Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Colonist

by Jyrkface - Jam Entry

We really wanted to use the theme in a way that would affect the mechanics of the game. We settled on doing a version of lunar lander where you use the landing gear like a wrecking ball to clear out enemies, effectively transforming one of our favorite old nonviolent games into a ridiculously violent one. Given how feeble the enemies had to be to make this even remotely workable, we decided it would be a good chance to make a morbid little criticism of colonialism.

HOW TO WIN-

Clear out all the inhabitants of each level then land safely to colonize!

CONTROLS -

Click and hold above your ship to fly and steer.
Click and hold below your ship to correct axis.

Tips

Use your landing gear to take out enemies

The Lander can be killed by hitting other objects too hard

The top of the lander is vulnerable to enemy fire, explosions and collisions

Destroy all threats and land safely, conserve fuel for maximum points

Knock generators into shields to take them out

Be careful with UFOs, hit them gently!

CREDITS -

Art, Animation, Assembly - Rusty Hayes (@Jyrkface)
Art, Music, Sound - Charles Rowell (@DJWildebeest)
Font - Yond by SomePX (@SomePX)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#116Fun(Jam)3.70
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#152Mood(Jam)3.63
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#243Graphics(Jam)3.82
#247Innovation(Jam)3.52
#283Humor(Jam)3.33
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48am

I like the soundtrack and the effects of the threats are nice. The art style gets the job done, but the particle effects from the ship are cool. Ship controls kinda weird with the mouse, but gets the job done as well. I used to love these kinds of (landing) games as a kid, so I commend you for making one.

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52am

Adorable =D
I really enjoyed the mechanic once I realized how it worked. Might have made monster noises while destroying the settlements.

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54am

Really loving the minimal graphics, here. Bit frustrating how easy it is to come down to hard on a threat, but fun nonetheless. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28pm

It's ridiculously fun :D.

surpent says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31pm

自分の船をぶつけて基地を破壊する、良いアイディア!
音楽が奇妙に感じられた、しかし遊んでいる内に最高にクールに思った!
私はこれが好き!

surpent says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32pm

The mistake to post in Japanese:-p

To destroy the base by hit his ship, good idea!
Music was felt strange, best thought to cool while you are but playing!
I like this!

surpent says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

To destroy the base by hit his ship, good idea!
Music was felt strange, best thought to cool while you are but playing!
I like this!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Very good graphics, gameplay and sound! I have to say I found the mouse controls hard and really wished for keyboard controls though.

MFEP says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:02pm

game machanics weren't clear for me, an in game tutorial would be nice
otherwise nice retro graphics (the burning fuel particles were superb)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:22pm

The graphics are so cool ! And the music is even better !! And the concept... Well you know it's pretty cool. But man, dat game !!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Fun twist on lunar lander. I feel like the goal could be made a little clearer in-game, but once you know what to do it's a lot of fun! Great work!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Good retro game. Difficult but cool !

MonoS says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Took me a while to understand of to properly use the spaceship, maybe it's not a mouse type of game?? I'll think a bit more about that.

Nice music and sfx, specially the increasing tone when you destroy the buildings.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:17am

Good use of the theme, and nice effort with the graphics and sound. The controls are very odd, it's strange to have the mouse do different things above/below the ship especially as the ship changes altitude. I found that I often flew straight through the buildings instead of knocking them over, which made it really hard. I love the little green men that make a panic sound and run about!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]