Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Bard's Song

by aaronjbaptiste - Compo Entry

A Bard's Song

This is a story about a Bard.

Raise morale through the use of drums or perhaps strike fear into your enemies with the war horn!

What song will you play?

============

Instructions:

Left mouse click = Primary skill
Right mouse click = Secondary skill

Press the icons in the bottom right or Number keys or Scroll Wheel = Change Instrument

Each instrument has it's own skill set, managing your cool downs and using all of them effectively is key for success.

~ Flute ~
Primary: Single shot damage
Secondary: Single shot high damage

~ Lyre ~
Primary: Healing beam (press and hold)
Secondary: Heals all allies

~ War Horn ~
Primary: Lowers all enemy defences
Secondary: Speed boost to all allies

~ Drums ~
Primary: Damages all enemies
Secondary: Massive damage to all enemies

============

Troubleshooting:

Problems with Chrome?

Chrome dropped support for NPAPI. A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

============

Tools used:

Unity 5
Photoshop
BFXR
Garage band

============

http://twitter.com/aaronjbaptiste

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#282Fun3.38
#322Innovation3.44
#325Theme3.62
#357Overall3.38
#392Mood3.12
#452Audio2.88
#579Graphics3.00

Comments

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11am

I like this. It's got tactics to it, I haven't quite mastered the game play yet.

iMer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

Very fun, I lost my allies quite quick - they're good to give you time to learn the weapons though

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32am

I like all the different weapons!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33am

I love playing these kinds of games on my phone and you have done it really well. A minor complaint is how boring the background is however easily top marks for the sound. Good use of the topic An Unconventional Weapon as well.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:35am

thats a great idea and after I had learned who was friend and foe, it was really fun, too :-) Really good interpretation of the theme.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

I love this idea of gameplay, really great.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38am

Hooo this on is nice ! Great idea. But I lost my allies quickly and manage to continue alone. The bard should be weaker that this :-)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39am

A very decent game, with a very suitable length and it is in no way too difficult.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

The game is deep. There are many different weapons and skills, and they all contribute to the troop's fighting. Nice!

freaknarf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

I hate bards :) Cool concept anyway ... the flute song is haeeeeem disturbing ? :D

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

I like it very much and have very little to criticize about it.
The only thing that i can see changed is that when going forward you have no "sense of movement" due to the plain background.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04am

Nice work! I liked that it wasn't a straightforward hack-n-slash, but required some quick decisions to be made while playing.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Good game.! I liked the whistle most. Graphics were a bit raw, but it happened to me too. :D

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Really nice game :) It was kinda difficult to heal overlapping allies though.

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Nice take on the theme. Gameplay is sold. The graphics are already quite good, I think. Some graphical details and fighting sounds would make it funnier to play, at least for me.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Lol, all my allies just have died. But I'm a bad-ass bard that can take care of those worthless enemy scumms. Fun game, the graphics could use little bit more detail.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Very original but sometimes its difficult to recognise enemies.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Love the controlls and game idea, this would make a great complete game with more time! Really well done and really fun : well play!!

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Nice game! But I don't have sound effects at all. Good concept.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:30am

It's a little repetitive and too easy. I only died of boredom. But for a LD it's not that bad, the weapons arn't exactly unconventionals though...

aeklad says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Nice game. I'm impressed to see a tactical game made in such a short time. I love the sound and graphics. The way the characters bounce to walk is a great shortcut that actually adds something nice to the game. It's like they are bouncing into battle to have a jolly murder fest.

jovoc says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Great idea. Fits in well with the theme. Cool overall to have an action game where you play as a support. The pixel-art graphics looked really nice, but it was hard for me to tell who was who, need to be clearer who is ally and enemies. Needs more background art to match the characters. Overall, though, really nice and quite a bit of gameplay in there for 48 hours.

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I really loved the game, really. Quite a strategic set of skills, you could feel tactics working all the way while you thought out just how to brush trough the waves of enemies. With more diverse groups of enemies, and maybe with allies respawning every new level and more dynamic kinds of enemies I could easily see this as a great time waster game. I liked the concept a lot great job at it!

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I'm impressed by how well this plays. Definitely up there with the best games I've played this LD.

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:08am

Pretty cool! I like the concept of the support character being the main character. It was sometimes confusing seeing the HP bar flip and look like it was filling for the enemies.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:48am

bass cannon too op, plz nerf

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]