Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Get Off My Land

by GarethIW - Jam Entry

By Gareth Williams (@garethiw), Carl Hughes (@devilqube) and Paul Yendley (@gredgie)

The evil bankers are coming to reposess your farm. You don't have any guns at hand to defeat them, so you'll have to use the only thing you have a plentiful supply of - livestock!

To Play:

Space/X/Joypad A/Joypad X to start

- Pick up animals and throw them at the bankers
- Smash the bankers' SALE signs as fast as possible!
- Once five signs are put up, your farm goes to auction! Knock down a sign to survive!
- Survive as many days as possible

Cursor Arrows or Joypad left stick - Movement
Keyboard X or Joypad A - Pick up animal / throw animal / smash sign
Keyboard Space or Joypad X - Jump

Oh if you go fullscreen, hit alt+enter to get back to desktop!


Tools Used:
Unity/C#
MagicaVoxel
PicaVoxel
Photoshop
Audacity


Wooo! We fixed the webplayer/Linux crashing bug! Game now compatible with webplayer on Mac, and standalone on Linux. We recommend choosing (in order of preference) Standalone > Webplayer > WebGL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#34Humor(Jam)4.04
#54Graphics(Jam)4.43
#59Theme(Jam)4.08
#80Fun(Jam)3.82
#89Overall(Jam)3.86
#182Mood(Jam)3.55
#212Audio(Jam)3.42
#261Innovation(Jam)3.49

Comments

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

The screenshots look great! I was unable to run your game, it loaded the Day 01 screen, then crashed on me. I was running the web version in Firefox, and received the message "The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected."

gredgie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02am

Are you on a Mac perchance? I recall us having some teething issues with the Mac web player, since the Windows one seems to be working fine in Firefox.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20am

If you find the web player crashes for you, the native build should work fine.

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20pm

This is fun, i like how you designed each feature with animals :)

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Took me a few moments to get used to the controls but I had a lot of fun with this when I did. My favourite jam game so far. Loved the different animals (llamas!) and the gameplay was nicely balanced. Great presentation too.

By the way, the title of the game and the 'IW' in your name were enough to pique my interest... Really good to see some other caulkheads in gamedev! :)

hellforge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:45am

Great entry! We love the style - all the animals are so cute!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:27am

I can't get the webplayer or webgl version to load :'-(

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32am

Sorry to hear that. Huge apologies to anyone that can't get the game to run. The crash is completely random and doesn't produce a meaningful error in the player logs, so I'm unable to fix. Really, really frustrating.

My Mac Mini does seem to run the executable build without issue though, so maybe try that if you're on a Mac.

I have managed to run the WebGL build in FF, Chrome and Safari on Mac, and Firefox and Chrome on Linux Mint 14. It's really not reliable though :(

daredevildave says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33am

Lovely, lovely looking game. Camera is a bit twitchy for my liking... but good fun.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33am

This is a really solid entry! I liked the idea, i like the polished gameplay but most of all i loved the graphics! You did an amazing job guys!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:38am

Nice audio and graphics, really impressive level of polish for the time frame. Nice

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:50am

love the sfx, fun and cute game.

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Very nice graphics and animatioss. It is true that the camara is weird. But the game is very very fun.

Mixer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:07am

All 4 and 5 stars, this game was just great. Art and particles were great, sounds were entertaining and gameplay superb. Well done.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:35am

Very fun game!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46am

Web version fails to download data file.
WebGL version fills the loading bar then stops.
I'm using Safari on a Mac.

Really enjoyed taking the zelda idea of picking up and hurling chickens to the next level.
Lovely graphics art style :D

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:52am

I spoke too soon the WebGL version eventually loaded and started playing.
The camera gets disorientating and nauseous after a while.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:55am

Gah, webplayer version fixed - although it'll more than likely still crash on the mac due to reasons explained above. The WebGL version behaves oddly, sometimes it loads instantly, sometimes it takes a while (like 30 seconds) after the bar has filled. Sometimes a ctrl+refresh moves it along.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:03am

Bad camera has been mentioned a few times - what do people dislike about it? Too fast? Too springy?

The idea was to have it move ahead of the player so you can see more in the direction of travel. Perhaps it does that too quickly? What about jumping, is there too much camera follow there?

Obviously I won't fix this for the jam submission, but would be nice to sort for a post-jam version.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42am

nice one :) I like the style.
One thing though : the camera movements are a bit uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend it for motion-sick people.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:50am

What do people think about fixing the camera on the jam submission? Would this fall under a valid interpretation of the "fixing" submission faq?:

"MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested."

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:56am

Got up to day 11. Does this game go infinitely?

Birke says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59am

I could not get the webplayer to run in Firefox on Windows 8.1

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Love the voxel graphics and animations.
The llama sound is very funny.
The game is quite easy which is something not very common here.

Murchurl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Crashes when I throw a chicken on an enemies head :(

TheCams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

The game looks great, I love the 3D pixel art. It's really fun to play too. "Get off my laaand!"

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Agh, never known Unity to have so many compatibility issues!

All I can suggest to those having issues is to a) try a different browser or b) download the standalone builds if you're on Windows or Mac.

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Funny game and I like the graphics a lot!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28pm

The Camera is way too springy. It pans too quickly. Slow it's movement down and make it smoother.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Made it as far as day 6 - had a lot of fun with this one! Camera made me a bit nauseous (I see now others had the same issue) - particularly when changing directions - but other than, awesome entry!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:13pm

This was so fun to play. I loved the voxel style and how hilariously well thought out the mechanics worked plus I liked how the tempo of the background music starts increasing when more signs are being put up. The only gripe I have however was that the camera tracking was a bit too rough and disorientating at times.

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:23am

Worked for me, although the camera was very glitchy, it would lag behind at random rates and looked really choppy. Didn't really detract from the game, which was awesome.

Great voxel art and fantastic gameplay. Wish it ramped up in difficulty a little faster. I actually didn't realize I could destroy the signs the first try and still thought it was a pretty easy game even then.

Really great though. Loved it.

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:10am

Cute graphics!

dyfer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:06am

Very glitchy camera and the version just crashed but could play for a couple of minutes and it was fun.

reheated says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:19am

Really splendid. Got hooked and played it for ages. The graphics, SFX and speech are really good. I like the way the intensity of the music increases as more signs go up.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:22am

Congratulations, this game has made me laugh the loudest so far out of Ludum Dare. This game is delightfully absurd and wonderfully ludicrous. I think my favorite moment was the first time a pig launched one of the enemies off screen. It was so unexpected I couldn't help but break down in giggles, ending my first play through.

Pros:
-Solid, innovative gameplay
-The sounds were great, just wish I had some light music.
-I was a little hesitant when I saw voxels, but you managed to create an engaging and immersive world! Thank you!

Cons:
-Knocked a point of fun for controls: Jump being B didn't make a lot of sense. I kept hammering the Y button expecting to jump, and wondering why it wasn't working. Also, making sign destruction the same key as animal throwing was a little frustrating.
-Again, a little light music would have been awesome.
-A lack of instructions or menus made me a little unsure of how to play at first.

Over all, this is one of my top picks for Ludum Dare. Great title, and I really hope you do more with this!!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Soo cool!! Voxel-Goat!!! :-) Camera made me seek!
Well done!!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:29pm

This game is Hectic, very hard and fun! And for some reason reminds me of MULE, probably the settler theme.
(Works well as standalone, breaks as webplayer)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:22am

this was an outstanding game - very well done a please sure to play - added to my favorites

BPO_Jeff says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:25pm

lol this was fun, saw it on Noaksey's stream and wanted to try it. Clever concept and lots of polish esp given the time limit! Nicely done!

AsixJin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:54am

Fun game but I got bored pretty quick. Also the jumping felt weird and I think there should be another button to smash the signs since it picks up animals 1st.

May 9, 2015 @ 10:32am

Very nice graphics and mechanic. Had a lot of fun! The camera movement and the jump need more tweaking.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]