Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Expand-O-Ray

by GaTechGrad - Compo Entry

Controls
Move: Left/Right Arrow or A and D keys
Jump: Space
Shoot: Left Ctrl or Right mouse click

Google Chrome Users:
Firefox https://www.mozilla.org
Opera http://www.opera.com/
Download the desktop version from GameJolt

Twitter: http://twitter.com/GaTechGrad
Facebook: http://facebook.com/LeviDSmithSoftware
Web: http://levidsmith.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Audio3.50
#450Humor2.88
#461Innovation3.24
#543Mood2.94
#554Graphics3.05
#620Overall3.10
#634Theme3.24
#760Fun2.81
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Fun game, I like it

peejaygee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

Had to download the full windows version, as I'm having issues with Unity Player at the moment, was enjoyable, only thing I didn't like was the jump mechanics, I was getting stuck against the wall sometimes.

insane66 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I got stuck halfway up a wall a couple times, then stuck on the growing stairs level (fell through and there was no way to get back to the other side of the stairs. Overall pretty good.
I got something turned in, not bad for my first go at a game and unity I guess (simple stuff is so hard, when you don't know). Jacob had his done in record time.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49pm

The 3D modeling and lighting is really impressive, and it's a good take on the theme.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Thanks for playing!
Splazer - Thanks for the playthrough video
Jeffry - I will check out your game after work today. Looks really good for a first time game.
Paul - Thanks. There is something weird in the Unity engine that keeps you from falling if you hold down the movement key. I'll try to look into it if I get the chance.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Thanks Dylan. I used Sculptris this time for the robot head and body, then I switched over the Blender after realizing how difficult it is to make cylinders in Sculptris.

TajamSoft says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Fun game!
Had a few problems with the controller, like getting stuck on walls.
The graphics are simple, and they fit perfectly the game art style. Maybe textures could have some more work, as sometimes, you can notice how they tile.
The audio fits the game perfectly too!

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Well done. Only dislikes were getting stuck to the walls and shooting towards the camera. Thank you for the voice audio that was awesome and refreshing.

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Cool game! First off, loved the robot. Great job modeling him. I also loved the Star-trek-y kinda voice that gives you instructions on how to do stuff. Audio art and game play (though it is kinda easy) work great for what they are suppose to do.

The one problem I had, which is certainly a result of the 2-day time limit, is the glitches that didn't really seem all that hard to fix. Namely, the last level has such a long walk and the wall ends that it feels like you just glitched into an area that you weren't suppose to go to. Also, the wall-hanging Unity problem never got enough attention (I spent hours trying to fix this, you need to put an object in front of the character, and check if he intersects with a wall, and then not let the player move forward if this is the case). Finally, the camera getting stuck in the ceiling got kinda annoying after like the second time it happened. What you could have done is just not make the level come out as far as it did, so the camera would have just been looking at the edge of the block, instead of being inside it.

That feels like quite a big list of complaints, but take it lightly! You made a great game, and with just a few more hours put into it, it would have been nearly perfectly polished and much more professional! Nice Job!

th4t says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Really cool game.

The robot is adorable and the voice-over ist hilarious.

Like the others I found the getting-stuck-in-walls-thing a little annoying. I would also like some way to restart the level. And maybe add some less blocky stuff for variation ;)
This mechanic could really be used for some great puzzles.

Good work :)

recursor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice job on the robot model and accompanying animations.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

The idea and the concept is really good. If the game become polished, so I could certainly well consider playing it again.

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Good game. I like the idea to physically alter your environment very much and it feels like it has potential. The controls, or more specifically, the physics of the robot was a bit funky. The ability to get stuck to vertical features due to the friction of the rigidbody seemed to not fit the expectations. I would opt for removing the friction completely and instead decay velocity as soon as the player lets go of the horizontal axis. I played it to the end and it also felt like the stages were lacking in puzzle design or enemies or count down timer or something. It was a bit too straight forward. For the gun, if the resizable block don't allow for stacking several shots, it'd be great with some feedback (i.e. animation) that indication transition and readiness besides just the size change. Don't get me wrong. It was a good game and I had fun playing it.

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:43am

I loved the mood of this game. Whoever did the voice-work sounded like they had a lot of fun. The visuals did their job. It was a pretty fun game, and I could see this evolving into a very engaging, wholesome experience!

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Great entry.
I feel like the game would gain a lot from having expanding and shrinking as two separate abilities instead so you couldn't figure out what to do just from looking at the color of the blocks. Might encourage more experimentation from the player.
Solid for work a one-man entry. Especially the robot's animation.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:45am

@Flayk - Thanks. I did all of the voice work for the game, plus some modifications in Audacity.

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Haha, loved the robot. Cool animation. My only complaints would be that the robot wheels animated the opposite direction I was moving, which was distracting, and I kept sticking to the walls. Overall, not bad. Nice little entry, and I made it to the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]