Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Noodly Appendage

by Lerc - Compo Entry

I made a simple version of this as a 12 hour Ludum Dare warmup weekend way back in 2006. I Always thought the idea was worth exploring a bit more and It fit the theme so nicely it seemed silly not to.

You must protect the habitats from the incoming alien forces. Your only weapon is a whip made from arbitrarium crystals. Collect crystals to extend the whip length before engaging the enemy.

This is html-canvas and JavaScript. It seems to be more dependent on the software platform than hardware. I developed using Firefox 37 on WinXP and a fairly old Core2Duo and it runs nicely there. Chrome is a bit smoother for me but slows down a lot when FullScreen.

Developed in Haxe with a JavaScript target, Using the canvas directly rather than using a lib like OpenFL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#306Innovation3.47
#389Theme3.53
#523Fun3.09
#570Graphics3.03
#636Overall3.08
#699Audio2.33
#770Humor2.30
#841Mood2.55

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32am

Great art and a funny "grow noodle" mechanic.

But I couldn't get the instructions so I don't know what to do! "Press any key to start ... press any other key for directions" ?!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:20am

I love the Noodly Appendage as a weapon! The game is super simple to pick up and it feels very rewarding to whip and enemy.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33am

You made me angry ! But nice interpretation of the theme :)

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

Good graphics and good features, but a big laggy with Chrome.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

I have to say that the first minute of the game was kinda intimidating since I didn't know the controls or my goal in the game... But after I got over the very beginning, it was a smooth ride.

The weapon was definitely the high point of the game as it was very intuitive to use. I also found that I was just flailing it around for fun too - not just to kill enemies. I think that's a good indicator of a great video game weapon :)

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:52am

Really cool game.
I couldn't find the instructions so it took me a few minutes to get it.

I like the feeling of the whip.

Howerver it is a bit laggy on my computer.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I have an annoying lag when I am playing this game. In fact, I can't play so as to try your project. What it means? I wait before to rate this entry ++

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43am

Very cool weapon indeed :) I liked how the appendage behaved and controlled, and I got a good degree of satisfaction when I killed an enemy with it. Graphics are all right, sound effects are okay, but the real star is the appendage xD

Good luck!

rojo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:03am

Pretty fun whipping the noodle around. Got a bit framey at times on my version of Firefox (37.0.1), but never totally unplayable. I think some music would be a good addition. Being able to drive / turn faster might be a fun tweak as well. Good job!

Orava says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12am

Curious seeing some of the browser comments. Some say Chrome was slow, some FF.

Personally FF was almost unplayably jaggy at parts, chrome worked alright.

grifdail says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:57am

The control are a bit hard...

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:11pm

I really liked it. it took me awhile to understand what I'm supposed to do, but once i did it was pretty fun! very good job :)

Xenfare says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:17am

Games controls are the same as scroll buttons, makes it borderline unplayable.
Looks really fun, big disappointment. WASD controls would help immensely.

Lerc says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:05am

Game now works with arrow or WASD keys.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:38am

Very difficult to control the appendage. Found it practically impossible to make it past wave 2. I feel like these games work best in comedy or simulations, but as a way of combating enemies, it felt like a poor tool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]