Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

(mental)fairy

by 0x0961h - Compo Entry

We've all been here: Hatred, Anxiety, Solitude... These are our demons, that eat us alive. But not anymore. Secret unit of fairies called "(mental)fairies" are here to help us fight these dark emotions with the most unconventional weapons of all time: kindness, happiness and good intentions.

Controls are QWERTY/AZERTY/DVORAK friendly:
- Left Arrow/A/Q to move left
- Right Arrow/D/E to move right
- Space to shoot

Few notes:
- HTML5 version was tested on Chrome and it's highly recommended to use it to play web-version
- The winning condition: collect 9.000.000 points and don't run out of Emotion Cubes (on the left sidebar under the fairy avatar)
- Each unkilled Personal Demon (on the left sidebar at the bottom) will destroy one Emotion Cube
- Stand in the center after you got the spreading weapon upgrade -- it's the easiest way to win
- Have fun
- I mean, really, it's not a hardcore game
- Fly/stand and shoot
- That's it
- No strings attached
- Pew pew pew

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#280Graphics3.55
#326Audio3.12
#533Mood2.95
#658Overall3.06
#770Fun2.80
#988Innovation2.39
#1017Theme2.50

Comments

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

Good job! Nice to see someone else use LibGDX as well, that's what you used right? The gameplay is fun, graphics are decent. Love the music. Well executed, keep it up!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24am

I love the art and I love the mentality.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:25am

I'm using Firefox, and I had trouble playing this entry - it seemed to slow down and crash when it started? I hope this helps

FireSlash says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28am

After a certain point you can win by just sitting in the middle and holding down space. The weapon spreads cover all but the outermost rows, and enemies never spawned in a way that didn't swing them into the line of fire long enough to let them die.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32am

Nice game. I think the theme could be a bit more present, after all you shoot fireballs with another name, but this is just nitpicking :) I do have one complaint though: The game gets easier the further you get. After about 2m points, just stay in the middle and hold Space to win (with the exception of the two lane attack at the end). Firing at so many lanes at the same time while the enemies switch lanes often makes it very easy to hit them.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32am

Fun game. I liked discovering where I could just stand in the middle and hold down the fire button to kill the guys on both sides.

0x0961h says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

@Evgiz, eeyup, it's libGDX. :)
@Jonathan Porta, hey thank you. Mental problems is, welp, one of the main problems I faced during making this. You know, all this "I'll drop it right now, it's a disaster, it'll be a failure" stuff...
@kabutakogames, haven't tested it on Firefox, only Chrome and PC. Thanks for testing, will add the note.
@FireSlash, yeah, I know. The main thought was "I won't make it hardcore and long, I'll make it short and fun instead!". Yay, rainbows and stuff. :D

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48am

The pack of mobs reminded me of Enfo's WC3 custom maps. Anyway, nice low-poly art and it is fun. One room for improvement I see is less tunnel-vision weapon upgrades. Half of my gameplay I was standing in the middle holding Space.

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27am

Hi there! You made it through the ordeal too. Great to see. I agree with you that the game got a bit easy after a while. But just the face that I could just keep space pressed and not have to hammer on it did help a lot. One tweak would be to have the mental frailty cubes be much weaker so only one or two enemies gone by would destroy them. Some weapons upgrades could be replaced by downgrade/fatigue. Possibly tied to loosing a cube. Like down 3 steps in weapons coolness. Along the lies of crazy ideas. What if the enemies came from all directions and you had to use up and down keys to rotate the board? Shots should probably be using global space in that case.

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00am

It's cool, fancy graphics. Just too easy, but still a nice job!

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37am

Starts off very cool ...

Great graphics. Nice, innovative layout. A bit silly, though, the actual gameplay ... The sound of the gun, and the in-game audio, doesn't tie up with the cool, heavy song at the start ... A lot of great elements that don't tie together well ...

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40am

Pew pew pew pew pew peww yessssssssssss I love shooting things. Good show. In the end I had enough spread where I could just hold down the button and stay in the middle of the map, but it was still very fun.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47am

Great game, if somewhat boring after a while.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

---> Stand in the center after you got the spreading weapon upgrade -- it's the easiest way to win

Yes, it was ;)

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54am

Good game if it didn't hang my browser.
Well done.

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56am

Too easy :(

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04am

Good game but easy to win.

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

Got art and sounds down, it all looks great.

The idea of personal demons was cool, though I couldn't tell which of the enemies was my personal demon because they're facing away and the portrait is facing you

The big area of improvement here would be how enemies spawn, they spawn and move slowly and very predictably, once you've got the 3-split weapon every single enemy will enter its path if you sit in the middle, and they're all slow enough that nothing will ever get beyond halfway with this stationary method.

Lots of potential

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12am

good game, pretty mental relaxing. Especially good music!

retr0verse says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12am

cool game, but the audio was a little repetitive.

and it was easier in the later waves

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22am

The game looks good but its quite boring you can just stand in the centre lane for most of the game. It would be better if the waves were designed so you would have to move around some more.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:13am

I like the graphics. It's easier than i thought. Completed de 9.000.000 points at the first play.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Amazing design.
A bit psychadelic.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:32pm

9.043.566! And not a cube lost :p

Interesting if simple shooter, the weapon upgrades get hilariously ridiculous but seem balanced enough. Interesting concept too!

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

hardcore shooter! fun to play

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05pm

10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) A little more innovative weapon would be great. Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Pretty fun! After a while, I became invincible and stopped having to even move because I had four rapid-fire death beams, though, which sort of ruined the difficulty :-)

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

really nice game! go fairy agent! :)

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07pm

It reminded me of old school games. A good job, just think that enemies could be a little more aggressive since the beginning. And could have a little more visual feedback.

Jerre says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice models, but although i like the upgrades visually it gets too easy in the end

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Really cool, would've liked to see more variety in enemies. After a few upgrades I just sat in the middle holding space bar and drinking coffee with my other hand.

Graphics are nice, I'm a huge sucker for the voxel style. Music was really good and suiting to the game.

drakekin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Really neat game, music was a bit repetitive but enjoyable. Would have been nice to have more enemy differentiation (which ones I can let through vs. which ones I really need to kill). At first I thought "9k to win? This is going to get boring" but now I've played it four or five times and I'm only stopping because I should really rate some more games. Thanks a lot :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Hi! This game is cool, it have great graphics, sound and is well made! Perhaps add some extra kind of weapons to the various characters?

Good luck!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Cool game, I liked the art and music a lot. When I went back to the menu after winning it kept playing the in-game music along with the menu music. Also it got pretty laggy near the end of the game. Other than that it was pretty fun. It would be cool to see different upgrades or powerups of some kind, something to spice up the gameplay. Overall it was fun, good work!

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Good job! I like the voxely look and it's always nice to see a fellow LibGdx dev.

However I would have liked a little bit more of a challenge, as it indeed is rather easy to win if you just stand still and keep shooting.
Maybe fewer enemies that move quicker but take less damage would do the trick?

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

I like it - cool voxel graphics, and its a blast just hosing everything down with bullets - seemed to have a bit of an inverted curve, in that the game gets a lot easier the further you get, but it does feel great when you get the full "wall of death" going :)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Very cool, it would be cool if you could move forward and backwards

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Was fun for the first bit, but once i upgraded to the 4 shot weapon i literally got to sit in the middle and hold the space bar, good job overall though, loved the camera angle.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Great art and gameplay. The enemies could be less tanky

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Interesting isomorphic perspective, and great (if short and eventually quite repetitive) loops! Feels solid but a little simple, as though the only real player choice is switching between "left" and "right". Without getting the cones of fire upgrades so early you could do some interesting things with enemy placement... Great art assets though, especially the 3d voxel stuff.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

The game's voxel art looks great, the music and sound effects go well together, and the game starts out very fun. I played as the first character, then tried the second one and felt like it was more or less the same. Although you did warn that it wasn't hard, a little challenge or a mini-boss or some variation in weapons (different character having unique shots) would have given it a little more replayability.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30am

The graphics are really nice though I found there wasn't a lot to the gameplay. Audio is good but there's some weirdness when you return to the main menu and the level music continues to play over the menu music. This has some real potential - keep up the good work!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

This game is pretty cool, I love the music and the graphics.

However it's also way too easy. I beat the first half of the game by just holding down fire and strafing back and forth randomly. Then, around 5.000.000 points, I got the 5-spread shooter, after which point I just held down fire and stood in the center lane until the game was over.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

I was able to win by just holding down the fire button; it took away all of the challenge. I liked the art style and music.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

I like the art and sound design. Good work.

hypp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice game. A little too easy perhaps.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42am

Interesting little game. I found it rather easy though, once you have the double-shot, you can just sit in the middle row and kill pretty much everything. Maybe make the enemies shoot stuff that you have to dodge?

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46am

Decently fun, and the graphics are good, but it seems that as my weapon gets more upgraded I can basically just hold spacebar and sit in the middle to win.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

Nice game, but I found it repetitive after a while.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28am

I was drawn in by the cool voxel graphics and the mysterious theme. It seemed interesting... I was expecting something calm and mental.

Then it's a shooter that's basically way too easy. Hold down space, alternate left/right every half second or so. Once you're halfway with your upgrades you don't even need to left/right anymore.

The music is pretty rad and the asymmetry, or what looked like asymmetry, is a great idea, but the gameplay as it is lacks big time, unfortunately.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29am

Nice take on the space invaders mechanics. However on my laptop, an AMD A8, I experience very low framerates (4-5 FPS). The music is a bit repetitive but ok. Fun and easy to play, good work!

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:59am

Nice!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15pm

The gameplay quickly got tedious, but I do like the alternative take on a "space shooter" game. Also I loved the graphics style, you did really good on that.

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I really enjoyed the beginning of the game. But at some point, you find yourself waiting on the mid lane, holding space.

The difficulty should increase as the player abilities expand. Maybe you could speed up the mobs, or add more lanes, etc...

Good graphics, music, everything though :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I love the concept behind this and I like the graphics. I found it a little easy as once I got to shooting down 4 lanes I could pretty much just hold fire and sit in the middle. Great starting point though, could easily be expanded into something awesome.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Wooah! nice job! The background "story" is nice and immersive, but the game is a little too easy IMHO.
Nice graphic! Well done! :D

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19pm

love pixel art! nice work

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Space invaders 2.5d with more than one twist ;)
The graphics are competently done and the music is very good. It's a space abr killer by the way :)

God job!

ftvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Weapon upgrades were cool. I stopped after realising that I had been mashing space for three minutes, heh.

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Decent game and concept. Easy to win (but you already know this ;).

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

The art is great. I wonder if there is an ending.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Rad graphics and controls really well. Good job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

I really like the character design. It would have been nice if it were harder/more engaging somehow though. Quite polished for a compo entry. :)

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

The graphics and the sound are cool, love that you made an HTML5 version. It's fun but i think that it's a little easy.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Well, that's my share of human saving and dark emotion demon slaying done for today :)

Thought it was going to be slow, but after the first round it started getting pretty intense! Good job, decent menus, graphics and audio - all in just 48 hours? :D

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

it has an interesting perspective.
well done :)

AdamW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

First game to actually make me want to continue to play for a long time! Great work!

steboots says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35pm

I enjoyed this game, I really did. It was simple, but still satisfying. I would love to see some animations to indicate I killed a demon, plus a mute button, but nice game.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:16am

Really great game. i felt rediculously overpowered and unbalanced when i had a infinitely fast firing 5 shot.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

I like this game, especially the music and the graphics! It's a little too easy though, especially when you just hold the space key down. I really like the concept though, great job overall!

defacid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great visual design and fantastic idea. The game was too easy (not too many challenges to moving back and forth until I got enough streams to stand still... But, overall I really like this!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01am

interesting idea. a little difficult to lose. :-p nice graphics and sound; well done!

ploogle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:39am

It was a bit easier than I expected, but still great. If the weapon had a tad less spread I'd have been forced to move around more. :) Art and music (and that moving background) were all so well polished.

Good job!

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:17am

Good game, really cool art style

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04am

I really didnt expect to like this game, but at first i did, It was quite fun at first, simple effective, but eventually it got to the point where i could simply stand in one place and spam to victory, My final score was 9.003.395 and i got there by standing in the same place and shooting.

Would have been nice if some enemies shot back, forcing you to move position (i couldn't see if any did or not though).

maunovaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15am

nicely executed. Nice usage of cubes in graphics. pretty easy, but maybe I am a pro ;)

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30pm

This game is simply fantastic. I loved the excellent art, frantic music and compelling game play (albeit much too easy). This is a lot of lay time for a weekends work, very well done.

Ossi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I really like the graphics and the audio however it did get a bit too easy the further I got. Having a wall of bullets was pretty satisfying though. Amazing job!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Great visuals and mood! love the audio and feel of the power ups. but yes. a tad too easy ;)

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Great graphics,great sound, and shooting feels good. My only suggestion would have been to make the theme feature not only in the description of the enemies and the player character, but in the actual gameplay behavior...
Also, after a certain point the game becomes just keeping the space button pressed down, since your bullets hit everything anyway xD

Aside from these two points, the game is very good :) Good luck!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Smooth and gratifying gameplay, the difficulty curve dropped off slightly and made for quite an easy game but the mechanic, audio and graphics meld together really well. Enjoyed this one a lot :)

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:10am

Very nice! Love those voxels. Gameplay picked up to just the right amount then it got pretty easy. Had fun playing it though!

garygreen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice graphics and music and an interesting twist on shoot em ups.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:53am

The idea behind the game is intriguing, but I would like to see the mechanics have a physical difference when using 'kindness, happiness and good intentions' and for them to work in different ways to mix up gameplay.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:45am

Love the background effect, it really works with the semi-retro vibe of the voxel enemies and the music. Groovy.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:05am

A great way to spend a few minutes shooting lots of stuff with lots of other stuff ;) There're a couple of really interesting ideas in here as well that you should explore a little further - I particularly like the demons that were hidden until highlighted by your beam.

davidB says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:00pm

it works on Linux + Firefox. Nice auto-fire. GG

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Emotions makes me think of the upcoming Pixar movie. I like the voxel graphics on the portrait.

9 million points might have been a little higher than necessary to win since gun upgrades seemed to mostly stop before that point.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:24am

This was really fun! The weapon upgrading mechanic was a great idea because it was the thing that kept me playing: "How ridiculous is my weapon going to become?"

The theme incorporation does seem like a little bit of a copout.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Cute game, but with the weapon upgrades and the enemies always converging in the center it quickly became pointless. I just stood in the center and weighted down the spacebar until the victory screen appeared.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Great looking game. Did get a bit easy once you got really upgraded and could just stand in the middle holding shoot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]