Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Knight and A Line

by Squeka - Jam Entry

One day, an evil demon attacked a land. It causes evil to the land.
A brave knight, wielding a line, is assigned to defeat the demon using the knight's line weapon.

> How to play:
- Play by clicking the correct action choice.
- Right action choice will lead to next progress.
- Wrong action choice will lead to game over.

> Note:
To play this game, you need a pdf reader like "Adobe Reader", "Foxit Reader 7.x and later", or Chrome's built-in pdf reader. Usually a pdf reader is already installed in your computer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Innovation(Jam)4.22
#139Humor(Jam)3.65
#224Theme(Jam)3.77
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#395Mood(Jam)3.23
#464Fun(Jam)3.14
#474Overall(Jam)3.27

Comments

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

I had not played a game in a pdf before, nice way to tell a story without requiring a game engine and have it playable by almost anyone. I like the moustachize option. There were a few typos "Play Death" and "too" once when it should say "to".

Lissar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

Interesting! I never considered making games in PDF before.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

Really clever use of PDFs, liked the idea of using a line.

TENATATEN

Squeka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:03am

@goadrich: Thank you very much for spotting the typos :3.
About the "too", was it in the Ending? I have rephrased it in the update :).

@Lissar:
Thank you :).

@LeftRight92:
Thank you :).

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19am

This was a very interesting way to make a game! Having an interactive story in a PDF is very different! Good job!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

First time I see a PDF game. Really interesting concept.

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40am

Cool, I have never played a pdf game before. Nice illustrations! I also liked the idea with the line as a weapon.
I had to download the pdf and play it locally. In Safari the scrolling did not work correctly.
Nice work!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

interesting execution, really nice graphics

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20am

What an interesting game! Really nice graphics, well done

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42am

The combination of the art and storytelling really sold this one for me. At first when I read "pdf game" I thought it was a framework of some sort. Really interesting!

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53am

Really funny idea to make a game out of a pdf, but tt worked out in the end.

lcarpentier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

I just played a PDF :| (loved it!)

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I liked the idea, it's a clever way to make a universal story which can be played by everyone. I did run into issues where it went one slide past the one it was supposed to alot though.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08am

Very rarely have I seen a game played in PDF form. Very clever. Next time consider porting it to Twine or another choose-your-own-adventure. There were a number of times that my choice lead me to a blank page and I had to scroll up to see the choices.

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:10am

Wow, a game in a PDF. Fun gameplay and nice art, well done.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:10am

That's really creative to put the game in a .pdf

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:11am

First time play PDF games.
Idea, art, and gameplay are good.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:15am

Really good, different and original, i have never played a pdf.
Amazing idea, execution and graphics, good job!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:42am

Wow, this reminded me of the old Hyperstudio 'games' I used to make back in the day. A funny story with stylish art and a great use of the theme. Totally unexpected with the PDF, but pleasantly surprised. :D

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:13am

I like the concept, and it was a cool sort of story book though there were a few glitches in how the document progressed me

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:15am

sweet :o) i killed the boss!!!!! yeah

ker0chan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:16am

Unexpected format, that's rad ! The game is pretty easy, but the concept is solid. Also, cute graphics !
Great job !

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33am

A very interesting game! Loved it :)

lumscum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:05am

Really interesting game! Graphics were really cute!

jacketsj says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:06am

I didn't even know you could make buttons like this in pdfs... I've thought about powerpoint games before, but this is a new level to me.

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:31am

really nice!!! Maybe there was some frame more, especially at game start! But I enjoyed so much this game! :)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:34am

Didn't work for me!
(the screens seem not to be linked right)

reheated says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Hey, a game in a pdf file! Very clever. Entertaining story - I found myself laughing a few times. Nice art too.

Squeka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:29am

@Azure_Kyte, @sararyCow, @kristof, @retrophantom, @chromebookbob, @bradur, @Mouch, @Icarpentier, @Bandersnatch, @tikilittle, @andrewjoy, @TheColorMan, @GTA LUDUM V, @SuperKid, @SonnyBone, @kabutakogames, @lochmann-apps, @ker0chan, @gogo199432, @lumscum, @jacketsj, @sentendo, @TeamCalcium, @reheated:
Thank you and thanks for playing :D.

@Bandersnatch, @tikilittle, @kabutakogames:
About the slide past one, did you use firefox built-in pdf reader? firefox has issue with that.

@tikilittle:
Perhaps someday I will port to other engine :D.

@TeamCalcium:
Did you click the screenshot?
Even my game is web, I didn't embed it here. Not sure if it is possible to embed it here with pdf file.

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Seeing your post on the front page immediately got me intrigued. Even though I didn't grow up with "choose your own adventure" type of games I somehow still got very nostalgic playing this. I love how in each Ludum Dare there is at least one idea or execution so unique, that it almost leaves me speechless.

Didn't notice any incorrect links either, even though I checked all of the different routes. Of course it was really short and didn't provide a challenge to speak of, but I still enjoyed it greatly.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:18pm

This is really innovative. I never played a pdf game before, but I am more interested in this genre now. The game was ok, not bad for a ld entry, but the fact that it's pdf increases my rating quite a bit.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Like most other people, I've never thought of pdf files as a potential avenue for making a game. It's intriguing, that's for sure.

The actual game itself ends up feeling somewhat bland. This is probably mostly just a limitation of the toolset though. It boils down to being presented with an obstacle, and one of the 4 or so options being correct, the others leading to death and a "page flip" back to the choices. Very choose your own adventure-y, though there aren't many "grey" choices. Ones that keep you progressing in some direction, but sort of take you off the "main" path briefly. All of the choices seem to either push you forward or kill you instantly.

*Spoilers for those who haven't played*

The actual story was the standard "knight goes slay beasts" narrative. Some of the choices had interesting results though. I think my personal favorite was the playing dead option with the bear. It makes you think that it worked for a second and then kind of pulls the rug out from under you haha. The mustache option for the demon also was surprisingly effective (it was my first pick).

The art also was nice, especially considering the abundance of slides that need to be done. It had a style that fit well with the tone of the story.

Overall, the main pull for this entry is that it was made as a pdf file. It's a bit of an eye-opener that reminds us a game can be made as long as the user can provide ANY kind of input. The actual game content, however, is a little weak and not terribly intriguing.

drludos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Woaw, you just won the "most original platform/tool" for this LD I guess! :)
Congratulations on thinking about and doing this, it's very original and innovative. The game itself is quite classical, but I like the graphics and the humor, a although it may have been interesting to have more "meaningful" choices for each screen (here, only one is valid in the end).

Anyway, congrats! :)

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:12am

I'm with these guys on using a PDF instead of a game engine, quite clever. I like the art style too, sort of like Harold and The Purple Crayon but more angular and macabre. :)

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18pm

LOL... amazing idea.... using pdf.... great!!

also you have good art and story.... cool

Squeka says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:07am

@nassi:
Thank you very much and the feed back. Sorry if it is lack of challenge, I didn't have enough time to add the trickier part. Perhaps I will add more challenge in the future :).

@Saltysandwiches:
Thank you very much :).

@CriticalMammal:
Thank you very much and for the feedback :). Yes, it has so much limitation compared with other platform.
Also, sorry for lack of grey choice and content, I will probably add more in the future update. It was planned longer but because of the time constraint I had to make it shorter :).

@drludos:
Thank you very much :).
For more meaningful choice, I hope I will do update in the future especially the initial plan was longer than this version :).

@6DownStudios:
Thank you very much :).

@syncxzoz:
Thank you very much :).

May 6, 2015 @ 2:19am

Grab my 5 stars dude. Very interesting, never seen a PDF game before.

boateye says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:04am

Making a game in a PDF is a...novel concept! I'll see myself out, but I'll leave you with a solid 4 star rating. Good Job!

Squeka says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:59am

@Sri Harsha Chilakapati:
Thank you for playing and the 5 stars :3.

@boateye:
Thank you for playing and the stars :3. It can be VN too, but I have never done it before.

jordgubben says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:13pm

A PDF-game was clearly not something I expected to see in an LD (or anywhere else for that matter). Unfortunately it does not work in Firefox or OS X build in PDF-reader. :(

Azlen says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:55pm

interesting idea, I have never seen a game in pdf form before, reminds me of choose your own adventure books.

Squeka says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:19am

@jordgubben:
Thanks :).
Yeah, it has problem in Firefox or OS X :(.

@Azlen:
Thank you :).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]