Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Twizards

by Nonameghost - Compo Entry

The game about Tweeting Wizards that you never knew you needed.

A game for Ludum Dare 32 - Theme "Unconventional Weapons".

I got the idea of making a game about tweeting orders to a squad of commandos on a battlefield. HOWEVER, it turns out wizards are much cooler. So here was my attempt at making that game. Unfortunately there's no enemy AI or anything, so the game is mostly just a demo of what COULD be done.

You can type in "tweets" like:

"@BlueWizard move east,west.@RedWizard cast fire"

and then see the command play out. The game is over when one of the wizards gets hit by a spell.

I'm pretty pleased with the delivery at least, I think this time around I focused to much on making it look decent and not enough on getting the gameplay complete/fun. But the core is there, so I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Graphics4.43
#113Innovation3.85
#400Theme3.52
#630Humor2.58
#752Overall2.95
#835Mood2.56
#1089Fun2.00
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

Almost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54am

The visual style is really nice, but unless there are shortcuts that you can type, it takes too long to do anything. @Red cast f

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

The art is beautiful, I think I saw a screenshot on twitter(it could have been here) and I really liked it.

It would be cool to have a permanent visual reference, yes, there's a help panel, but when you're getting started you check that A LOT for the commands :P
So it'd be nice to be able to check all the info(or at least some references) without having to open that.

It's an interesting control mechanic and a clever take on the theme :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very cool idea! I had the text entry box disappear after a bit but other than that I had fun playing!

Great job!

Dickie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

Such a massive bummer that this isn't more finished, very interesting concept which I'd of been interested to see a bit more fleshed out.

pretty solid aesthetic to boot, keeping it simple and clean. It's pretty charming

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20am

Crazy idea, I love how outside the box it is.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54am

Visuals are cute, I'd of liked a cheat sheet that's always visible to reference.

Great job though, unique idea.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Love the idea and the presentation but it is a little frustrating to operate. Making the spells case sensitive makes it harder too. Tweets to @redwizard only work if they are to @RedWizard etc. Great concept though

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

That's a good point, I had it in my head that tweets are case-sensitive!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06am

Loved the concept! Very pretty visuals

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22am

It looks great, but needs some sort of shortcut system

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:56am

A solid demo that needs more work. I think it would function best as a multiplayer instead :)

May 7, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I like the idea, but in practice after a while it is a little bit annoying typing out all the text. I agree shortcuts would be a nice option to implement.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]