Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

By the power of Bongos, I have a Banana!

by snesgaard - Compo Entry

So, your hill/cave has been infected with a plague of rats and your only course of action is to exterminate them all! Fortunately, you have a rather ferocious Banana on your side that is easily capable of despatching such vile vermin. Unfortunately, the banana only understands the language of bongo drum music. Can you clear all rats before it is too late...?

So basically you control the banana indirectly by making it go left and right. The right combination of bongo nodes can be confirmed (the s button) to make the banana jump or make a vicious spin attack.

Controls are shown in the last two screens of this post.

Windows user should be able to extract and run the game without any issues.
I'm afraid that Linux users will have to download the .love file and love engine, which can be done with the command below (at least on Ubuntu):

sudo apt-get install love

The program can be run from a terminal using:

love <path-to-love-file>

In any case the engine can be downloaded from link below if not available on the repository of your distro:

https://love2d.org/

This game was developed using the LÖVE engine (a pretty awesome 2D game engine) and various community tools, such as the animation and level reader modules. Modules for game logic, physics and collision were developed by me. Assets were produces using mostly GIMP, Audacity and Tiled.

Oh, and feel free to post your completion time in the comments below :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Theme4.19
#49Innovation4.04
#94Fun3.78
#107Overall3.78
#166Humor3.54
#259Mood3.30
#338Graphics3.41
#474Audio2.84
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

ZoneOne2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

Neat idea. Kind of reminds me of Patapon from back in the PSP days.

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very creative! I loved the little rats lol nice work!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Good game, hard to master that banana hahaha.
I liket a lot. i gave it 4stars in general.
thanks for sharing.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55am

Ah a fellow rhythm-style game! Definitely an unconventional weapon haha. Nice bongo sounds, nice art, and it's really fun when you get the hang of the "songs"! I beat it in 240 seconds :) I replied to you on my game's page btw, hopefully one of the Linux solutions works for you!

snesgaard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

@DrPrettyPatty Thank you, the Linux build worked flawlessly this time. Glad I got to try out your game, it was quite interesting :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Beat in 235 on my first try. Was a little hard to remember the combinations, but overall I really like this idea. Cool game!

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Hahaha, definitely a great entry. I had a lot of fun.
Thank you for sharing!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Really fun idea. Solid platforming and visuals. Would have liked to see the audio take a more active role, though (perhaps interacting with music or something?). But obviously for 48 hours, this is very impressive already.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:58pm

@Reis Mahnic I couldn't agree more! Sadly, I am not really much of a musician. An enforced beat mechanic like Crypt of the Necrodancer or DrPrettyPatty's game would also have been interesting. Maybe next time...

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Cool!

Smiley says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34pm

yay.. another banana game.. I also made a game with bananas ;)

the linux-love-file worked fine on Mac also btw.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Interesting game and concept. It would be nice to see how you would expand on it :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:10am

Very cool idea, but hard to get the hang of. Some introductory levels may have helped. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]