Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon Shortage

by TailyILoveYou - Jam Entry

Weapon Shortage --

A game about a half-blacksmith/half-arena enthusiast, trying to make his way into the big leagues! Use your amazing blacksmithing skills to throw together random items into a makeshift weapon, and duke it out in the arena to unlock new items!

The game saves your progress for you between plays, so feel free to take a break and come back any time!

BOTH THE LUTE MUSIC, THE ARENA MUSIC, AND THE UNITY CHARACTER WERE NOT MADE BY US, PLEASE DON'T TAKE THEM INTO ACCOUNT WHEN RATING!

Lute Music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6wZa53B1Rc
Arena Music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-n8xjj_SZLY

Made by:

Alexi Bay (Programming, Texturing)
Noah Gracey (3D Assets)
Timon Incze (Sound Effects)


Edit: Fixed a bug that causes the player to die infinitely upon starting the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Theme(Jam)4.31
#47Innovation(Jam)4.00
#51Overall(Jam)3.97
#52Humor(Jam)3.95
#146Fun(Jam)3.64
#203Mood(Jam)3.51
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#399Audio(Jam)3.02

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

THIS IS AWESOME. Using the most ridiculous weapons to survive waves of quite intelligent bots for being made in under 72hrs. This game must have taken so much work, and it for sure payed off. Great job!

Pawige says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Awesome game! I loved the weapon-building mechanic. The combat was actually pretty good for what it is, but it did seem impossible to avoid being hit.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Bookmarked. That is sick.

acronaut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

You guys nailed it (no pun intended) with the theme! at first I thought it was completely broken crafting mechanic until I realized that as long as the items are overlapped to be stapled with nails then it's all good to go, lol.
Smart idea of allowing custom roll to orient the custom creation. Very Effective Replay value (and experiment with lots of items) Well done!

skiddings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34am

I love it!
This is a great concept and needs to be fleshed out to a full game. Sure to be a youtube hit ;)

That said it's pretty clear the limitations on time, with the editor and the combat, lots of room for new features and ideas.
Good work!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36am

Spoon spoon of spooning. Enough said =P Absolutely nailed the theme here. Played for longer than I care to admit :P I was actually happy to die so that I could go back and test the new weapons.

Some feedback: Add some ridiculous blood particle effects when people get hit for humor. Add a character model for the player. Even if you can't see any of it on screen, it will be nice to have the shadow of a human and not just the weapons floating in the air. The weapon builder mode was fine but I had to go back to the instructions a couple times and there was no easy way to do so. Finally, duplicate that EXP bar and get a health bar in there!

Awesome job guys :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40am

I love this game! It's a lot of fun, and definitely good use of the theme. The default names for weapons are hilarious, and if anyone says otherwise, they'll be looking down the business end of my Heady Stick of Blading.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05am

AWESOMEEEEE

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:19am

Very nice game!

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

Best use of theme! Core mechanics are excellent, you get so invested in getting more items to craft. One small thing, really long weapons sometimes physics explode out of the "new" area. Excellent work on this, how many people were on this one, I didn't see a credits page?

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

The game looks and plays great, but there is one thing I want to point out: The sounds of people talking completely ruins the mood and atmosphere when there is not even one single NPC around. Other than that, I like the take on the theme, as it's more concretely interpreted.

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Haha, one of the best takes on the theme I've seen so far. The weapon building is a very fun mechanic. The differences of the various components aren't really that obvious though. Great work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25pm

WOW. this is really ambitious and you still pulled it off! its incredibly fun to whack stuff with fish, eggs ect... the graphics are great too. the melee is a little buggy if you stand too close but its not that big of a deal

MegaMasterX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Floored. A great entry! Astounding gameplay and a lot of detail and effort was pretty clearly put into this game. Epic!

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Really Awesome Game !!!

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Crafted the Bananay Banana of Bananaing 10/10

Anyways, very nice twist to the theme. Crafting was interesting, however, it would have been nice to get more knowledge if and how the stats change.

Combat was a bit flawed (it is hard, to determine the striking range of the enemy and avoid being hit), but hitting opponents with my banana sword is still rewarding. And the AI is quite good.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Well, this is sufficiently ridiculous, that (after a little polishing) it could become popular on YouTube. The weapon orientation interface could be a bit more intuitive. The game's biggest weakness are certainly the dull fights.

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:16am

Great game, spoon and egg is the best combo :D

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Wow! I love it. Great idea. It's sad what music not yours(

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:02am

This is really funny, although the lack of a shadow other than what your weapon has is a bit weird.
Even a bean would be an improvement.

Also, the audio is a bit clippy at times.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

Pretty sweet game. Nothing like batting enemies with a fish on a stick! But I think in a post-LD version you should make the combat more meaningful, as there isn't really much to it right now, just wack wack wack, and it seems there is really no skill involved.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

The idea was great, but the enemies sure look very out of place, but well, it is the jam, so I think it is allowed.
Awesome job!

muromets says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

Great game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Fun idea. Never thought I'd be smiting my foes with a lemon stuck on a fish stuck on a stick. Nice graphics considering the time limit you had. I wish the combat had a bit more depth to it. Otherwise good work!

monika says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Cute idea, decently executed for the timeframe. Fun, funny, and creative. Good job.

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Never given out so many 5 stars on 1 game before... loved this! Hilarious, innovative, addictive! Nice!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Fantastic use of the theme, and really impressive work for the short timeframe. It would be nice to have crafting controls on-screen while crafting, and also to show what functional differences (if any) each material has. That said, this is a really funny and creative game already, nice work!

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Hahahahahahha, i'm attacking some guy from the future with a fish and a banana, that's awesome!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:12am

I am pretty sure my pillow-plate-boot fork was more effective than my torch-a-head with a blade tip D:
Very amusing game, played lots of rounds just waiting for the next part to use! Good job!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:15am

Ha! This was crazy fun! Please make this into a full game!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:26am

This is one of the greatest game I have ever played on the Ludum Dare site! Great job, very high rating from me!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:08am

Absolutely loved the crafting aspect of the game and the fact that you can unlock even more ridiculous items for crafting makes it even more compelling. Definitely one of the best takes on the theme.

Park says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:38pm

That was fun, although the frame rate was low on my mid-range laptop. I think this caused some problems when I sometimes had about 3 frames during an attack, since it really lowers the collision opportunities. Dragging and rotating objects during crafting also became tedious with low frames.

Maybe that's a web player problem..?

paruthidotexe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Everything is awesome, wow u have done some great stuff in limited time..
First i couldn't figure out as the weapon building mechanism.
If you spend more time on the game and release the game do ping me @paruthidotexe would like to play more of this

Andy Gainey says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:13am

Humorous as heck, and unlocking new silly items is always fun, but ultimately the fun ran out, both because the combat mechanics were hard to decipher, and the behavior of the various weapons generally *felt* about the same, even if *technically* they were different.

Also, the rotation/testing screen was awkward, especially if I accidentally approached the table from a non-standard angle. The weapon would show up in a fixed world position, but my camera would be in some inconvenient orientation, and I couldn't reorient the camera, or cancel out of the dialog without committing my settings. If I got the settings wrong, I had to trash the weapon and rebuild it, just to fiddle with the awkward XYZ rotation angles again.

I did manage to get up to unlocking bread and a boot and such. But I gave up when I hammered a fried egg to a head, and the physics engine decided to freak out and bounce the head off screen somewhere. But given that this game gave me an opportunity to describe a bug that involves nailing a hard fried egg to a forehead, I'm not really complaining. :-)

idoadler says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Fun and imaginative, beautiful constructed area.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]