Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Truly magical cat

by Yozz - Jam Entry

Controls are provided in game.

We offer you to play with a friend or, well, use both hands.


Postmortem:
We're done. I think this is the best Ludum Dare i ever had - we made this game together with my wife and, suddenly, it was a perfect time. Never thought we can work together in so productive way.

Yes, we had enough time only for one chapter, but we also take part in GameDevParty, local gamejam, and we're going to continue "Truly magical cat" for that jam. Stay tuned with gdparty.org if you want or follow me on Twitter.

This is a third jam in my life with a platformer done. At the same time this is the third platformer i made in my life. At the same time my wife is super god damn cool (as for me) in lowpoly modelling and illusrations (please, tell this to her in comments).

The only bad (and good at the same time) thing i see is the feeling of weak, fragile platformers i create. Feels like you press something somewhere not in time and the whole game crumbles. But, as i said, that's good - i have to something to work out.

So, well, Ludum Dare, thank you again for a new portion of good emotions, drive and fun. Love you all, people.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Audio(Jam)3.94
#63Graphics(Jam)4.39
#144Mood(Jam)3.65
#368Overall(Jam)3.39
#569Humor(Jam)2.74
#678Innovation(Jam)2.81
#680Fun(Jam)2.80
#986Theme(Jam)2.31

Comments

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

The general mood really came together for this game! Everything from the music to the visuals to the gameplay itself really contributed to the generally relaxed feel.

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Really nice graphics! I kept having the game bug out on me though at various parts so I don't think I got very far. What I saw was really nice though!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I see you opted out of the theme category for voting, ha ha. I really enjoyed the art and mood for this game.

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:03am

Fantastic artwork. I got stuck several times moving around the area.

Sluce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:04am

It is a great little story! I love the art and the music they are so whimsical. You guys did a great job. However, sometimes when the characters got close or when they stood on top of each other they begin to vibrate and bug out.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09am

Fun game and great art. Was a bit clunky with players get trapped in each other or the world, but I wanted to see more of the world. good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11am

Good graphics and audio, and the controls didn't feel clunky or anything. Didn't really match the theme but really its a good start to your own game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11am

Lovely, but I'm afraid I couldn't get past the door

Yozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12am

Thanks, guys. I'm updating collisions at the moment.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12am

Very short, and it was a little difficult to figure how to progress even when you were doing the right things, but this has a lot of charm. The graphics were particularly awesome for something put together so quickly. Would love to see what this becomes over time.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Awesome artwork, great job. Though I believe the correct name for the breed of cat may be "Punk-assed Hellcat", not "Striped ass". I know because I have one. ;-)

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

Good game ,,, very nice artwork

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39am

Love the Graphical style! The mood was great, and the gameplay seemed pretty cool. The only thing missing was the theme. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39am

This is a beautiful game. Gameplay was ehh for me, but the graphics and the music are just amazing! This is the best entry I've played this Ludum Dare, awesome work!

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39am

Wow such beautiful art! the music is great too. with is was longer!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Cute game. Amazing music. Strong graphics. What did this game have to do with "an unconventional weapon"?

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Nooo!!! I was hoping for it to be longer. You had something really interesting going on here! The music was awesome, art style was awesome, and those few mechanics you got to show off had such potential for some great platforming.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Verry laid back feel to it

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

Love the artwork. Got stuck in some places with the enter key and really wanted just a bit more (but that's a good thing!). Great work.

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Wow, great and beautiful game. I really liked the art of trees and clouds, and that music...

Just a detail, if a player is on the right margin and another on the left margin, there comes a time where both are out of the screen.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice graphics, music and overall atmosphere. The gameplay is a bit on the weak side with the mechanics feeling awkward, but at least it's possible to play from start to finish. I don't see how it fits the "unconventional weapon" theme, but maybe I'm missing something.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

This game had a lot of very high pros, and a few minor cons. For the pros, as others have said, the unique mechanics, interesting character development (seriously, I've seen high-budget, feature-length films with less character development... great job!) and great choice of music made this game a must-play! However, the biggest downfalls I found were the fact that you can't control your characters during conversations... At the very least, they should be able to move around, still, even if they can't progress. But again, this is a -very- minor issue.

Great game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

Love the co-operation mechanic. Cool low poly graphics, too.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49am

Wow, this is really cute and brings back some memories. I find it amazing the art, story, and music you made in just 48 hours, I'll surely follow you on twitter.

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49am

Outstanding graphics =)

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Great to see such a pretty game like this with some narrative too. Good work on the art and sound. :)

Yoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The overall mood is very unique, the characters, the environment and the music fit perfectly together. This is the strength of this game.

Too bad it doesn't require a lot of activity from the player. But I guess this is the price for such a poetic game.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:15pm

It seems like I have a very different opinion on this game than everyone else. I don't like the game at all. I can appreciate it, but I just don't like it for some reason. Sure, the graphics are beautiful, I can't make something like that not even in a direction. But for some reason I don't like them in this game.
It needs some polish. There are bugs with somewhat every mechanic, and the mechanics are cool but never really executed. Like the balcony thing, it only happens once. The length of the textballoons annoys me.
The game is just too short and too lacking to be fun. If it brought something that's both not waiting for textballoons and not "press a to b", then it would be fun. But that never happened.
Music is nice. Mood is OK.
I don't see a reference to the theme either. I find that disappointing. I think I know why I find this game not great, that's because I find it so disappointing because it could be so much more then it is now.
That said, this is all very, very subjective. And you made a game in 72h. Good work.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:12am

Really moody, good graphs and ambiant =)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:39am

I found a bug, i can't move after spinning animation.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I like the low poly look graphics, would've been cool to see more story!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:46pm

beautiful graphics and relaxed atmosphere! The only complain is I got stuck several times stuck in the game.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Hey I really like this one! The graphic is really cool!
And you used construct 2!
Well done!

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:29pm

This is a really nice feeling game.

Gives me a kind of Fez/Braid feel.

Great job!

hmightypirate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:22pm

A bug got the guy stuck in the house so i couldn't continue.

I really enjoyed the aesthetics of the game!. Nice graphics and music. The gameplay was also a good idea.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Lovely use of mandolin in your audio. The dialog elicited a few chuckles from me and the art was gorgeous. Really nice job!

Ossi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:28am

That was really great! The graphical style, music and the start of what seems to be a really charming story. The throwing mechanic is interesting but clearly you didn't have enough time to expand it. Not exactly sure what the unconventional weapon is but either way this was fantastically done. Great job!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:23am

Graphic and the theme is wonderful!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Nice graphics, nice music, like the game idea and overall awesome game. Good job!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Very good game :D Keeping the characters together was actually quite fun!

strong99 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Cool game, especially the graphics and the way you need to use both of the characters to get further in game. It's a promising end. Well done!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Cool glitch: if you turn mama around just as you are unlocking the door, she moonwalks through the house :) It's pretty sweet.

Bad glitch: if you have georgey boy pressed up against the door, sometimes holding enter will get mama stuck in the air and you have to reload the page.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:40am

really nice graphics and music, but dude got stuck in the door.

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:02am

Did not see the connection with the theme. Graphics were great, also liked the mechanics. The game ended before it had begun... too bad, I wanted to continue.

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Lovely graphic

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:23am

Such a great mood and style, the visuals an the music fit together so nicely. Amazing work!

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:32am

Very pleasant artwork and music, and the gameplay mechanics seemed well done. I would have liked to play more of this game but it kept bugging out on me and I couldn't progress very far. With a bit more polish this could be great!

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:37am

The game is really pretty but there isn't much of a game. I didn't really have any fun with it and I ran into multiple glitches and collision bugs.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:10am

Game is so awesome in many ways! But I always stuked in environment.
I very like graphics and mood.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:47pm

It's possible to skip the "throwing" part via coordinated jumping.

The environment is very pleasant looking. Consider putting the background scenery (hills, mountains) on a separately scrolling layer to create a parallax effect.

I don't care for the character sprites... they look too South Park-ish. Their proportions are odd relative to the houses and doors.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:10pm

It looks great but it kept getting stuck for me from throwing each other to when the girl did her chopping. She would just hover and not move. It looks really cool and the style is amazing!

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Damn, this game is pretty. Go tell your wife that.
The music is also very good.
The gameplay remind me of Brothers : A Tale of Two sons, which is a good thing. The bad part is the dialog are annoying because it locks my input. I got stuck 4 times before I gave up from restarting (because of the dialog). :(
Polish this idea and keep rocking!

May 5, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Really great art and really great sound. I liked playing it 2 handed, although it was nice to play with another person too. Got a bit stuck sometimes but awesome work still for a weekend!

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Love the thematics, cute art. Nice narrative but the dialogue could be written stronger. It should also not interrupt gameplay. Why not have the dialogue appear as is but let the player continue to be able to move?

jmborden says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I like the simple, yet very effective graphics. High marks for me on that. The thing I didn't like was that I had to restart the game because my characters got stuck. I also wish I could have just pushed a key through the dialogue. The graphics are what makes it really shine. The audio was also simple, yet effective. Good job.

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:28am

this game has a very good look, but there is some stickiness to the controls/jumping that made it difficult to play. jumping sometimes just didn't want to jump (when doing the jump to the balcony).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]