Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hot Kitty!

by ranmaru90 - Compo Entry

This is Kettle-Cat. S/he's going bonkers mass-murdering evil cockroach-thingies on wheels.

PRESS <A>, <D>, OR <ARROW KEYS> TO MOVE;
HOLD <SPACE> TO SHOOT.
KILL BUGS, THEN USE TAIL TO CONSUME DEAD BUGS.
DEAD BUGS ARE FUEL TO KEEP THE HEAT UP.
BY RANDY TAN (@rtanshxn)

Keep the heat up. If you're cool, it's game over!

This is my first time. Done in less than 12 hours. Sorry if it's awful.

Also, check out Gender Gender, the other game I worked on with Chikoness for the jam: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=53104

EDIT: I AM TIRED NOW. NEED TO REST. WILL DO THE PORTS SOON.
- Added Web port on my itch.io. Please use the latest version of Firefox if Chrome doesn't work.
- Added Mac OS X port.
- Added GitHub link. Link to zipped source: https://github.com/ranmaru90/LD32_HOTKITTY/archive/master.zip
- Added Linux port.
- Fixed minor bug to reset score when game over. Thanks to chaosed0 for pointing this out!
- Added a cosmetics-only effect that enables Kettle-Cat to spew out steam at the top. Wasn't a priority when I was in a rush during the compo.
- Fixed some bugs: Game over screen, failure state, Kettle-Cat not meowing. Sorry if it's one buggy game! (No pun intended.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#349Humor3.12
#751Audio2.18
#776Theme3.07
#801Graphics2.63
#846Mood2.54
#876Innovation2.61
#1070Fun2.13
#1076Overall2.43

Comments

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31am

Not bad for 12 hours, and it's definitely unconventional haha.

HBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

It's a cute game! I enjoy the art style. You could add a few more elements to spice it up a little, though.

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01am

It looks like your score doesn't reset when you lose the game. The audio seems to be biased toward the right side. Not bad for just 12 hours. I like how the wheels actually reverse their order, instead of reversing direction.

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

I just... I can't... even. That's great. Your mind must be a scary place.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

Thanks for playing! Glad you guys like it! :)

I couldn't think of what to do with "An Unconventional Weapon", but I wanted to participate very badly, so I just let my imagination run wild.

And thanks to chaosed0 for pointing that out, I've fixed the score not resetting, sorry about that.

And yeah, I did the audio when there was only 1 hour left. My voice recorded impromptu into 3 files with Audacity.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

12 hours?! That's not a lot of time at all! You did a good job with your limited time. Just needed more of it to flesh out the game a little.

Domicuc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

If u making it really 12 hours its good (y).
Also check my game please! x)

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47am

I posted a screenshot of my progress when there was only 8 hours left: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/19/hot-kitty/

And I spent 3 hours making the graphics in Inkscape before I started coding. :D So I did everything in a hurry and now my C# scripts are a huge mess.

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

LMAO wat :D It's confusing but it works! Good job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Damn, that's a hot pus.. er, kitty!

Full version of this could be badass xD

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54am

Didn't really get it. I think the art is fantastic, but it was a little too simple and there wasn't really a challenge.

Also the audio was a bit grating.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

The art style is awesome, loved the way things move, and the particle effects for the steam is cool. I think it's nice for 12 hours, especially for a first try (and you did another project). There are a few things that could improve the game, like having some enemies that could cool you down, or getting an extra bonus for steaming several enemies at once (which can, effectively, boost your survival chances). Keep it up, next time it'll be even better.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Thanks for the comments everybody. They're certainly motivating!

tummyache : Thanks! :D Sorry about the audio, it was done in the last hour. :( I just fired up Audacity and squeaked and meowed.

pvwradtke : Thanks! They're not really particle effects. I made a set of randomized polygons in Inkscape, brought them over into Unity and put them in an array, and randomly picked one to shoot out at a time. Of course, I also scaled and change the alpha for each image over time. See https://github.com/ranmaru90/LD32_HOTKITTY/blob/master/Assets/MyAssets/Sprites/rect5104-1.png

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

Good use of a kettle! It has a charming clunkiness to it.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Pretty cool game, lacked challenge though!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nice art and sound. Would have been interesting to see what kind of gameplay you could come up with if you had more time

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice game for 12 hours! I wish there was some sort of difficulty though, whether it be the bugs are attacking you or something else.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Hah, another awesome entry! You have to use both ends of your 'cat' which is much similar to my wizard's staff. :D
But you did definitely a better job!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

Haha, that sure is a hot kitty right there. Meow!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Sound is a bit too squeaky (pun intended) :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:34pm

For such a small amount of time, it's not bad! The art style is weird but actually kind of cool (especially the breath of the kitty).

MaesK says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Quite a crazy game, hahaha. I can't barely understand what's happening but I like the mechanic of turning around to catch the enemies. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]