Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bunny Bunny

by vegard1992 - Compo Entry

You're Bunny Bunny. Your daddy is mean. Find your way home.

IMPORTANT: RIGHT ARROW KEY TO START PLAYING

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#398Graphics3.31
#620Audio2.54
#746Mood2.70
#770Humor2.30
#925Fun2.54
#950Overall2.69
#1072Innovation2.00
#1084Theme2.14

Comments

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Cannot open it on Windows 8 even after istalling python. The error says "The program can't start because python34.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem"

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I'm unable to run the game, it says I'm missing python34.dll when I click on main.exe. Please fix.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

:S sorry guys! fixed!

headchant says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Any chance for a OSX version?

sorlok says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very cool idea; love the aesthetics! The controls are a bit floaty though, and some of the spike placement leads to experimental gameplay.

Juin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:48pm

After i finished the game(i think) i was wondering what the attack button was for i did'nt see anything that could be attacked.

Indiestry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

For me your game only displays a blue screen on windows 7 :/

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Unfortunately, I'm missing the theme in this game. You seem to have a weapon, you can even attack with it, but there don't seem to be any enemies. It seems to me you didn't have time to finish your game properly.

The wallsliding was kinda buggy, but I managed to reach the end. I hope you can properly finish you game next time.

I did like the graphics, and the child in a bunny suit was cute.

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

it is a good game but the gameplay is a bit difficult

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I like this sort of games, but the beginning was very hard and I didn't reach any checkpoint and kept going from start, which is frustrating, and I didn't really get into fight because of that. Maybe easier start?

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:50am

Awesome pixel art, really loved the bunny <3
Careful, when you're escalading a wall using Right + Up, you can dash through the walls :-)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52am

You should have added some checkpoints, it is very frustrating to start from the beginning every time.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nice fireworks !! But the game would have been better with some ennemies to use your unconventional weapon on... ^^

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:44pm

The graphics are really well done but I had some issues where I jumped through a wall and ended up stuck inside the ground. Also jumped from a cliff and just kept falling.

blubberquark says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This does not run on linux out of the box, because your parsing code returns "characters/bunny.png\r" when parsing bunny.txt. I had to run the file through dos2unix. Same problem with tiles.txt and level.txt. Fixing this in your Linux release counts as bugfixing.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:05pm

The world and character are interesting enough to me to be compelling without the introduction. With some tighter controls and checkpoints, this would be an especially fun level. I really like the fireworks effect at the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]