Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional War

by LogicielAllan - Jam Entry

[EN]
Logiciel Allan Presents : Unconventional War.

You are so psychopath that you killed everyone in the world weapon command and have power to every unconventional weapon in the world (Specially the nuclear weapon).

This game first objective is to kill everyone on earth (except you).

But they are some little fun in there (the red buttons).

We are not gonna spoil the game but the game is pretty fun.

Keys : Z,Q,S,D | W,A,S,D to move : E: to use objects , F: Fullscreen , Esc: Quit the game.

Requirement : XNA Framework 4.0 | .Net 4.0

Website : http://logicielallan.fr

Steam Group : http://steamcommunity.com/groups/LesLogicielAllan

Feedback will be appreciated :D

[FR]
Logiciel Allan présente : Unconventional War.

Vous êtes tellement psychopathe que vous avez tuer tout le monde dans le centre de commandement mondiale des armes et avez le pouvoir d'utiliser toutes les armes non conventionnelles dans le monde (spécialement l'arme nucléaire).

Le but premier de ce jeu est de tuer tout le monde sur terre (sauf vous !)

Mais il y'a un peu de fun par là (les boutons rouge).

On va pas vous spoil le reste mais ce jeu est plutôt fun.

Touche : Z,Q,S,D | W,A,S,D pour bouger : E: pour utiliser un objet , F: Plein écran , Echap: Quitter le jeu.

Vous devez avoir : XNA Framework 4.0 | .Net 4.0

Site web : http://logicielallan.fr

Groupe steam : http://steamcommunity.com/groups/LesLogicielAllan

Les avis seront apprécié :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#636Audio(Jam)2.12
#798Humor(Jam)2.26
#853Innovation(Jam)2.43
#893Mood(Jam)2.42
#895Graphics(Jam)2.32
#900Theme(Jam)2.64
#1024Fun(Jam)2.12
#1058Overall(Jam)2.29

Comments

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59am

[+] Ambitious!
[+] Feels like war
[+] Great and catchy tunes as music
[+] Easy to learn, hard to master
* Slowly advance by killing enemies in pits, then your troops replace them when they get there
[+] Make the player learn how to shoot in menu (explode this to start)
[+] Graphics, albeit not very pretty, are clear.

[-] Too much info at first
* Maybe an easier level / wave at first?
* For example, even though I read all the tidbits in the main menu, I didn't realize my troops could take position in a pit until one of my troops did. Game was very hard for me before that.
[-] Sometimes the random generation makes very, very hard maps

All in all, an enjoyable strategy & tower defense hybrid. Loved it! And I managed to beat it :).

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06am

Well, I managed to rate the wrong game by accident...
I'm sorry! I promise I will play this game too!

My rating was meant for this game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=18422

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07am

@Bradur no problem ;)

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20am

Drop nuclear weapons in Europe, then realize when the sirens go off that I'm in France... lol

Movement to the terminal is a bit painfully slow, but other than that it's pretty great. The sirens are good

Parserk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27am

Crashed on startup for me. Im on windows 7

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:31am

@minnouu thanks :)| merci :) !
@Parserk did you have the requirment ?

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42am

Super slow movement and complete confusion. I crawled to a button and pushed it and it said "You died, no surprise :)"

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54am

Doesn't run. Downloads fine but nothing happens when I open Unconventional War.exe ...

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59am

Controls felt a little bit jerky, sounds were a bit annoying, basically execution was not greatest. Overall idea was great, but lacked better execution

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:03am

@mike1101 did you have the requirment and extracted the .zip ?

@Techblogogy we used psychopathic sounds , it is usefull sometimes :P

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13am

The movement could be waay faster and I don't feel any weight to my actions.

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21am

Well, the concept is good, and I like the walking sound. But there is not much than this, as you just die when pressing the button, and you can assign nuclear stuff to continent, but it's not clear what does it make.

phi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

Destroying humanity while moving in slow motion; the concept seems legit. :P
As other commenters have pointed out, the mechanics are quite confusing, especially because there are no clear instructions and no progress is noticeable.
If you rework the UI and polish the whole thing more, this could have some potential.

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:50am

Crashed immediately. Win 8.1

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57am

Soooo. Let's do some math here:
- compo ended ~9 hours ago
- you have a coolness of 67

This means you rated a game every 8 minutes for the past 9 hours, without taking a break, and did so fairly and thoroughly.

Right?

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07am

@ExploitingTheCoolnessSystem did you know that the word "Team" exists ?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13am

Movement is really slow. I pressed two of the red buttons and laughed :) Could do with a tad more audio but a good effort.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17am

This is boring. I don't get the mechanics really. It requires polish, like walking fast and less glitchy movement. It's boring because it's just clicking around without a point, and that's to me pretty boring. I don't get the theme. It's pretty much an ironic game too. Graphics are nice. Audio too.
That said, you managed to make a 3D game in XNA 48 hour, which is to me quite impressive. Any game > no game.

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:25am

@joppiesaus you get it ;) ironic is the word.

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

Any game that lets me kill everyone on the planet but me gets bonus points.

Crashed when first trying to open for me too shrug, but I am persistent and it just worked after that.

Movement was super slow and a little frustrating, but I just imagined I'm a cripple or robot bent on destroying the world in this bunker.

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:03am

:( Lonely mac

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29am

It crashed as soon as I launched it. Win 7 Ultimate x64.

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

@pi_pi3 did you have the requirment ? XNA 4.0 and .Net 4.0 ? did you extract the .zip file ?

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Good concept, a bit faster movement and less jarring sounds would improve this a lot, good effort.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Oh crap this is big. How did you manage to pull it off? Impressive..

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Interesting, fun, ambitious, and a great game all in all. Just needed some tweaking for starting players. I loved this game and will keep it with me for a while.

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

@Flygamer101 happy to hear that ! :D

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42pm

SO LOUD

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Lol, bizarre. is there a button which doesn't kill you?

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Is there a button that does not kill you ?
I found the first screen, clicked randomly and won.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11am

So I managed to kill everyone but myself by randomly clicking on all the regions, but after I walked through the door into the skeleton room I couldn't go anywhere else and the bug door was locked. Seemed like an interesting concept though, I think this could do really well with a good tutorial. Good job overall!

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26am

@calavera & @Marcellus yes , the restart the game button !

@LTPATS it wasn't a bug door , it was really locked and the correct name for the sekelton room is the reunion room ;)
Thanks :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I liked the idea, but not much feedback or consequence for my actions. The red buttons were.. well there :P

Movement was painfully slow- But I think you did a good job on the graphics, especially as an XNA game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Woah! That siren made me jump!

I think you've got a really good concept here, needs a little bit of tidying up but could be pretty awesome

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

keep working on it! nice concept!

Chronodrax says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51pm

audio is painful to hear, movement is too slow, the player is so small compared to the doors, and those should be easy to tweak... Then I didn't understand. Is there anything to do in the game besides either killing everyone on the world map without any real challenge or fun, or clicking on a button that kills you?
If you had written that the game was unfinished or just some tests without any objective, then okay, that's the point of the Ludum Dare, but you wrote "the game is pretty fun"...
Still, the base idea is cool and the mood was there.

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

@Chronodrax argh bad to see that we have not the same definition of fun :(

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14am

Movement is a pain. Dont know where the funny thing is

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:56am

Looks interesting! Too bad crashes immediately on my PC :(

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:36pm

@Pixel Heart did you check the requirment and extracted the zip file ?

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

interesting idea.
the movement is indeed very slow.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Crashed on startup on my windows 8.1. machine, I haven't rated it yet. If you need any details from me, just write me message ;-)

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:32am

@lochmann-apps did you extracted the zip file and have the requirment ?

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Well... this was unconventional hehe
Kinda weird, but I managed to win. I guess.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:58am

Movement was really slow and the footstep audio sounded too loud. Wasn't too sure on what to do besides assign weapons to countries.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:44am

Having problems with control.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Pretty cool :)! Could maybe benefit from some polish/tightening up

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Downloaded the zip folder and my computer says it was a virus... Not sure how you made the game but I'd rather not risk it.

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

@Octopus Melange not a virus at all , what's you're antivirus ?

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Je suis très confondu par ce jeu. Quelle est l'objectif du jeu? Quand je presse les boutons, je meurs. Quand je presse l'écran, tout que je peux faire est assigner un arme pour toute les régions, puis un sirène est activé, et je ne peux rien faire après ce. C'est un idée bon, mais je suis simplement trop confondu pour jouer ce jeu. Mais vous avez fait très bien faire ce jeu dans XNA. Si vous pouvez expliquer ce que j'ai besoin faire, je jouerai de nouveau :)

Aussi, j’espère que vous pouvez comprendre mon français. Je suis un étudiant américain, dans mon année troisième de français!

LogicielAllan says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:17pm

@TheMaster99 il n'y a rien a faire , ce jeu n'a pas d'autre objectif que d'exterminer le monde | they are nothing to do , this game has no other objective than exterminate everyone in the world ! [if you want more info tell us ;)]

tomhunt says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:49am

Looks fun, but unfortunately I do not have XNA installed or an OS that supports it.

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Cant run the .Exe File

LogicielAllan says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:58am

@block97 did you check the requirment and unzip the file ?

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:37am

I don't really understand it
So the point of the game is to drag weapons to the continents and then press the button?..
I don't see a game here honestly, and the ending here is really strange too

NuvlearGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:52am

I dont really get the game but I am sure I missed something well done either way

w1n5t0n says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:05am

Interesting

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]