Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Do as I say

by Ludipe - Compo Entry

QUICK TIP: Aim for the bubbles above the head of the NPCs, not the NPCs themselves.

NOTES: It's quite important to enable fullscreen while playing the game. If you have time consider downloading the executable instead of playing from the browser, or you might not be able to hear the music (and experience additional bugs).

DESCRIPTION: Your army of mindless slaves awaits. Pick up your megaphone and command them, they're lost without your guidance.

INSTRUCTIONS: (Most of them are in the game) Move around with WASD, aim with the mouse and click to shoot. Change your ammo with "Q" and "E" (or 1-4 if you like shortcuts).

"H" resets the stage, "Y" takes you to the menu, "M" mutes everything and "N" mutes just the music. "V" activates fullscreen and "Esc" disables it.

FEATURES:

- Hand-drawn puzzle game

- 10 different stages which can be completed in many ways.

- An extra mode for those of you who complete the regular levels.

CREDITS: Made by @Ludipe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#10Theme4.39
#22Innovation4.17
#89Overall3.82
#116Mood3.62
#187Fun3.57
#195Humor3.45
#412Graphics3.27
#424Audio2.94

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Nice puzzle game, it took me a few tries to figure out some of the levels. The puzzles are nice balanced and the mechanics are really original. Good work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

This is such a simple but awesome concept that im hitting myself on the head wondering why i didnt think of something as cool, well dont mate, i think that the controller could have had a little more work but the general game is great

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

Not technically a weapon but it still works

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

pretty good

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Oh man, those levels were tricky! This is the most satisfying game I've played so far. For a 48 hour jam, your levels and mechanics are nicely polished!

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

This definitely is a weapon in my book, and a really cool one at that. I had some issues about the collision mask since I kept aiming at the fellows rather than the indicator on top of them. It seemed more intuitive to me. When it got to not killing them I got stuck, didn't figure out how to do that. It was so much easier to just keep them running off onto the spikes. I really enjoyed it that far though, the mechanics and the art in particular. There are some tweaks that could be made so that the jumping is a bit more forgiving and that clicking on the Fire-button when the level title is showing (really cool display btw) doesn't fire an order but removes the title. Because after a few retries on a level, you really don't want an extra because you just instructed someone to the wrong death.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Really nice core mechanic, and good depth of level variety. Was a bit too challenging trying to time my shots just right. Would have been nice on some levels if the robots couldn't die, they just bounced back in the other direction, giving you multiple chances to succeed. Great graphics and polish as well. Nice job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Cool graphics, love the music and quite a cool use of music icons and movements! Allowing jumping on enemies and adding the goal to reach the goal at once (Build a brige level) surprised me.

Good luck! :)

Gunzil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Novel enough concept for a puzzle platformer to keep my attention. It was more difficult aiming shots than it ought to be since I initially thought you were supposed to shoot the characters, not their state bubbles, which are also smaller and more difficult to hit than the character.

Given the iconography of Pause/Rewind/Record/Fast-Forward I was expecting the main mechanic to be recording movements and then have the characters mimic you, rather than have it be stop/left/jump/right.

Fairly impressive on a technical level in terms of having it be complete with a lot of levels.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Excellent puzzle design with a unique mechanic. The sketch-y art style worked nicely as well.

I enjoyed playing quite a bit. My suggestions would be to allow colliding with the square's body as an "order", and allow scrolling through the actions with the mouse wheel.

thephantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

one of the best games i played so far .. almost flawless

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very original, you're on the theme !

rallebauz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Cool!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I liked this game quite a bit. The mechanics work together well and the puzzles require some actual thought. I also thought the art+music gave a very consistent feel to the game.

Executing those solutions was sometimes a bit much work though. The one puzzle where you have to drop a stack onto another dude below was kind of a crap-shoot for me, just keep restarting until you get it.

I also thought the death state for the blocks with the saw blades was kind of non-intuitive. Then again, having dead guys float in space was non-intuitive, but I used it to solve the last puzzle so I can't really complain.

I wish you'd done more with the companion block. Of his three puzzles, the first was the intro, the second he didn't actually do anything besides follow you, and the third was just a repeat of the level before. I think maybe the companion block just doesn't add much to the game concept.

Gen.Harris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Excellent game. Very nice level design. Well done, Ludipe.

allanolivei says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Perfect, I enjoyed the idea

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

It's a pretty good game! The level design is good, the idea is nice... it's a smart way to use a concept as simple as Lemmings or something. Really clever. Good job. :)

Mony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:53pm

good game interesting conecept

Dodecaplex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

Interesting mechanic, suits the theme very nicely. I was aiming my shots at the characters' bodies instead of at the bubbles over their heads, which was a bit unintuitive, but I figured it out quickly enough. Well done!

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51am

Really cool mechanic! The levels started getting really hard for me (ride the wave like a pro). Maybe if the speech bubble were bigger or you shot faster? really cool though!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Can't help myself but start seeing a pattern in your games about communication :)

The part about commanding NPCs with your "voice" felt quite innovating! However, I didn't have a lot of fun playing it. My problem I think it was the puzzles seemed too obvious and the challenge came from mere skill, which was quite tough since the collision box for the npcs was too small for me and the characters moved too quick.

Anyway good job! I'm glad to see you keep pushing design and concept boundaries with every game!

Verz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I liked the concept over all the other elements. The gun was bitty slowly in my opinion for some parts. And the icons smalls so i would have done changing the color of the guys, they are bigger and shooting they,you can clean out the screen.

Great game in any chase!!

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

A really original concept. I couldn't get the web version to download (stuck at 10%) but the nw version worked a treat. Nice work!

LuisDC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Amazing. This is probably the best compo game I have played so far. Congratulations.

Wertle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09am

Nice job with a pretty interesting mechanic! At first it was pretty straightforward, but I like how you ramped up the ways you had to use the commands in the difficulty of the puzzles. I especially liked the little learning moment that taught me what the "record" command meant. It was much darker than I anticipated! One note and I talked about this on stream, but mind your grace period jumping to make it a little easier to jump off the edges of things. The visuals were great, i loved the rough edges around everything, they were slightly disconnected from the dark mood that ended up happening but maybe that's okay. I appreciate how you can approach solving puzzles in many different ways. Great work!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:25am

Great mechanics and nice aesthetics. I think the theme target has been perfectly accomplished. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice mechanic! Not only the idea of controlling them by "launching" orders, but also trying to make them suicide instead of arriving at some goal alive. Fresh and fun, goodwork.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Such a great idea! Really clever puzzle design too. While I would have liked the hit box on the characters to include their body, everything else is so well done. Great job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Great work! I really liked the use of the theme! However, I found it really hard to hit the little buggers with my commands.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Nice work on this puzzle! I was curious when I saw the blog update and it turned out pretty nice and fun! :3 Would love to see a full version, with more levels and orders, come to life.

Presentation, graphics, controls and audio really go well together in this game, and level design is really clever! :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:49am

Cute graphics, interesting game. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aLTEhRhwd8A

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

Well put together and strong concept/take on the theme. Some fairly hard parts but overall well done.

rudra says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice game. Very good idea. Good work !

Erkberg says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:16am

Great concept and nice execution, also quite some content. I really enjoyed this one, good job!

f7f5 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I love the idea: it's quite refreshing. Movement works well. It's a little bit hard to time your "shots", but I guess that's part of the challenge. Excellent execution for a 48hr game. Well done!

mystakin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I played the web version so I don't believe the audio was working. Really love the puzzle design. With some extra commands or just more levels this could be a real game.

surpent says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:00am

Great gimmick!
Character and visual also love.

I could not be cleared in the 10th level of ...

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I loved the mechanics and the puzzles were really well designed although it was a bit awkward aiming the megaphone itself.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]