Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Cupid

by panurge - Compo Entry

Take the role of Cupid and use your arrows of love to found a thriving spa town and win the favour of the gods. Being a god is surprisingly complicated - please read the instructions before starting!

TIP #1: MAKE SURE YOU HIT AT LEAST TWO PEOPLE WITH EACH ARROW!!!

TIP #2: GETTING A 'MENAGE A TROIS' OR AN 'ORGY' WILL ADD VALUABLE SECONDS TO YOUR TIMER!!!

TIP #3: PRESS 'F' TO FULLSCREEN!!!

(This game and all its assets were made using Construct 2, Audacity, Drumbot, Photoshop and SpriteSomething.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#62Humor3.88
#224Fun3.51
#242Mood3.33
#265Innovation3.53
#338Audio3.10
#389Theme3.53
#411Overall3.32
#672Graphics2.86

Comments

vogon101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Brilliant

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Wonderful idea. I like that very much.
Unfortunately, I found it very difficult. Shooting was OK, but the people got crazy super fast. Almost no time to shoot the second person.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Make love, not war :D

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Fun game! Ended up with 72 people, the sexiest spot in the whole empire. Needless to say, I had a good laugh.

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Hilarious! Well thought out game - very enjoyable! "menage a trois" - LOL.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

Great job! At end game was a bit hard not to hit less than 4 people xp Got killed by a soldier but got 140 people and was the no.1 spot for gods and heroes XD

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

This made me chuckle :D

Interesting take on the theme, I like that the AI goes crazy if they can't find true love (the definition of which, seems to be gathering as many people as possible into a house for a massive orgy XD)

Good work! Where can I find this town?

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Well played, fellow Islander :) I belly-laughed at MENAGE A TROIS, but didn't quite manage an orgy :D

P.S. If you're on twitter, hit me up @garethiw

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

So the love is the deadliest weapon...
This mechanic is quite fun, I like the sound effects and the graphics.
Gosh I hate volcanoes.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:25pm

OOOWWRGY! I love the mechanics, they're really fun! And when the voice says "orgy" I was feeling like a badass. Nice choice for the music too! :D We both chose cupid as main character, but came out with something completely different! Thumbs up!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:33am

Nice! :)

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

The instructions of what was going on what, and what the objective was is very unclear. It SEEMS like a good idea, but I had no idea what was happening.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:27pm

This is one of the best games I have played at this game jam. Really good job for the design of gameplay. I also had idea of making "arrow of love" but I didn't have time to implement, so I made a silly singing -skill instead. :D

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Great game!

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:35am

I liked this, and played it way longer that I thought I would. Interesting game mechanic, and I loved the voices.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Hilarious, got to a population of 127 and became the number 1 resort for party inclined gods and heroes. Quite proud of my effort. The audio was also brilliant and really made you want to get some combos to hear it. Great entry, one of my favourites so far.

benjamck says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Full marks for humor on this one! Gave me a good laugh and it was fun to play. Well done.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Really funny, innovative and fun to play. My only complaint is the difficulty to score points (the gods favor keep falling to zero). I wish that was a little less punitive (or is it something I didn't get?)
Anyway, it's one of my favorite so far. A lot of little details makes it really cool

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Uh, nice! Very cool moment when the population is exploding. Also funny sound.

BIZM says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Really funny game. We love the music and the sounds are really funny. Even more fun when the population expanded and the game became more challenging. Good job!

psychonull says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:10am

Great. I love it!

May 6, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Fun game, I played it about 4 or 5 times. I did notice, if a spa spawned right next to cupid, the arrows would always cause targets to turn evil.

f7f5 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Ahahaha, great idea. Loved the audio as well.

steboots says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I loved the innovation, very clever game.

napoleon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:46pm

fungame.exe

Ossi says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:21am

This is great! Amazing use of the theme and really hilarious! Having different gods with different conditions really made it interesting. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]