Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Leaf Blower

by phi - Compo Entry

It's a leaf blower. It blows leaves. But it also blows other things. Find out more by playing this game.

INSTRUCTIONS
============
- Click to start or stop blowing.
- Blow all the things.

Have fun blowing.
Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#11Humor4.23
#39Theme4.20
#87Fun3.80
#125Overall3.73
#186Mood3.45
#192Graphics3.73
#351Innovation3.40
#384Audio3.03

Comments

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49am

This took a weird and dark turn, I hope I'm not the only one who has found that out

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:01am

That was way better then I expected!
At first I thought you would have to blow more leafs each level. But then it came out in very unexpected way.

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:05am

hahahaha, I lolled at the milkyway. Great job, great humor, pretty dark though, indeed. As a possible improvement, you could make sure the objects dont get stuck in corners, it can be hard to blow them out of there.

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11am

Sorry don't like the whole killing animals for fun thing. Good idea, next level is something random to push in to a goal. I felt the levels were a bit long, it took some time to finish them. Good job!

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13am

Wow nice game.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51am

This proves that simple is often is better.

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Those poor leaf, I feel sorry for them, but I have to blow everything. Nice surprises all along the game. Some levels are a bit long, you kinda only want to see the next level ^^.

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I want to say it was fun to play, but I'm not sure that's appropriate to say.

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45am

I first thought it would be a nice and peaceful game. I was wrong. Great job on every aspect !!!

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Stupidly entertaining, in a good way, I like and I approve

Terrabalt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15am

Well, that excalated quickly

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

Hahaha, oh lord that was unexpected. That milky way though. Reminds me a bit of beautiful katamari, but of course this is a bit darker. Gameplay wise it wasn't the most innovative, but at least you kept me playing by me wondering what was next. Well done (:

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

319 seconds! It certainly didn't end up the way I expected.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Wow, what a blow job! This is pretty simple game. And interesting social experiment too! I feel sorry for ants and rats. Pigs was just food and killing humans was pretty fun :D

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29pm

AMAZING! I love the concept here, it's really great. And I even think this might make a fun mobile game. Also, I am on Linux and it ran mostly fine using Wine, so that's awesome! Except it crashed on the Pig level :( but since my platform is unsupported officially, that's fine. Great job!

uber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Simple, very playable, good looking game. Last two levels were much easier then the fourth one (pig level) though. Good job!

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nothing can stop the Almighty Leaf Blower!

Gotta admit. Expected it to be bad. Love the bait and switch though!I'm glad there wasn't a scream when you kill the people haha!

Great idea buddy. Good luck!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Next time I want some bacon I'm going to have to try that.

Game was better than I expected, great dark humour and oddly satisfying to play.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Almost turned the game off after the first level, but did not regret playing it further. Loved the twist

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

This is perfect. Gameplay was a little slow for me sometimes, but other than that this is perfect! Loved it!

Dege says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:18pm

This was really better and darker than i expected, i loved it!

TheCams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I finished the game! that was fun, simple but efficient concept, the level with the pigs made me hungry :D

MonoS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

Cleared in 259 seconds on the first try.

The only problem with the game is the boring-nes of the concept, even in 5 minutes i was pretty bored, sorry :(.

SamH says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:13am

Funnier than expected! Very nicely executed, and good humour.

robboberty says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:47pm

This is really fun! I think the length of the game is just right to keep it from getting too boring. If it were much longer that would become a problem.

Controls are good, nothing too goofy there.

It can get a little frustrating trying to move things but it's just enough to keep it interesting.

I made a video of my playthrough: http://youtu.be/X7I_G0GWI20

Good luck!

panurge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Darkly satisfying and beautifully made. Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]