Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Umbrella Man

by Toccio - Jam Entry

People are dying for the heat!
You are the umbrella man, it's your duty to save them!
And how? By selling them your umbrellas, of course!
So go save lifes, make gold, and use it to buy the amazing gold umbrella!

How to play:

Use Arrows to move.
Touch the poor people dying for the heat to sell them your umbrellas,
but be aware of the number of umbrellas that you are currently carrying!
When you run out of umbrellas just go to recharge them in the bottom left corner!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#473Fun(Jam)3.13
#520Audio(Jam)2.74
#522Humor(Jam)2.85
#777Overall(Jam)2.90
#916Theme(Jam)2.59
#927Graphics(Jam)2.13

Comments

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Simple mechanic but overall really fun! Good work.

Kronics says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

This game is frustratingly fun. I wanted to stop but I couldn't. The graphics are are very simple, and it doesn't really follow the theme, but the game has an interesting idea and is very challenging. Overall I really liked it.

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:21am

Nice game :D At first i didn't understand why people wasn't getting the umbrella, then i realized i had to get more cause i sold all that i had xP good job!

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Simple concept but it works well and is surprisingly very fun. Keep going on!

kaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42pm

That's very cute! Like the upgrade system

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nooooo the game crashed at the day 5! Man, the upgrade system is really keeping you focused ont the game, you always want to go further.
Some ideas for other upgrades :
- Moar Speed !
- More time before customers disappear.

Nice one.

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

This is pretty addicting. Nice theme interpretation, not exactly fitting but original! The platforming is a bit floaty though. Lots of fun! Umbrellas left text could be more visible, I didn't see it for a while haha

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Very funny and addictive. Works well. However, the moves, jumps and collisions are reeeeeeally too sluggish. I persevered and bought the golden umbrella though!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Very well balanced gameplay (as far as spawn times and speed) and upgrade system! It took me a while to get used to the jumping controls and physics. You took a very simple mechanic and refined the feel and balance. Good job!

Toccio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I'm really happy that you enjoyed it!
I'm sorry for the bad physics, but it was my first platform since a long time, so i did my best xD!
Love you all <3!

(I know that the number of the umbrellas left is not so visible, but i remembered to add it when the "hud" was already done!)

Catman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49am

Cute game, but make it faster! :D

Toccio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I've uploaded a new version with the jump fixed! Now it's almost like a real jump XP

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04pm

This is a cool basis for an addicting game. I think speeding everything up (player movement and character spawning) would make the whole thing more exciting. You may want to have the player sprite change to accurately reflect how many umbrellas they're holding (or at least show the player holding 0 when they are carrying 0), instead of always appearing to hold one. Nice work!

Toccio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:06pm

It's just that, the umbrella that he is carrying it's his personal umbrella! U__U
However thank you =D

MrMordem says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Nice job!
The upgrade shop is a good idea.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:29am

ayy lmao

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

The enemy is the sun, the weapon is the umbrella. Very cute twist.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20pm

A little slow/floaty movement and jumping. But I had fun for the time I was playing. Good Job!

jprogman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Love how you added names to each customers, heh!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Such a fun simple concept! I really enjoyed playing :D The movement was a bit tricky at times but that can also be part of the challenge.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:45pm

I loved it! Played way more of this little game than any other game added so far! Its tough, but seems to stay at the same pace the whole time, and needs a bit of a speed up as you get more umbrellas to hold. Individual names were a fantastic detail.

Mantlair says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:56pm

had 5000 with some upgrades. Gave up. It was really fun with awesome music but really i can play dota B). Nice simple game. Keep up good work.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:02pm

What a happy game, great work :D

DarkGrisen says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:54pm

this is a Humor 5 star game! XD
They look so simple but also very funny that you almost laugh!

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Pleasant little game. Doesn't quite scale or escalate enough to want to keep playing to the gold umbrella.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]