Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TeleMage

by ProjectX593 - Compo Entry

Meet Telemage, that one guy at wizard school who always has to be the best. He learned the most difficult spell there is - teleporting! Unfortunately he forgot to learn literally ALL the rest of the spells... which might have been kinda useful when he shouted 'SCREW IT' and sprinted into the nearest monster filled dungeon.

Kill enemies with only a spell that swaps your position with that of an enemy - crush them with traps and even their own attacks!

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Click to fire a teleport bolt in the direction your cursor is pointing.
ESC - Quit the game on the desktop version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Innovation3.91
#100Theme3.98
#231Overall3.55
#236Fun3.47
#406Graphics3.29
#623Audio2.53

Comments

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

very innovative idea, I liked the mechanics and the art. Awesome!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31am

The game crash... this is the message that show when execute this.

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very nice mechanic. It was fun trying to make them hit each other. Good job.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47am

Very interesting mechanic!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57am

That was really really fun. It took me a few tries for the mechanics to click for me, but once I started to exploit the enemy movements it became super enjoyable. Great stuff.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00am

Interesting concept! The environment is a bit easy to use to your advantage though.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15am

I think the mechanic of having them hit each other when you teleport is very well thought out, as evidenced by your inclusion of a nice slow tell before their attack.

However, I found it frustrating that I was able to effectively get myself trapped within the corner areas once I was teleported inside of them after disposing of the nearby enemies.

Great game!

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49am

Good game with indirect damage. Greets

greg-anims says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Really good. Art fits. mechanic works well. Being able to just lure orcs into flamejets through the chasing dampens the mechanic a little bit. I got to stage 3

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

To put yourself in danger only to swap with an enemy,
get an enemy to charge a hit on you only to swap with his ally,
to have a mage cast a fieball at you only to swap yourself with him so he hits himself (in the face) with his own firball. Brilliant idea.
Level design was a little simplisic. Diddn't realise doors were doorways at first.
Graphics were pretty simple.
Not a lot of audio (no music).
Dorway positioning was a little strange led to a tackic of just standing opposite side of the wall and letting them get hit by the flame.

Would enjoy a dungeon crawler wiht this mechanic :)

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Awesome controls, mechanics, graphics, and enemy design :D
Most fun I've had so far :)
The sound effects were a bit loud, but that's a pretty minor critique. I would say this just needs a bit more variety in the level and traps, but overall a solid A

LethalyGuy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Awesome game, man! I simply loved the game mechanic! =P

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Neat idea and very challenging! Graphics are well done but sound is a bit lacking without a soundtrack. Still, quite enjoyable!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

AWESOME IDEIA! Cool gameplay and mechanics =D

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

Very nice, dude!!! I liked the smooth movement of the player. Good job!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

Teleporting as a weapon to do indirect damage is such a good idea! You nailed the theme perfectly and this feels pretty innovative to me. Graphics are great and overall just a really good game. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

Very innovative and good gameplay

Skulls says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:14am

I like that to hurt enemies you need to put yourself in danger and swap with them. Great idea that was executed well.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Really interesting mechanic! Took a while to get a hang of, but it was really rewarding once I did; love setting the baddies up for a big hit and then swapping out with another guy. I think this could be expanded into a longer project

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

18kills!
really strong entry, the art style fit very well the game as well as the sound. the gameplay is very entertaining and innovative. really like it :)

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

really liked about the idea of only changing the place you are with the enemys :P

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44am

Funny synopsis of the story behind the character. I jumped headfirst into the dungeon and didn't read the controls til after I played; kinda like the character! I did that intentionally though, just to see how the game felt without knowing anything. I got the hang of the mechanic and indirectly damaging the opponents after realizing what was going on with the teleport bolts. Very nice take on the theme. Fun game!

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

Awesome! Loved the Gauntlet-like aesthetic. Very fun to play++

tikilittle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25am

Telemage sounds like I'm going to get a call from one of these mages that is going to give the best alchemy sets on this side of the Moon. I like the concept. It was challenging. I couldn't always move, shoot, and aim at the same time.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43am

This was a neat take on the theme, and a rather challenging puzzle. I like the pixel art style.

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28am

Cool, mechanic, it was a lot of fun to mess around with. The graphics were really nice too. Great job :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:21am

This is neat. Great use of the theme. I found jumping positions quite sudden. I think its the way the camera jumps. Maybe if the camera smooth damped over instead of being locked to the hero it would be less jarring. Perhaps you tried this. In any case its a great effort and its fun to play and think about.

pkenney says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:28am

Interesting mechanic, I had fun learning the ropes! Nice art and sound, too.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very good take on the theme!

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:35am

Perfect scores down the board, this is so good. Really REALLY well executed.

Btw, found your game on a list with mine, proud to be on that list even if I don't really understand what it says. https://www.indiemag.fr/forum/lactu-inde-reagissez/t4389-ludum-dare-32-unconventionnal-weapon-partagez-vos-jeux

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

combat mechanics were very well done! Took a bit to figure out but man...this is really good.

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Interesting concept, but the enemies really should have more of a survival instinct :P. Especially the wizards we're easy to dispose of by teleporting them to the flames. I have to admit that I died a few times trying to do that though, after missing the teleportation bolt.

The aesthetic and gameplay is good and like already mentioned an (ambient) background song would've pushed the mood even further. Got to 40 kills on my best try, but I guess I played way too aggressively overall.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:51am

Very solid game. Interesting mechanics with a nice mix of tactics and actions. Well done.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:25pm

great idea, but needs polishing...for example enemies are stupid (sometimes cant find route to you)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

nice use of the theme. Really liked the way you had to put yourself in danger at time to get that teleport kill happening. Very clever entry.

VDZ says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:21am

Amazing game. Contains surprising amounts of depth once you start playing it; though easy to start playing, this will definitely take a long time to master - even in my fourth playthrough I was discovering new things and making countless mistakes.

The level design of the first level is brilliant. (Only got to the second level once and died shortly after, so I can't say much about that one yet.) The flamethrowers are both useful as a weapon against enemies and at the same time lock you in the corners at unfortunate moments. The corners themselves play very well with the teleportation mechanic; you can use them to fight an enemy without others bothering you, you can use them to isolate enemies, and the way enemies get stuck there is extremely helpful for position management. Enemy designs likewise play well with the teleportation mechanic; their attacks are both dangerous and abusable.

Graphics were nice and clear but not spectacular. Sound was functional and gave good feedback, but sfxr beeps never sound nice. Music would've been a great addition.

Minor things that bothered me: After you die, you don't get to see your score. It really would be great if after every game I could see whether I beat my previous score or not. Also, death is very sudden; there's no death animation or sound, it just cuts to a black screen all of a sudden. Slowly showing your death would cause it to have more impact and leaves the player a moment to go 'nooooooooooo', while also letting you figure out what exactly killed you.

But those are minor nitpicks. This game is amazing and I'll definitely have to play it some more.

Will you be making an updated version of this?

shimage says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:29am

Great game! I really enjoyed. I like that a mage damaged by a own fireball.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

@VDZ - At the moment I don't have plans to continue with this game. I've got a large project I'm working on in my spare time and I really want to stay focused on that. I might change my mind though, you never know!

Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I love this mechanic, very interesting use of theme. Great job.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:42pm

We had a similar approach on the weapon use. Really nice entry, loved the art and the mechanics you implemented. Nice job mate, an awesome example on how to iterate. Not a huge fan of the sfx though. Kudos

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]