The game is really hard due to how the mechanics work but it's very fun to play and definitely well polished.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:11am

Really cool idea you've got here, games prtty difficult too ut fun nonetheless!

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:16am

Felt like a really quadcopter. The super fast flip was pretty brutal to line up any good trajectory, but it looks like you guys fixed it in post. I love your menu, it appeals to the graphic designer side of me very well

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:46am

Really neat graphics! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aLTEhRhwd8A

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:12am

Very nice, loved the graphics and interface. The drone feels natural, though the physics used made it a bit hard to control first. Congratulations!

2Bit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Cool idea and fun to play but probably too hard to get the right flip.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:50am

Good Original idea. Very polished. Nice to find that kind of weird game in LD!

rudra says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Very nice and polished game :) Great graphics, Good work :)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

The controls are complicated, cumbersome, and difficult. Something so easy as throwing objects is made infinitely harder by adding timing and unresponsive controls into the mix. The wall blocks are ridiculously heavy, and with the the lack of juice, the whole game appears mundane, stupid, and unimportant.

And yet...and yet....

Why am I having so much fun!?!?!

coderitual says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Wow! Good work here. Really like simple 3d UI style. Good mechanics behind the gameplay makes me want to play it more. My appreciation.

broknecho says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:03am

Super neat idea here. Had big problems visually figuring out when to release the blocks but you only have little time to tighten that up.

Cool idea for a physics puzzler here. Well done!

May 5, 2015 @ 7:30am

Wow. I'm torn between giving it 1 star and giving it 5. its super tedious picking up ammo and really hard to be accurate, but i just played it for 3 hours straight, so that has to count for something. its a really cool idea nonetheless. i was able to beat every level in the fast version except the games and level 6. i would really like to see this developed further. it would be really cool as a multiplayer 4v4 where you have to knock down the opponents fort. overall weird but somehow still awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]