Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crump Rush

by OnlySlightly - Jam Entry

**An updated Post Jam version has been made available below (Same gameplay just with some annoying kinks with the browser and your cursor removed)**

NOTE: Not recommended for track pad users.
To see your times on each level look at the level select. You can reach it by either completing the game or pressing ESC or Q.


Crump Rush is a speed running physics game. In Crump Rush your weapon gives you the mobility you need complete each level as quickly as possible. Use it's magnetizing capabilities to throw yourself and destroy the ground beneath you to propel yourself across the map.

Compete against the developer by beating his times.

Here's a playthrough
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yEQqeg8X10

CONTROLS:
WASD - Movement
Left Click - Magnet
Right Click - Laser
Q or ESC - Return to Level Select
R - Retry

Credits go to Zack Davidson (www.zackcomposer.com) for composing the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Fun(Jam)4.24
#28Overall(Jam)4.07
#90Audio(Jam)3.79
#104Innovation(Jam)3.80
#373Graphics(Jam)3.57
#401Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

Interesting, but also like real hard. Great fun as always.

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56am

The challenge was great! Blasting and swinging around was a bit hard but awesome when I did it. Loved the sounds and music though, they suit well. Thanks for putting the time in to put a tutorial in!

zillix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

I'm super impressed by this! The mechanics work really well and the levels are well designed. Great work :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Hard, but extremely fun.

speakupgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

This has been one of my favorites so far! Loving the concept. It actually felt like a balanced difficulty for me. By the end I was wishing the mechanics had been put together for a boss fight.

jmborden says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

Freakin' Awesome game dude! Had a blast playing this entry.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

Coooool. Physic and game control are neat !

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

very funny

klbrazil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

great gamee!!!!!! nice mechanics and physics :D

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02am

Had a blast playing your game! I love the mechanics, animations and feeling of the controls. I will definitely keep playing this! Awesome Job!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Interesting concept, really fun game, but I couldn't hear the music. Was I the only one to have this problem?

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

Good game and great mechanics! I like how there are different approaches on how you can get the orb. Difficulty is nice also :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

@DaGamesta it could be the music taking too long to load. Do you get the same problem when you visit this link? http://onlyslightly.itch.io/crump-rush

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14am

Well holy shit, I must say

Great music, art, and gameplay. It all ties together really well: The fast paced music really sets the mood and urgency (mainly to beat your time).

overall, sweet.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Wow beautiful work! The physics handled just as expected and when I died it was only my fault. Great mechanics. Great Artwork. Great Challenge. Good Level design!

Hectate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Nice little game. If you spent a little bit of time making it all smoother you could have a great game for speedrunning competition. Thanks!

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Awesome ! difficulty curve well balanced. blowing blocks is quite difficult to use. Great entry !!

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:24am

Love the music. Super difficult, as one would expect with this type of game. I don't have the coordination to click the green orbs fast enough, but I like the concept enough.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Fun game. We came up with similar mechanics, but you actually made a good game out of yours. Nicely done.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:31am

Very nice! I was just barely able to complete it. Loved the mechanics, they were well done and well polished.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:18am

I really like the idea of building the levels and mechanics specifically for speedrunning. This game is crunk off the hizzy yo. Cump cump.

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very fun game and challenging! The audio fit really well. I laughed a bunch at all my stupid deaths. I liked how there was many was to obtain the orbs in each level. Very well done! :D

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:47am

Very cool! Very fun game!!!

Firaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:34am

This was pretty good. I really liked how colorful the grappling effect was, and it was fairly challenging. I only managed to beat the developer times on stage 5 and 10 (through judicious use of the laser). The magnet/laser felt really good to use. Good work!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

@Firaa oh wow. I actually didn't expect anyone to be able to beat my times, let alone 5 of them!

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12am

Great game!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:37pm

@Firaa I just realized I read your comment too fast. Two is still amazing though!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

interesting gameplay

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Incredible entry. Not a bad word to say about this one, top marks all around. Kept me playing for over an hour to beat the dev times :)

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:37am

This game is freaking fantastic. Really well-done!

My only complaint is that it's hard to click on the green balls while moving - maybe if there were an in-game cursor whose game-field position stayed in place while the character moved off (until it hits the edge of the screen anyway), it would be easier to grab? But then I suppose mouse-grabbing's a problem for the most part in web games... And it helps that the actual gamespeed is slow enough to usually give me time to grab stuff (unless that's just my computer, heh)

It doesn't seem like it fits the theme very well, though... I mean, repulsor/rocket/attractor is a common enough theme in 2d platform games I think. But still loads of fun!

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:17am

This game is great, only complain is that it seems a bit laggy sometimes, but it's not to the point that it makes it any less fun.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very visceral game. Nice foundation to build a variety of different challenges. Looks and plays great too. Good job.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:36am

Wow, really nice game mechanics you have made here! Congrats! :)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Good game, i liked the mechanics and is a funny game. good job! ^^

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great entry! Music works very nice. Some things I didn't enjoy: The self propulsion by explosion was definitely finicky and didn't behave how I wanted. The death sound was really loud and abrasive. It would have been easier on the eyes to have the screen fade in and out after dying. Last, the difficulty spiked up when you introduced the blades. The level of precision needed in that first blade level felt too high compared to the lack of precision needed with the earlier levels. That being said, I still really enjoyed myself and like this game a lot!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

Very cool game! I loved how some levels could be solved multiple ways.

Awesome job!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

Damn, you guys nailed it! This is super Meat Boy on magnets, really great game. This is something that could easily become a commercial game. Congratulations!

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

Very meat-boy-esque. I wasn't quite sure how to use the lasers effectively, and I was getting some weird slowdown, but overall a really cool and fun game!

Larry says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I also think it's great. It was hard at first, but I try to use the laser whenever possible. It didn't seem to keep track of total time for me. I never felt the need to skip a level, but I understand why it's there.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Awesome! The mechanics are great and the speed run element makes it really fun. Would love to see this keep going

Split82 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Awesome stuff. Great job!

martymon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

That was a great game! Love the mechanics. 5/5 for fun!

Tortoise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Really fun and nice clean mechanics. it lagged a few times when using the weapon though.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

The idea is very good! Sound is also not bad.
Better graphics would be nice. Also, these levels are too easy for me. :D

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52pm

The idea of using speedrunning weapon jumping as the main mechanic is really cool. It would be nice if the movement felt less sluggish.

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:54pm

There were a few little quirks, but I think this is the best "hardcore" platformer I've played for LD. The sound and music fit great, the difficulty was spot on, and tracking user and developer times added a big oomph to the replay value for what's an (understandably) short game. Very nicely done!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I like this game a lot. There are a few performance problems with the magnet but other than that really fun.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:30am

This was a great play. :) Had a good time. At first I was wondering why the mouse buttons were set up the way they were, but as I got going and realized the mistake I was making it picked up pace. Cool stuff. Very Meat Boy. :)

Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:34am

Cool idea, well executed. However, it's WAY to hard. I couldn't get past one of the first levels with the saws. Overall, well done.

siryakko says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:25am

Really great game!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:34am

Really nice game ! Good game design in there I can see... Some people seem to think it was too hard, I didn't. Maybe make sure that we remember the right clic thing, I see that as easily forgettable.

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:41pm

This is a good idea. With some polish, more levels and some story with enemies, it would make a great game. Stop whatever you're doing right now and make a full game out of this!

ftvs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very impressive. Interesting idea and execution, solid level design. Difficulty was ok for me.

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Wow, awesome game. Fun 5/5, by the way, I think it doesn't fit the theme.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:29pm

I played the web version hosted at itch.io, which doesn't seem to record your high scores to display on the level select screen. I'll have to secretly know that I beat one of the developer times. =)

I had a problem where the HTML5 build didn't seem to consume key repeats properly, so they'd fall through to the browser and trip my typeahead find box, taking focus away from the game. It only happened when keys were held down, not if they were repeatedly tapped. Maybe there's some setting in Game Maker where you have to define what keys it should eat? In Javascript you solve it by calling .stopPropagation() and .preventDefault() on the key event objects.

The attraction beam to the circles looks great, and the physics feel good. The character feels like it has weight, which is nice. The environment tiles and the character sprite look very good, too. I like how you can destroy the anchor circles with your gun.

Playing on a webpage, it was pretty easy to overshoot the edge of the screen and wind up clicking or right-clicking on the surrounding page. The camera could be zoomed out just a little more for that environment to make the buffer wider.

Like most of your games, it feels good to play. I can see where you could get really good flow through some of those levels. I had a few satisfying moments where the attraction gun applied just enough force to arc over a spinning sawblade toward the goal.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Amazing Game! Take me some time to figure out how to proper use left and right mouse buttons to move through the level, but, man, it's incredible (and hard, as well :p)

Good job!

spin-down says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I can tell you put a lot of work into this and it shows! Great gameplay and mechanic with the magnet/laser gun was a brilliant idea. It lagged a little for me in places but was still playable. The level layouts were also well done.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really liked the swinging mechanic, fun game with great graphics.

murilo says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:53pm

This is one of my favorites! Really good mechanics and gameplay! The music was nice and the simple graphics fit well too. Great job man!!

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:42am

That was pretty good. I am on a track pad, so I had to be a bit tricky to finish the game, but I managed!

This was a fun little game. Felt a bit short, though. (I know, 72 hours isn't very long to develop.)

Keep up the good work!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:11am

Wow very solid! both abilities felt great to use. at first i didn't like the platformer physics but after i played they fit the game. i beat some of your times(by lasering everything): level 1, 1.72, level 2, 3.04, level 3, 2.93, level 8, 2.53

hexdie says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very nice game! I found that I got hooked and I'm a bit disappointed that's over. I can definitely see this being expanded upon. It'd be really cool if you took some inspiration from Dustforce on this one, with big levels where you never touch the ground. Very nice work all around!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:45am

Really nice! I liked the music and art, and the physics were smooth. For some reason, I felt a little claustrophobic with the scale of the art - wished I could zoom out more - but that might have been by design! I'd love to see this expanded on. Good job!

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:50am

Short but tough game. Love the challenge. I like how I can destroy blocks and make short cuts.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:35pm

3.06
I win :)

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I liked this. It was a very good idea to include the developer's best times on the level select screens. Make it interesting to replay level and find the best way to complete them. Well done!

May 3, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Very nice!

The movement is good and fluid, but the controls are a bit frustrating. It would be nice if there were more tolerance for clicking on the green balls and/or you could just right-click in a direction to fire instead of having to click on the actual block.

Btw, I couldn't get the post-jam version to run. It was just a black screen.

eastes says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:56am

I've rated 25 games so far and currently, you're winning with gameplay. Very enjoyable. Reddit sent me. Would love you to see my reddit post and game with my Ridiculous Bird Hunting compo entry.

PS. Music is still playing from your game. Love it.

JenniNexus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:29am

Wonderfully engaging physics mechanics & just the right amount of challenge - w/ good music!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Super fun! Reminded me of Super Meat Boy in terms of difficulty, which is good :) Also, the block laser is freakin awesome! One of the most fun entries I've played so far!

freaknarf says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:35am

Argggggggggh the game seems nice and sweet to speedrun, but controls are a bit weird at first,and as i'm on a french keyboard i keep restarting when using "q" instead of "a", so i've just ragequit ! but i made hight score on first level after multiple unwanted restarts ahaha :] cool...

jukimv1986 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:30am

Great concept, very well executed! The difficulty increases swiftly, it is a real challenge, but one feels they lose because of lack of ability, as the controls are very good. Great job!

May 8, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Really fun gameplay and audio, freaked out when I got to the sawblades.

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:05am

Solid, super-fast game only ruined on my computer due to frame drops. I'll never beat your time at this performance rate!

Lame complaints aside, I really like how organic the attractor and blaster felt. I think the ground controls could have been less slippery, and the right clicks didn't seem to react properly on my computer. Still, a very fun game!

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Jump physics are slightly too floaty but I loved the mechanics for both the magnet and laser and how each level actually puts both of them to great use.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]