Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Raid

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

THIS GAME IS ONLINE ASYNC AND MORE FUN WITH FRIENDS. ASK YOUR FRIENDS TO WAR WITH YOU OR AGAINST YOU!

Rude Bear Raid is the 9th game in the Rude Bear megaseries (and the 8th one in Ludum Dare).

This game is an online multiplayer asynchronous war game between Bears and Boars.

There are six classes to play as.

Your aim is to storm the enemy base and clamber into the core to get one of their precious points.

You'll have to face the Guardians of your online opponents though. Press x at any time to deploy a Guardian, and with it leave a hilarious message about how your team is vastly superior to your opponents.

To get through the base you have to capture rooms, by placing Guardians in them. Then, you must battle your opponent's Guardians together to win. There are 6 types, 1 for each class.

You are the weapon. (And also you have some pretty gross weapons like faeces. And bacon).

Classes (which take this form):

NAME

Mobility: How fast you move
Primary weapon: What its effect is
Guardian: What stuff is


------------------------------------------------

TEAM UNLIMITED RUDENESS (Rude Bear and Co):

BACONSTORM

- Standard mobility.
- Trigonometric bacon rifle: Assault rifle fires in waves and bounces.
- Baconbot: A hunter that seeks boars. Follows them round and fires bacon at them.


GOURMET CHEF:

- Limited Mobility, slower and less jumping.
- Supercharging Hamspoker: A death laser. Hold down click for long enough and you can fry up some boars.
- Pork Roaster: A spitroast of death lasers. A spinning death laser.


MENTAL RELAPSE:

- Swift Hunter Reflexes, faster moving, you can launch yourself in the air by shooting down just after you jump too.
- Psychic Truthballs: No one can avoid the truth. These explode into even more truth.
- Glorious Protector: A golden statue of Rude Bear which sends out glorious protection balls which protect other units (and can make waterfalls of death).

---------------------------------------------

INFINITE RADNESS SQUAD (Rad Boar and Co.):

LUDDITE:
- Swinelike Mobility. You run like a pig.
- Machine Maiming Magnum. This giant bullet from your trusty revolver will go right through any other bullets and do large damage.
- Anti-Bacon Beacon. For anyone with the audacity to use bacon, this floating turret throws up food remains.


TABLE MANNERS:
- Limited Mobility. You're holding a big gun.
- Leftover Scattergun. This gun fires rotten food morsels.
- Morsel Missile Launcher. This Bear-Seeking Missile Launcher will home in on Rude Bear with biological warfare and fire off old food.


HAMDEMIC:
- Bubonic Hovering. This unit can run and fire at the floor to hover around.
- Swine Flu "Vaccinator". Swine Flu follows you round and can be used as a shield, you can fly around with it, and you can edge around and take out units.
- Well Hidden Trap. This machine fires faeces missiles at anyone who happens to come too close to it. Extremely dangerous.

Controls:
WASD (and DVORAK/AZERTY equivalents): Walk.
Space: Jump, and you can walljump up walls.
X: Deploy a Guardian.
Left click: Fire.
Mouse: Aim and pan the camera.
Typing: Leave hilarious messages for your opponents.


-----------

Code/Design: Alex Rose
Graphics: Kitt Diamond (Bears/Backgrounds) and Simon Wong (Boars/Foregrounds)
Music/SFX: Atmospherium

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Innovation(Jam)4.19
#69Overall(Jam)3.91
#112Graphics(Jam)4.18
#126Fun(Jam)3.67
#147Audio(Jam)3.62
#178Humor(Jam)3.55
#312Mood(Jam)3.35
#803Theme(Jam)2.91
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

Sweet game! Really cool technology you have at work here, and I love that it's a multiplayer game you can essentially play on your own XD

denycetm says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

Looks great runs smooth and well paced. Took me a minute to encounter another person but when we did it was cool.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Yeah that's the joy of being around at the beginning. It'll hopefully pick up in a bit.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Suck on it Alex, I beat you and sheep. But for real, this is amazing! I love that you have basically made a new genre and keep iterating on it. This feels so new and fresh and it's also executed superbly. It's not just some gimmick, I mean you also have that you can't see how much health you have left, so have to make this choice between turning into a trap or continuing with the chance of dying and not being able to set a trap anymore. I love this choice it's so meaningful to me! The art and music obviously come well so together too, I don't have much to say on that part.
But then I'm not to fond of the level design. I feel like that there are some different paths you can choose from, but they will always come back to the same choke point. This way the game becomes a bit of a tug-of-war and leaves less room for tactics. There are still plenty of ways to outsmart your opponent(s), but I still fell like this is a missed opportunity.

Anyway, cheers, you made something awesome and I had a fun weekend listening to your accent on skype lol.

blay09 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Just played this for more than an hour with a few other people. It's extremely fun and addictive when you're in a group. Will definitely play again.

Graphics looking very neat, game feels polished, music is nice and doesn't get annoying. This is just insanely good and an amazing accomplishment for a jam like this.

Protip: Get your friends in a Skype call so you can taunt each other verbally too. ;)

Jojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Really fun game! Played it against the dev and his friends for a while, it got quite tense.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

i dont have friends but still enjoyed leaving messages!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Very polished game as usual from you guys. The asynchronous multiplayer stuff is clever, and ambitious for a jam game. Fun stuff indeed!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:42am

You ROCK! Really great work. So incredibly POLISHED. So rocktactular.

VDZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:25am

Is it just me, or does Sheep's Anti-Bacon Beacon spam completely kill the game? It doesn't look like Team Bear can get destroy the beacons or get past it in any way, so there's not really much to do on Team Bear.

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Mate I can't believe you made an asynchronous multiplayer game. I had a quick go - graphics are amazing but I need some players to play with!

VDZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

So when are people usually online?

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:39am

I'm currently at A Maze in Berlin and because I haven't rated any games yet or posted about this there's very few players unless we play in a group.

Tbh I like it that way for now because it'd best to play multiplayer. If you want I can organise another match and tweet you when we're playing. Alternatively if you add me on skype (alexrose12345), I know that's a bit odd for an ld game but it'd be the best way of making sure there's a match going short of getting friends to play at the same time. That goes for anyone who wants to play too.

adamk33n3r says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:47am

Looked and sounded great. No one else was playing though so I didn't get to experience it.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:08am

Very interesting concept. Some of the traps seemed impossible to defeat. Overall great art and an innovative idea! Good job.

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:19am

Surprisingly polished experience.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:34am

Fascinating implementation of asynchronous gameplay. While the game itself is a bit dull, I appreciate the technical aspects behind it. It might be cool to see your own team moving around in a synchronous fashion to see how they are doing, and copying their strategy.

Keep up the good work!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:31am

Wow this is impressive! there wasn't anybody in game when i was playing, but it was still fun. I'm going to bookmark this and try later. very solid.

broknecho says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:13pm

This is a really cool concept for multiplayer. The words on the traps got a little muddled as they overlapped.

The platforming felt really good! Good solid base here and the async idea is really good. Well Done!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I liked the idea very much. It just wasn't that nice to respawn and go all the way through again and again without actually seeing other players. It can be turned into something better quite easily though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:20am

wow, you manage to add lots of stuff in this game and all that in 48 hours, great work!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:05am

Goddamn I wish there were people online, this would be amazeballs. So much going on here for a jam game - always ambitious to put in online stuff. Looks great, sounds great.

FrederickK says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:49am

Man, so much stuff!
In concept, the idea was in the right place, probably the best online multiplayer on Ludum Dare! xD
Difficult to give feed back to a game like this, but the amount of effort that guys had with this should had been insane!
So, good job?

ekun says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:31am

The sheer amount of content and polish in this entry is really impressive. Although I wasn't able to test the multiplayer aspect very much, the mechanics of movement and combat felt solid.

I've tackled an online LD game before, and I know it's next to impossible to get a good experience going without players. I've always been impressed with the Rude Bear games technology solving this issue with asynchronous multiplayer.

The main level is pretty large, it'd be neat to see some basic AI in this kind of game to fill in the space some. Adding some classic Rude Bear level hazards like spikes would be cool as well, to add alternate ways of dying.

Overall, I think this game has a lot of potential for a post-Jam version. Well done!

VDZ says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:54am

A very interesting concept, but unfortunately the execution doesn't do the concept justice.

Although the game is asynchronous, the gameplay entirely does not work unless other players are on - whenever you're the only one on (as tends to be the case with asynchronous games), you can just march straight towards the enemy base and steal a point. Worse still, when you finish doing that, the arena is reset meaning no results of your actions remain to influence the gameplay for other players. Although you could afterwards set some traps for enemy players, they can just blow up the traps in a leisurely way when they log on and then proceed to steal your points, so doing that feels futile - your time is better spent stealing points from the enemy. These issues combined completely ruin the whole 'asynchronous' concept.

The game does get more fun if more players are on (only managed to play a 1v1 once), but fighting indirectly through placed traps without any option of directly engaging the enemy makes it feel less fun than just directly fighting the enemy. This is further hindered through poor feedback; you don't even know an enemy is on until you notice traps suddenly appearing, you don't get any feedback warning you that enemies are taking action (something like 'VDZ spawned a Pork Roaster!'), and worst of all enemy team progress is practically invisible (you'd expect messages like 'Team Boar has infiltrated Team Bear's base!'), making victory come out of nowhere, which is pretty much the least fun way to lose ever. The unavailability of in-game chat in favor of Guardian messages works well in asynchronous play, but I feel it makes simultaneous play less fun by restricting the timing of your messages; you can't respond to a victory by saying 'wtf that was fast', for example.

I really wanted to like this game, but unfortunately all I can see is a lot of unused potential and a game that isn't that much fun in practice.

Graphics and audio were great as always. I didn't really see a strong relation to the theme - Guardians aren't that conventional, but they're pretty much just traps which are definitely conventional.

Ditto says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:46pm

This is probably the most ambitious thing I've ever played coming from Ludum Dare.

There's SO MANY GUNS to choose from! LOVE IT! :D They all play very differently, both in terms of how they shoot, but also how some of them act as transportation/shields etc as well, VERY COOL!

The game feels a bit disconnected. I played with some people that could explain the game over Skype(Alex included lol) as we played, but it still took a minute to get what was going on. Since you can't see the other players I didn't understand at first why my turrets disappeared(they get shot down by other players in their client etc).. I'd like to see the other players running around or something in a game like this I think..

There's an upside to that though, that since I can't see the other players, I always felt like I was making progress! Like "Hey I'm setting up a turret here all by myself and making progress by myself" which at least to me felt cool, since I felt important in a way that a noob seldom feels in online multiplayer!

There's also this weird thing in when you place a turret for the first time, you have no idea what it actually will do. I can't really complain about this because it adds depth to the gameplay where experienced players will place their turrets more strategically which is awesome!

Overall I'm VERY fucking impressed with this game! It really feels like an async version of Awesomenauts or something! I don't know if it makes sense, but this doesn't feel like a jam-game to me, this feels like a prototype that you should pitch to someone to make into a full game.

Much love
Ditto

SonnyBone says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:28pm

What can I say that hasn't already been said?

I'll say that your approach to the theme was spot-on. You are the weapon. You sacrifice yourself, your progress, your position... for that of your weapon. You can't use your handheld gun to fight other players. You never see them. I think other players may have missed this concept. The weapon is not the one in your hands... it's your strategic placement of traps. In a PVP game, that's pretty fucking unconventional.

It's the best looking RBR jam game thus far.

Music is catchy and gets stuck in my head throughout the day.

The variety in guns and turrets is the best part, although there could be some balancing fixes. But for a jam entry, it's a really satisfying arsenal.

Humor is an odd category for this because the funniest part about the game is what you're allowed to type to other players, something that depends on the player. Even so... the hilarious traps give you a good 4/5 humor score. Being able to type stuff to other players bumps it up to 5/5 for me.

The game is fun with players, although I would like to see some kind of real-time action going on aside from the async stuff. Even if it's just a shadow of the other players, that would really make everything come alive that much more and make it feel more exciting.

Overall I would say this is my 2nd favorite RBR game behind ... you know ... the BEST RBR game. Tight controls, great visuals, awesome music and sfx, lots of content, a unique approach to the theme, and of course... I CAN PLAY AS RAD BOAR!

Making an online game like this is going to hurt your scores because of how people play and rate these things, but I'm glad I was able to play it with a large group so I could give it a proper go.

RUDE BEAR FOREVER

Atmospherium says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:09am

I've played this game a decent amount over the past few weeks, a lot of that is due to the fact that the game plays very differently depending on who else is in the game. There aren't a lot of jam games that change as other people are playing, but I think this does a good job or giving people a chance to shape the experience for others. Asynchronous gameplay was consistently reliable, only a couple times was there a delay in sending or receiving data.

Gameplay is the typical smooth platforming I expect from you, and the gunplay was consistently satisfying. It did feel like a bit of a letdown when someone else scored a point that I had been working toward, but on the whole the game sets the player to feel like they're overcoming obstacles. In spite of how many guns and traps there are the game seems surprisingly balanced. Luddite is a possible exception, cause I found myself defaulting to that class.

The art is awesome. All the character design and backgrounds really mesh well. Incredibly polished all around.

I wish that your teams traps would show animations for what they are doing so you have a better idea of how useful your traps are. Likewise, I think it would be cool to see real-time multiplayer in some capacity (maybe you just see your teammates) so you can get a feel for the larger action that's going on.

Best music ever lolz

caranha says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:46am

Ok, I have not played it with another player yet, so I haven't had the full experience but...

The controls are SOOOO SMOOOOTH! It is awesome! And when I used the third bear weapon and the room started swiveling around me.... OOOOO, I lost it at that point!

Waiting to be able to play with someone, but my timezone does not help with that.

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I really like this idea of async multiplayer. It's something I haven't seen in games before, at least not like this. The problem with the game that I have is that, if you have a fair team, it seems to be going on forever. There aren't a lot of strategies, and after 15 minutes you start noticing that you aren't actually making any progress. I think the game needs more ways to outsmart your opponent. It needs more options.

One strategy is to hide your guardian, but there isn't a lot of room for this. I think this strategy could be more useful if the rooms bigger and more complex. That way the opponent can risk taking his time searching for the opponent's guardian, or continue placing his own.

I like the trick to wait for your friend to place its guardian before you respawn, so you're able to directly enter the next room. It's more of a team game than people might think.

Another strategy is to spam your base with guardians, making it almost impossible to go through. Except this isn't very fun and should try to prevent people from being able of doing this.

I like the variety on weapons, and how they mock the opponent (bears using boarheads and vice versa). I'm still not sure if bears or boars are more powerful.

I certainly see potential in this, and I hope to see it expanded in some way. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]