Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cucumbers Shall Not Pass

by mortus - Jam Entry

First time participating in LD as a part of a team, instead of solo. Code by me, most of the art by rozenbom.

IMPORTANT NOTE ON RESOLUTION:

It just came to my attention that the right part of the screen could be cut off on google sites if you have low screen resolution. Please use alternative link in that case. Thanks.

==
AI
==
AI is really stupid (random, actually), so it cheats to be at least somewhat challenging. I'm really interested in how this game plays against human opponents actually, as I didn't have a chance to try it yet.

============
Instructions
============
Game lasts 12 rounds, in each round you can build something, launch attacks on any of your enemies and select a diplomacy card.

Building
Select one of the building cards or press "Skip" button.

Using a weapon
Press little red button on the left to launch something when you have it.

Politics
Every 3 rounds international meeting will happen and every diplomacy card chosen by every player during those 3 rounds will reappear, its icons will be counted and a Convention for the next 3 rounds will be formed. Conventions prohibit weapons, use of certain buildings, but can also grant resources for players who're not producing any weapons.

===================
Hotseat Multiplayer
===================

You can play this game with a friend (with up to 8 friends actually) using the same computer, just set Human Players in main menu to more than 1.

====
BUGS
====

Game lacks some indication and sometimes it's hard to understand what's going on, but there should be little to no game-breaking bugs, well, maybe a few.

Unfortunately, Mushrooms are not implemented. Initially there was a plan to use them as a way to achieve third victory type: Conquer victory.

=====
Music
=====

"All This" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#92Innovation(Jam)3.84
#117Overall(Jam)3.79
#172Audio(Jam)3.53
#220Fun(Jam)3.47
#283Humor(Jam)3.33
#299Mood(Jam)3.38
#324Graphics(Jam)3.68
#358Theme(Jam)3.58

Comments

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12am

Top notch. This would make a fun board game as well.

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39am

Fantastic game! EAT MY CUCUMBER, YOU FOREIGN SCUM!

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:16am

Well polished! Full marks on Theme, Graphics, Audio. It took me some time to figure out what I'm doing, but it was worth.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18am

Great game. It has pretty deep mechanics for a jam game!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

Awesome and fun game!

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

For a game jam game, there feels like a lot of things you can do in this game. I like.

Takes a bit to get into, but maybe it's just the music that made it *feel* great

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Deep gameplay, awesome for the limited time. I can see lots of potential here, specially as a mobile game. Good job bro

Orava says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very impressive and polished for 72h. Full stars all around.

Encountered a couple animation and UI bugs, but those can be ironed out post-jam I suppose.

- Sometimes the bean animation would not stop playing, ever.
- Diplomacy counter thing would not hide, blocking all clicks effectively ending the game(, and the whirring calculating sound would loop as well.)

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

Yeah, I've encountered bean animation bug too, but it seems it happens only in browser and I couldn't reproduce it in better debuggable environment. It also only seems to happen if you leave the browser tab with the game and switch to something else, or on slower machines. I've added few safety checks now and it seems it doesn't make the game unplayable anymore, it's not fixed though, but further changes are too complex so I'll keep them for possible post-compo version.

Diplomacy counter thing is a new one for me, but seems to have the same roots, thanks for pointing me towards it.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Very fun. Insane level of polish for a Ludum Dare game.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Not easy to get in but really great realisation! It's very innovant and deep :p

jordgubben says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Ambitious :)

I'd really like to see this converted into a boardgame.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:46pm

A lot going on here, a stronger UI would have benefited you greatly!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]