Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lightbender

by dylanwolf - Compo Entry

EDIT 4/21: Based on feedback, I've uploaded a separate version with some fixes to the jump mechanics (decreased player gravity, etc.)

You are a superhero with unconventional powers. A magical MacGuffin allows you to imbue light with various magical effects. Use your powers to fight the bad guys and make sure no innocent bystanders get hurt!

Development: Unity 5 (with image effects from Standard Assets), Ludum Dare Resources (https://bitbucket.org/dylanwolf/ludumdareresources)
Graphics: GIMP, Manaspace font by codeman38 (http://www.zone38.net/font/)
Sound & Music: PxTone, BFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#470Theme3.44
#615Humor2.61
#634Graphics2.93
#679Audio2.38
#695Innovation2.89
#714Mood2.73
#770Overall2.93
#933Fun2.52
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

peejaygee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Like the idea behind the game, the jump mechanics are a little wonky, but overall I liked it.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

I tried implementing a fancier jumping system than anything I've done before (jump higher if you hold down/are moving full speed), and I don't think I tweaked all the numbers quite right.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

Burning and freezing criminals under a heat lamp. Definitely unconventional.

insane66 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I kept trying to hit up to jump, trained muscle habit. If you hold space down every 3rd jump I was getting a double jump. Art is very nice. A little challenging to see the hero in the non lit areas (maybe just my monitor).

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29pm

I couldn't reproduce the double jump, but if it detected you're grounded incorrectly (you're near a ledge, etc.), you'd definitely see that happen.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

recursor: I started with the mechanic. Admittedly, once I was well into theming I realized it's way darker than I initially intended.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

As other have mentioned the jumping was bad :(
other than that I really liked the idea
I was also thinking of a scientific explanation of "light bending " :P

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:46am

Graphics are really nice but the physics are kinda whack. I'll check out the post jam version!

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nice game! I liked the lighting and particle effects. Using light as a weapon reminded me of Alan Wake.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:55am

Cool concept, one way to further improve it is to interact with other possible lights, and perhaps put some conditions to activate the special powers. Other than that, nice entry!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:34am

Interesting idea. The jumping, unfortunately, did not feel very good. The sounds effects also were kind of painful to listen to. With some work though I could see this being a pretty good game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:44am

This is really innovative. It combines tower defence thinking with platforming in an interesting way. I like the stacking of multiple powers and its cool to see metal-slug-esque doods to rescue. I think the jumping just needs to be tweaked so that you fall around the same speed that you go up.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:37am

Nice job. Though the game isn't too difficult, I think a life system to avert the one-hit kill and perhaps more aggressive enemies may make this game more compelling.

The core mechanic is very good, though, and further experimentation with the powers, and their acquisition and use, could be enough to make a fully-fledged action game. Good job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:57pm

good idea but changing power is quite frustrating, i 'd have liked to do it with the mouse wheel!

SledKnight says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:04am

Responsiveness is lacking, but interesting concept. Nice art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]