Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Vinyl Players

by epiplon - Jam Entry

Angy Vinyl Players!
Fight a horde of evil vinyl players thirsty for your blood!

Get ready as soon the game starts, they will attack you!

- WASD to move
- Look with your mouse
- Shoot with the left mouse button
- Esc (or Alt + F4) to quit the game (yeah, it's buggy as f***)


Some stuff in this game was made possible thanks to:
- Pixar One Twenty Eight Texture Pack
- The following sounds at Freesound.org:
> 8-bit electrohouse by rutgermuller
> hurt-argh by ecfike
> man-dying by under7dude

Thank you for playing!
You can visit my website at viniciusdevelops.com for more games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Fun(Jam)3.88
#125Humor(Jam)3.69
#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#261Overall(Jam)3.53
#321Mood(Jam)3.33
#498Innovation(Jam)3.12
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Fun, but there are a loooooot of enemies. Love the music !

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

The overall game was good. Got a Laugh out of it I thought the mouse movement should be more sensitive.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53am

Fun, like the theme. Great effort, but soooo many record players.

Coomzy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

What!? Why Can't I give your game an audio rating, it was good :'(

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Why no web version?

keddelzz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Nice music, love the game idea.

epiplon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21am

@Coomzy I didn't make the audio.
@zakchaos Because of this Chrome thing and I was kinda in a hurry

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:14am

Nice job, fits kinda well for what you expect in a jam.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:17am

Ok this is one of the best and most weird take on the theme yet.
FPS-VINYL-KILLER

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:57pm

cool music....

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:06pm

You know what would have been cool? Having a new music every time a vinyl player is killed! (but it sure is hard to do in 72h ^^)

Filip says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Very frustrating...

mockthebear says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:52pm

funny Too muchb enemies omg XD

HeffJoker says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:06pm

The movement felt good, but the look sensitivity needs adjusting. Maybe an options menu with sliders? Or maybe have the player set the sensitivity before starting. Also a slower progression of enemy spawning would have been nice. Maybe even a wave counter?

Nice work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]