Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Squirrel Man, nuts!

by kunzbe - Compo Entry

### Description
The adventures of Squirrel Man begin.

With a handful of nuts an a lot to give he, Squirrel Man, travels the world
to get rid of all ...

Squirrel Man is accompanied by his demonic squirrel minions.

### Control
WASD : move
left click: nutty action, control your demonic minion squirrels
Enter : enter game
P : pause (not written on main screen)

### tools
libgdx, supercollider, LabChip, Gimp, FilterForge, Google

### fun fact
I tried to do a 'diablo 2 summoner'-ish minion game. Too much to do...

### Techi fun facts
- online map generation algorithm. So the map gets generated as you walk in it :) hehe
- first time use of scene2d.ui of libgdx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#320Humor3.17
#474Innovation3.21
#543Mood2.94
#561Audio2.68
#564Theme3.32
#621Fun2.96
#680Overall3.04
#881Graphics2.47

Comments

V_V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Great game! I liked the implementation of the theme. Very innovative! The level generator is a big plus as well.

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

that is one scary squirrel!!

KCrimson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Interesting mechanics, the music was quite catchy and it had dynamic lighting. I was able to run off the stage however

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Lol yeah scary squirrel that wants my nuts... This might become really fun with some more polishing ;)

xandy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:31pm

cool idea and nice music. the mechanic fits the theme very well but it was very hard to die in the game and hard to feed the hungry squirrels because the others blocked them. had a lot of fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Wow - that was slightly weird. Spent a third of the game figuring out what was going on, another third using my squirrel to tank, and then the last third after losing my squirrel running and being chased by a screen full of monitors. Much fun - good game!

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Lighting was different, what did you use? Nice map generation, liked the idea of the angled tiles rather than just normally aligned.

Good to have some upgrades, the enemies were pretty crazy. I went a bit mad and kept running out of nuts too quickly.

Lots of fun

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Nice. Love the combat squirrel. But the nuts collecting doesn't work sometimes, or feels like it.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Hi knzbe, thanks for your feedback, yeah the sound is a bit annoying, but hey, it's selfmade! ;-) @Your game: Quite crazy one, but funny and definitely unconventional ;-)

huga says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Wow, that was nuts..........

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Very funny and great game mechanic

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Much more fun than I expected!
It gets a bit repetetive after a while, but I still feel a little bit addicted.
The music is a bit odd, but not annoying.
Good work!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:39pm

yay.. another libGDX game :) nice with the box2d debug mode with the right button ;)

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:44pm

That was indeed an unconventional weapon! The idea is really fun and the game is well done.
Good job!

acro says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:28am

Just sat and played this for 20 minutes straight, longer than anything else on the site. And judging by other comments I didn't even scratch the surface compared to some others. Level 10 seemed kinda far off, even, so there's still more I've not seen, like I kept going wondering what the 'tree squirrel' thing was about.

Hopefully you won't take offense when I say the graphics look like crap - but that really hides the fact that this works amazingly well! Alas, I reached a narrow choke point and all 5 of my squirrels got trapped and I was separated and overwhelmed, so a bit buggy with squirrel pathing getting stuck in the blue obstacles (was that.. water?). Right-click shows all your hitboxes/steering behaviour vectors, was that meant to be visible?
But anyway - the music is really good, it sets a nice tempo for play.
The mechanics all complement each other really neatly, and this is a great use of the theme. It's also really impressive the amount of movement behaviour you got working - I'd have thought that would take weeks of work to debug and get fun gameplay out of, but this proves me wrong on that.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I like this crazy graphics and mood. Live it looks much more interesting than screenshots show.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Reminds me of the Christmas Critters episode on South Park.

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:32am

Fun game, strangely addictive :-) And killer squirrels are a unique take on the theme!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Pretty fun game. I really like the idea and execution. The more squirrels you have the harder it gets but you need more minions to be able to defeat enemy, nice balance.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:17pm

The infinete generating map is impressive but it is not that obvius what you are supposed to do inj the game.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I liked this game way more than I want to admit. Interesting take on the theme, great job! very fun!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I liked the idea a lot. Some frustrations aside, I think the mechanic was solid. Surprisingly addictive as well. Kudos!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Lots of content but the graphics really need some work xD

MonoS says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Ok, the music was cool, maybe the graphics need a bit more work.

Wasn't really sure what to do and in the end i lost but don't know why, my energy was almost full.

Pretty fun in some sense.

May 3, 2015 @ 1:08pm

The game started of quite cool, but after following that small corridor for a while it became quite repetetive. In the End I died, because some seemed to have spawned in the water and all my squirrels wanted to only attack him. Other enemies swarmed around them and as I had so many squirrels i couldn't move out of the way.

Some bigger areas would have been nice.

On the other hand, I really liked the artstyle as well as the sounds as well as commanding your mininons by throwing them nuts ^^

Digiraze says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:39pm

I enjoyed playing this game. It was fun (and hectic) to take care of 10 squirrels! =)

spin-down says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice mechanics and I'm a sucker for anything that involves managing your own mini-army (even if they are demonic squirrels!) Some of the areas were much too enclosed and I wasn't a fan of the bottlenecking but apart from that I had fun with this.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I was intrigued by berzerk mode. I got it and died, but I built a killer team of squirrels. Move aside, people.
Squirrels coming through.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]