Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The morning type

by Liam :D - Compo Entry

"The morning type" is quite possibly the worst pun I have ever made. Ever.

In the game, you type. And it is morning. The game is intended to help with two things: Increasing your vocabulary and / or help you practice typing quickly. So it falls into the educational genre.

During development, I had a massive set-back which basically required me to re-do a whole bunch of work (Remember to save your scene and project often, Lime!) so audio didn't make it in, unfortunately. And I know audio would add a lot... I actually did record some of it, however didn't manage to actually add it into the game.

Now let me acknowledge that it basically has nothing to do with the theme. My original idea did... then again, my original idea also featured a character, viewed in third person. So yeah, the "unconventional weapon" side of it faded away during development. While I acknowledge this, I think it's still fair to let you express your displeasure at this fact by letting you vote in the "theme" category, so that you hopefully don't penalize the game in the other categories for its extremely liberal interpretation of the theme. Thanks!

All feedback is welcome, especially written comments! If you would like me to look at your game, leave a comment and I will! :D

Addendum:
* You can press space and enter if you wish, however it is not required. You will not fail words if you press either of those, nor will you get extra points.

Making-of available here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwkExO4ZvZ0
Web, windows, mac and linux builds available here: http://errorage.com/content/ld32
Source available here: https://github.com/balohmatevz/The-Morning-Type

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#485Graphics3.15
#488Fun3.13
#543Humor2.72
#620Overall3.10
#647Innovation2.95
#664Mood2.79
#1091Theme2.07

Comments

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32am

For a ditch redo effort this is actually quite fun. Biggest complaint i have is not having the space or enter in there. typing multi word phrases without hitting space is a bit rough, also hitting enter after phrases would help too.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:07am

Thanks for the review :D
Pressing space or enter is not required, however will also not make it so you fail a word. So if the text "hello there" appears on screen, typing "hellothere" and "hello[space]there[enter]" is equivalent, as is "he[space]llothere" :D

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Final score: 279

Well done, I enjoyed this :)

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:03pm

enjoyable and educative

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I liked this game, but as you said, the theme wasn't really there. Music would have been a good touch, but it was a fun game for someone who was learning to type. Nice job.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

A great way of getting used to my new flatkey keyboard :D
because of this I now type (semi-blind).
Typing with 4 fingers might not be the most efficient
hehe, But hey, It gets me there.
I played 3 times and scored around 256

For people who can't type blind at all, I wonder how they would manage in this game. But I think that maybe they could even learn to type blind with this. For that I say (Y) awesome.

Cool that the words are randomised, a bigger decorated full fleshed room/house would/could enhance this game in a possible future. Else I have little to critic here. ^^

Cheerz!

Jagang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23am

wooops I suck at typing xD
I really like gimmiky games like this and the presentation was great. Do you know "Typing of the Dead"? Something like that would have been closer to the theme, but its enjoyable anyway :D

bernardery says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cute!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21pm

not really in line with "an unconventional weapon", but you should keep working on it! It's fun!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

BONUS ROUND CLOSET! I wish it had sound :( Not so sure as the whole it being a weapon though as it seems like typing objects around you. I also thought it was funny and worked well.

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

It's nice and all, but what about theme?? Where are the weapons? :D
Anyway, adding space bar between words would really help

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

It'd be nice if you were given choises like go through: a) DOOR b) WINDOW and you'd type your decision, after the menu that was what I hoped for

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Sorry to hear about your set back! :( Must be frustrating!
For what its worth, this is a worthy educational game approach. I expected type based titles due to the theme actually.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Pretty much what goes through my head each morning too. Not a bad typing game, liked the 3D graphics to go along to make it a monologue that almost tells a story. A bit of audio would have punched this up really well.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

haha excellent idea, very efficient concept. I'm pretty agree with the first comment though: no space bar is weird... Good job !

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Not really sure why anyone who keeps a wedding ring in their closet also keeps a thong in their closet, but okay. I always love a good typing game and it was done very well!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I actually really liked this! The camera movement kind of reminded me of Time Crisis. Made me think you could use a similar mechanic in a more offensive way if you so chose (i.e. typing correct words attacks people). Though, it's really nice as it is; it manages to tell a story, leaving a lot to the imagination of the player, filling in the blanks between the words. You could take it in a really emotional direction by going through more emotional situations and having to type the words that come to mind.

M9Josh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Fun little game! Scored 214, apparently I suck at typing!

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33am

I don't know how well this demonstrated a weapon, music would've made this a lot more enjoyable. That said, it was really satisfying to type. When I screwed up I felt much regret. Not bad.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:40am

A very well done typing game. I really liked how the camera moved around the room, though I admit I was somewhat distracted by whatever psychadelic funk was going on in that armoire - was it a nightclub for underpants gnomes?

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

327 final score, neat little game! Definitely could've used some sound though. Nice one!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26am

What a fun idea! You already mentioned about the theme, so yeah...
This represents a lot of work considering the timeframe and it really has great potential.

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

Good little typing tutor. I Scored 239, very enjoyable game, nicely done :)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

Interesting concept, ya, also have the same problem that it feels a bit lost without hitting space ;p but overall nice game :)

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

I just switched from a laptop to a desktop PC, so this was tough, but I can also confirm that it gave me a great headstart on getting my typing speed back up. The player character sort of reminded me of Arthur Dent: "The word 'bulldozer' wandered through his mind for a moment in search of something to connect with."

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40am

Apparently my typing accuracy is terrible. :'( I like how the menu is used by typing stuff in.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:30am

Really interesting the idea! Used to use mouse on games, and had to change my mind for this one xD Good job!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

I really enjoy playing typing games. The way you add points is very satisfying. I would recommend adding a "space" tile. It may not look as clean, but why penalize a player if they are going to subconsciously try to press "Space" unless there is a good reason.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

Pretty cool game~!

HeffJoker says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:37am

Very well made!

I like the general background movement around the room and the interaction with the alarm clock. One small suggestion: Maybe you could have a countdown or at least let the player know that the "end of the game" is when they reach the door. I found that I would take my time towards the end (because I didn't know where the end was) and lose points.

Good job!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58pm

A few glitches: "four poster" required a space to be pressed (I think, it was a white space and I failed the word). Also you misspelled cardigen & welingtons. Educational indeed :P

Otherwise a pretty solid game. I liked the alarm clock a lot, it would be cool if I could type 'tick' in the main menu and it would register it.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Well, a nice little typing game. Pretty fun to play, Had a GREAT time! It's nice to see something educational done, rather than watching dicks fly across the screen ._.

*Liked the Unturned style Graphics. Keep it up!*

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Awesome! Thank you so much for the typo report! As you might expect, adding the words was one of the final things I did. At the time, I was severely tired and transcribing them inevitably led to mistakes. All three reported typos have been fixed as they are "typo class" errors. You can see the bugfix in the commit log here: https://github.com/balohmatevz/The-Morning-Type/commit/24866d034c567ebf5eb0db61c3e5185790c91b46

If anyone spots any other typos, please let me know.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Hey the link wont work for me, it says: "You don't have permission to access /content/ld32/ on this server."

hexagore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Same with the permission thing!

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Sorry about that! It works now!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Great job, especially considering the setback you mentioned.

As you already said, this doesn't fit the theme, but it's a solid game. I really like the visual style, too. This could probably be quite easily extended into a pretty solid typing-tutor-style game.

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

This was an interesting game. I could see something like this being used to learn a language wit pictures of the items going along with them. Reminds me of the old typing tutors.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice! I had fun :) I could see this as a learn a new language/learn to type said language game that could be really useful for people. But for that I think the person would have to be looking at every object and then typing it's name, rather than just type things that could be contained in an object, like the closet.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18pm

The game crashed while launching. Windows 8. I can send you the log if you want. Just reply.

MonoS says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I CANT TYPE D:

The game is pretty annoying, but if you need to type for whatever reason [like inappropriatebeeguin] may be good.

I scored about 150 points.

Domicuc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:39pm

i love the THEME ! :D good work ! also check my game please.)

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:45pm

I got 292 :) Nice little game, the fact that the menus are also driven by the typing system is a cool touch.

Ossi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Great use of the theme and I really like the tic toc letters coming out of the clock on the title screen. I really wish you had to push space for the multi-word parts, it really feels weird to type. Otherwise overall it's really great!

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:15pm

I missed some sounds but still great game
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Pretty cool game. I love the concept.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Of all the typing games I've played in the past, this one is definitely up there in terms of entertainment value. I only wish there was some sound :( Otherwise great job!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Not bad for an emergency-do-over. I had fun :)

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:39am

Well Done! I really like Typing of the dead like games. Solid entry for a weekends work!

Good job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:27am

I loved the style of the game. It felt very nice, and polished.
I did a game last ludum dare where the theme was.. off, but it's fine. Better to do some kind of game, than nothing at all due to the theme.
I was entertained by your game and I loved the atmosphere. You already covered the game's shortcomings, and if you fixed those I think you have a very nice typing game here. I can easily see this evolve to some kind of story driven game where you type key points. I like that the words weren't exactly the same on each playthrough. I think you did a very good job! Well done!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:27am

Mavis Beacon Teaches Sleeping?

Though there are animations that play when you fail, I think, maybe inversely some indication of successful typing would also reward the player as well. A good job for a last minute effort.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31am

A fun concept. Just any kind of sound, who'd have improved the experience.

Zozingzeus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:02am

Really fun game!

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Love the concept of a game to lear typing

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

It was great typing practice

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Quite a fun little typing game. Got a score of 290! :D
Not having to type spaces kinda threw me off though. I'm too used to it! >.<

korvyashka says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Very cool start menu. Gameplay is simple and educative.
I am not sure how if I understood theme of jam there.
got 224 at first try.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Omg this is probably the strangest idea I have found in this LD!!!
It doesn't stick with the theme, but good, well done! :D

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It's not bad. I was hoping for more. But I was glad to come play your game, Ive seen you commenting everywhere. Jams are rough...I give props to anyone that even really tries.

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Too bad you couldn't include music. It would really set the mood with some yawnings hehe
To bad you missed the theme too, but hell, you made something and it was pretty fun!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:34pm

I really enjoyed this! Audio would definitely have helped but not having it is understandable if you had to redo work. The UI for words you were typing was great and I'm a little jealous of it.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:09am

I love it! Sound would make it awesome! a real shame thats its not theme related, but the gameplay is really solid.

masterboth says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

Great game! really simple and fun, short and sweet. Good work!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:42am

Nice game. Please develop it in to a full game, with levels.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:04am

As you mentioned you didnt get the theme so i wont vote for it(better than one star).Other than that your game is really good and its a lot different from any other game i have played this far.I like the cartoonish graphics. good job keep it up ;)

lucien says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Really enjoying

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Very nice game, had fun every time I played it! I encourage you to keep working on it!

grillaface says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

WebGL crashed my browser, looks great though!

Liam :D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Interesting................. I didn't make a WebGL build :D

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

Solid game; it's very hard to make a typing game fun, but the humor you added made it enjoyable. :) Great!

yuigoto says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:00am

Missing audio, but the idea is a nice one! :D Good to see an educational game made for this jam!

For the genre, the graphics are quite nice and fit really well, and I like that all the commands in the game must/can be typed, like "start game". Some parts, though, I found to be a little bit fast for the casual player, so slowing things a little bit or changing the word size/complexity depending on the difficulty level could be a nice addition. :P

But You did quite a nice job here, sir! I can picture a full game besides the room scene. :P

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

This took me back to the old typing games while making me realize how terrible at typing I am. Well done, especially for having to salvage it!

mathmadlen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:14pm

really interesting concept! Moving around the room was a cool addition, the graphic style is very nice! Great job!

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:19pm

You and I had literally the same experience. It's kind of settling. Check out my game here - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=50898

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I like the concept, but I'm sure some people object to the British words. :-) The moving camera makes it interesting. As it's a "rails shooter", you could do this with live action video, like an old laserdisc arcade game.

I realized that the game is easier if I don't look at the screen while I type, as I get distracted by the graphics and make mistakes.

Add some sound and this will be really great!

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:41pm

First, 139, second 275 ! So much increase. :D
To be fair, I didn't vote for theme.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I reached 348. It's nice that it's not the same phrases every time.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Too bad you couldn't add sounds in time.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:15am

Your game has been rated by our team member Antonin Charvat (music composer). Here is his comment: Very catchy game, too bad it is so short! Please keep developing it and add more levels. And of course... sound and music! Also great thing is, the words change every single game, so the replayability is extended!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Cool idea for a typing game. A little more content and polish, this could be a great little learning to type tool.

IL_yoshioka says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Pretty nice game! Hmm, i think you had better make a sound!

tomhunt says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:29pm

i like the gameplay of this, and i really like that it's a 3d-animated typing game. it looks like it could be really awesome with some more dev work. too bad theres no unconventional weapon but i see how there could have been one.

dos says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:46pm

I love how main menu works!

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:22am

You were definitely hurt by that save fail, but I can see where you were headed with it and you have a good start.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Very unique! I liked the idea that you have to type “startgame” in the menu screen to start the game.

k0j0 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Hey! I really liked this actually. You really had me in the beginning with the clock. I kind of wish that more of the words I was typing had to do with what I seeing in the scene. It felt a little random towards the end, but I was really digging this when I started. Great job!

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Not much theme, but managed to create quite a nice thoughtful little game. I especially liked the alarm clock sequence.

spindizzyMR says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I liked how the words were random each time I tried again, was a pleasant surprise. The way the words fly at you at the cupboard though, gaah.

I don't know if you've ever been to the website lyricstraining, reminded me of that.

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:13am

is this the sequel to Typing of the Bed? ... see what I did there?

Liam :D says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:42am

Oh wow, I'm hitting myself for not calling it "Typing of the Bed". :D that's amazing! :D

Liam :D says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 5:31am

Thank you everyone for your feedback and cast votes! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]