Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Asterpoids

by NMcCoy - Compo Entry

I'm an asteroid miner. There's good pay in collecting those powerful, volatile desideratium crystals. Problem is, I got a bit overzealous with my mining laser, nicked a big ol' crystal, and the blast took out most of my systems. Mining laser, long-range scanners, hyperdrive, cargo scoop, air conditioning... Anyway, all I've got left are the thrusters and shield generator. I found an old run-down hypergate that might be able to get me back home, but it's low on power. And it seems someone else has found it too, and wants the rare alloys it's built from...

Instructions:
Break apart asteroids by pushing them into each other with your ship's exhaust, push the green crystals into the gate to restore its energy, defeat the UFO by hitting it with crystals or its own missiles.

GAMEPAD HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Controls:
control stick/mouse/arrows = move
button 1/mouse 1/left ctrl = charge boost
button 2/mouse 2/left alt = cut engine

(The name is from a typo I kept consistently making for the entire time I was working on the game. I eventually just gave up.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#136Audio3.53
#142Graphics3.89
#167Overall3.65
#190Mood3.44
#206Fun3.53
#211Theme3.78
#279Innovation3.50
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

Game crash when gate is destroyed (preventing restart) should be fixed now.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I really liked the way the player was controlled.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Solid controls. Good gameplay concept, made it difficult. Audio, graphics, everything well executed. One of my top picks this year.

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

like the mechanics of the game, feels very smooth! :)

Dynad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Great work on the controls, the boost works very well.. at first I had no idea what to do, after some alien / enemies or some kind were showing up.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The ship controls really nicely with the mouse, and it combines with the atmospheric music for a really pleasant experience. I also love the polygonal look of the asteroids. Well done!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:59pm

The game controls perfectly and has consistent and visuals. Really good dude!

I didn't get if there's a goal or not though :)

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Solid controls, but crazy difficult to play it.
A little bit of mercy would be nice. D:

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Smooth gameplay. I've missed some tutorial, but I really like this game

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Added some basic instructions to the description.

remiv says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Once I get it, I find that game neat. The control on the direction by stick might be more precise, but this is still neat.

Sim says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice variation on Asteroids. The controls were fluid and after a bit of practise I could move things around quite reliably. The sounds and particles really made it feel polished.

oparisy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Sadly, that game is too hard for me.

That being said... I love the graphics, star field, very nice particle systems! The ship is very pleasing to control, actually it was so fun I spent most of my time fooling and boosting around.

Having a small ship is a nice touch, it gives a nice feeling of "deep space" when playing in full screen.

Having "soft borders" instead of invisible walls made sense (can't get too far of the warp gate) and improved immersion.

Nice back story too!

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Very fun game to play. The core mechanic works surprisingly well and though the game is difficult, you feel like you can really improve. Nice graphics and sound.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Solid little game, but the controls are merciless in the beginning.

Portals says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:07pm

The stars in the background is just amazing to look at. The graphics are simple and awesome! Gameplay feels smooth and relaxing. Bit hard to hid the crystals to the portal. Other than that, it's a great game! Good job!

May 12, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Neat game, really awesome graphics, but I wasnt really sure what to do... I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3cEj0moqZLI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]