Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Color Elementals

by Kalkatos - Compo Entry

Color as a Weapon, an unconventional one.
In this game you must combine colors to turn enemies into white to destroy them.
Must combine in Red/Green/Blue (RGB) scale.

Key: U turn on RED;
Key: J turn off RED;
Key: I turn on GREEN;
Key: K turn off GREEN;
Key: O turn on BLUE;
Key: L turn off BLUE;

Enemy YELLOW (R+G) --> attack with BLUE = WHITE.
Enemy PINK (R+B) --> attack with GREEN = WHITE.
Enemy CYAN (G+B) --> attack with RED = WHITE.
Enemy RED --> attack with CYAN (G+B) = WHITE.
Enemy GREEN --> attack with PINK (R+B) = WHITE.
Enemy BLUE --> attack with YELLOW (R+G) = WHITE.
Enemy WHITE --> attack with BLACK.
Enemy BLACK --> attack with WHITE.

Linux and Mac versions were not tested...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#153Innovation3.74
#372Theme3.56
#488Overall3.24
#570Graphics3.03
#702Fun2.88

Comments

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I should probably have read the text before playing. Whatever, figured it out on my own XD
Nice idea of opposing colors like that.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28pm

simply amazing

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Interesting concept! Since I work as a colorist on my day job, I didn't have much trouble figuring it out, but I think the complexity involved is a little too steep for newcomers. I mean, switching your own color correctly can be quite stressful, but then also thinking of how to mix the complementary color of a foe to make it white can be a little too much, in my opinion.
How about instead of having to turn enemies white, having to turn them black. The first wave could be composed of just enemies in primary colors in order to get a hang of switching on and off, and then mixed colors in the higher levels. And only THEN having players to bring an enemy's color to a certain value. But that's just me.

Sound would have been nice (I'm thinking something alon the lines of REZ ;) and the background-animation is trippy. Overall a very nice and interesting concept, keep it up!

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07pm

You are right. I admit I had trouble figuring out the right colors to kill the enemies myself during testing.
And I am a bit ashamed that I didn't think on having the player turn the enemies into black, instead of white, to simplify the game a little. And the whole methaphor of black meaning death and such. Really makes more sense. I will change that if I ever work on this project again.
Thanks for the feedback! Really appreciated.

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Also, I laughed at "trippy" backgroud! :DD

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Hey you're welcome :) Sometimes a perspective from outside of development is just the thing you need when not sure about certain things (at least for me). Keep it up and see you next LD ;)

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Love the graphics. I was terrible at playing but that's probably just because my color skills are weak :)

EvilTroopa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

My game has exactly the same color mechanics... We're not so original after all!

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Looks like we came to the same book on the same shelf on the same library at realm of the ideas. Lol

rantt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:52am

The color mechanic is interesting and educational. Took me a while to learn the patterns, so as a color newb I found it hard. Graphics were really nice. Fun game, good job :)

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:53am

Very interesting concept. Starts out a bit slow but very fun once it gets going. The control scheme for setting your own color is a bit difficult - it might be easier to just have three keys toggle the channels.

6x13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

I loved the mechanics idea and execution is pretty good. The character art is really nice as well. But it felt way too hard in the beginning. Also IMHO it would be better without the trippy background.

tughan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I liked the idea however, the pace felt too slow for me. Personal thing of course.

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I got 47. Bit daunting at first, gets better the more you play.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:05am

The control scheme could have been better. I always switched all colors off, so i could start from scratch with the next color.
My suggestion would be to use 3 buttons with black as default and switch on the channels only, if you are holding the button down.

Lots of people seem to use this inverse color mechanic in some way, but this is the best implementation so far (for me at least)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:15am

Really cool concept. I had fun scrambling for the right colors. And I felt like I actually learned something :) I liked that even if you didn't use the right color you could still try to turn the color they turned into white. That was fun. Great job!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:16am

Interesting idea on the mechanic, but I got a bit hung up on what to do after changing color. I didn't realize you were supposed to shoot them and instead tried to give them a body smash.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]