Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ONE _RUDE_ PLANET

by nihilocrat - Compo Entry

You're one _RUDE_ planet! Push all the other planets in the sun and drink their sweet sweet tears (except there are no tears, because they're DEAD, and planets don't have tear ducts anyways!)

CONTROLS:

ARROW KEYS or LEFT STICK to move your planet!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Theme3.71
#420Innovation3.29
#434Graphics3.22
#475Fun3.14
#579Mood2.90
#611Overall3.11
#684Humor2.47
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Zo0MER says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35pm

There would be greate add some boundaries. I just pushed too much from the sun and get lost

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice idea, but planets will slingshot too easily out of the system never to come back.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Wonderful! Some sound effects and a few more levels and it'd be a great game on any platform.

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Hey, super cool!

It's pretty challenging -- easy to get in a really eccentric orbit. I had one of the target planets orbiting *me* for a bit, which was very cool.

I'd love it if there was a visualization of gravity -- color, or field lines, or else a cloud of tiny meteoroids to act like iron filings.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Nice concept!

Notchy13 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Nice but i really missed a restart feature

Chibougamau says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Love it, love the idea! It's hard! It's so nice to play with gravity like that. Small bug: when you start with two planets, take one down and then you crash on the sun: the game does not end. Maybe the game need more polish. Anyway, good game !

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Pretty dang good for only 3 hours.

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

This game is amazingly difficult - but in a good way! I hate how they'll just fly out if you're not too careful, but other than that it's a great game. WTG OP!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Fun nice physicsy game ^_^ I liked the smooth controls. It kind of feels like you're wrestlign with gravity ^_^

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:37am

The concept is interesting and fun, but the gravity wells of the stars and planets are too extreme, easily pushing the plantes out of orbit for good.
Add some sound effects and tweak the gameplay a bit and the game could be awesome!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I like the concept but it is easy to get lost if you fly too far away. Also, when a planet is on an escape trajectory, the game should tell you when it gets too far to reasonably recover it and trigger the loss condition.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:46pm

It is a bit too hard, the planets are easily pushed out of solar system. Although not a totally new idea, I really liked the implementation :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:36am

The difficult to control physics of the planet and indirect way of moving the other planets are great. I feel like I would have played many more levels. A more positive story like building a star might be more appealing... To me at least...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]