Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Choose your own title!

by jlauper - Compo Entry

I always wanted to make a game for Ludum Dare, but I dislike having to rush, so I decided to make a simple "Choose your own Adventure". While I never planned to have music a really wanted to add an image to each step of the game, but the writing took me longer than expected and I didn't have any time for them (well I managed to draw one which I can use a few times...) since I'm really slow (and at best mediocre) at drawing stuff.

There are 6 endings, 4 bad ones and 2 good ones. May the odds be ever in your favour.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#664Mood2.79
#819Audio1.00
#845Humor2.11
#1011Fun2.29
#1073Theme2.24
#1083Graphics1.26
#1093Innovation1.80
#1094Overall2.37

Comments

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

The webpage is not available!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Took me a few times to get there, but eventually I escaped. Nice dark story, good job!

-Weloxux

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44pm

I think I found all the endings. I liked the different stories although I felt like the only way to be successful was to be very ruthless and violent. A little more nuance would have been nice.
On replays purple links made it more obvious when the different story threads converged. This improved replay-ability but reduced surprise. If it's important it may be better to use some CSS or something to not show already visited links.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49pm

This is not that great as a game, but as you say, if you don't like being rushed, maybe you should do the jam. Then you could prepare things in advance, or enroll some help, and have an extra day.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49pm

A captivating adventure; I couldn't help but play until I got all the endings. The story is very well planned out, considering how short it is (I like that it's short enough to replay multiple times).

gaarlicbread says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I had fun playing this. I think interactive text is under-rated. I love great stories, so why not a story with some choices? This is also a very practical choice for getting something done in 48 hours.

If you make more games like this, I'd be interested in seeing a bit more about the characters involved. Why is the mad scientist doing it? What is my backstory? Stuff like that.

jlauper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Thanks for all the comments!

@HeyChinaski: You're right, it has been a while since I worked with CSS it just slipped my mind that you could do that.
I fixed it now(I think it's ok, because it is kind of game braking for replays...)

@gaarlicbread: Backstory on the character could be interesting to include, but I left the part about the protagonist vague on purpose because it's basically you that is in the story, and having backstory would detract from that.

LorenaIpsum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Great story, I haven't yet found the good one :D

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice story which is quite dark. Good entry.

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cool story, very creepy! I think I got all the endings, its nice that there are multiple good ones, and that you can quickly retry if you've made a wrong move. Well done.

zzForrest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

It was interesting, but it felt like there were some continuity issues. "you wake up still strapped to the table" when I was never strapped to the table in the first place, stuff like that. While I'm not a grammar nazi, I feel my english teacher wouldn't like this very much. But the story feels nice, and while disjointed it feels not too jumpy. I didn't like how limited my choices were, as they felt polarizing, but I suppose not much could be done about that, given it's a text adventure.

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Well, not bad, the story is nice but in my opinion too short and linear to consider it is a game.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Nice game, I haven't seen too much text-based game and the story was way different than the other with its dark tone.
Good job!

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Some odd story connections (like waking up "still strapped" when I was never strapped) but overall I liked it. I chuckled at "toe-fingers."

Some things that through me off though since there isn't much in way of graphics or audio were the grammar mistakes.

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:10am

Interesting game, with a dark story. A pity that it is mostly the ruthless actions getting rewarded, but that's just a matter of taste. I enjoyed the genre as well, "Interactive fiction" is too rare these days.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:10am

I know you're rushed, but you may want to proofread your game before publishing, as it's heavily text-based and riddled with little errors, but it's no big deal. Also, breaking up your massive paragraphs may make the text more accessible to the reader.

Would read again.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:37am

Love the CYOA - unexpected and daring :-) Would definitely like to see it with more pictures, although at my age I got really used to text only games in the early days :-) Zork anyone?

anokta says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:50pm

cool entry, haven't seen anything similar so far! shame on the spammy popups at the start though. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]