Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Stolen Tales

by NightShadow0 - Compo Entry

Fairytale villains are stealing children's storybooks to make them more vulnerable to their tactics. This night, however, they stumbled into the room of a little girl who will have none of that.

Stolen Tales is a beat'em up starring a little girl who uses her plush toy as An Unconventional Weapon. It's very short because time; i might polish it a bit more post-compo.

Controls:
*Directional keys/WASD/ZQSD: Move
*Left mouse button/Spacebar/Return: Attack

Made in Unity 5; all graphics made in Photoshop; music generated in cgMusic + Audition; sounds generated in Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#303Audio3.17
#450Mood3.05
#504Humor2.78
#542Graphics3.07
#745Theme3.12
#770Fun2.80
#770Overall2.93
#992Innovation2.35

Comments

coderkeith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Great intro and nice graphics. Took me a while to work out how to use the umbrella. Didn't manage to stop them eating the pie. Good fun.

Animated says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Interesting mood. The combat mechanics are a little underpowered, but overall, good job. The audio fits the mood well.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31pm

A cute beat'em up? haha great! I got to the witch boss but couldn't beat her. Great game, man!

BlakeB says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Good compo graphics, basic but fun and solid gameplay. A little sparse on the instructions, but not bad overall. Enjoyed it.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:38am

Hahaha :D this is really cute. How the cookie guys flee!
Thumbs up! (Audio: 5/5)

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Don't know if this is cute or creepy, but good try. Maybe more movements could make justice with the idea, but really, it's a nice entry.

jacobturn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

i thought it was very cool

peterfsat says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Cool idea, gameplay feels a little bland though!

Multiplexor says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:49am

I enjoyed a lot hitting the gingerbread cookies! But I really wished they would explode when they died. I also liked that you had an interesting boss fight! Nice job!!

Keep up the good work!

jk5000 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Is a really good and a fun game. Maybe a bit too hard to hit the enemy.

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:20pm

The game was pretty straightforward. Don't know if the lack of movement animations was intentional, but it wasn't necessarily bad.

My biggest suggestion would be use of shadows for projectiles as well and tiling to give the player perspective of where they vs. incoming attacks stand.

Teesquared says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Golden Axe Pajama Party. Good job.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 2:48am

Thanks for playing and rating, everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]