Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hashcon: The Unconventional Convention

by MegaMasterX - Jam Entry

Seems you've made some con-goers pretty angry.
Get out of the convention center before they take you down.
Pick up Dogecoins and Reblogs to become more popular!
Yell at congoers by aiming with the mouse and shouting with the Left mouse button. Pick up powerups to help you wade through the...pit..falls....


(This submission has a few bugs still. Weren't able to hack it out before the Jam ended. Sorry!)

We also included a neat little Easter Egg for the holiday-but-not-holiday today! (April 20) To see it afterwards, change your system time to April 20th ;D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#634Audio(Jam)2.14
#701Humor(Jam)2.48
#856Theme(Jam)2.77
#863Graphics(Jam)2.45
#979Mood(Jam)2.11
#1021Innovation(Jam)1.86
#1049Fun(Jam)1.90
#1081Overall(Jam)2.10
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48am

Funny little game :P I especially enjoyed the ball-pit in the second room. It was a little hard to tell what was going on, with the enemies not disappearing after death and such. Also, right clicking doesn't work so well in the web player :P

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice crisp artsyle! Had a bit of trouble right clicking with the web player setup. Actually firing insults on the enemies is also pretty cool.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

this game barely seemed to work. my attack didn't feel like it did anything aside from freezing the others. Also, picking up the coins and re blogs was a cute idea, but it didn't seem to do anything. The theme is cute, and i like the satirical nature, but there isn't much game here, unfortunately.

idoadler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:05pm

cute drawings, interesting situation.
Right clicking in web-player crashed the game D:

Null DIES says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:25am

I like the character art... design is very nice!!! great job

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:35am

I love how the programmer apologized at the end :) I liked the animations and drawings

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:36am

Right-click to open the doors was pretty difficult to use in the web player, and there were some rendering sorting bugs. I managed to get to the end, but like others said, the shouting attack didn't seem to do too much.

I think it's a novel idea, and the art was interesting though.

Deity says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55am

Cute game, main character reminded me of the Beavis and Butthead show. :)

Controls were smooth but not sure the attack did anything.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55am

Characters looked great!

Somnium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Fun setting, and the controls felt smooth (except for right clicking in the web player). A bit more variety in the types of enemies would have made the game even funnier.

The game crashed in the web player when right clicking. A workaround is to choose to run the game in full screen mode, from the context menu popping up when right clicking. The game can be played normally after that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]