Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ICE CREAM

by little_polygon - Jam Entry

I scream! You scream! We all scream! AAAaaahhHHhhh!!1!

Art and Animation by Andrea Gerstmann (@AndreaGerstmann)
Design and Programming by Max Kaufmann (@xewlupus)

Music Courtesy of Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Graphics(Jam)4.61
#26Humor(Jam)4.12
#32Fun(Jam)3.96
#37Overall(Jam)4.00
#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#80Mood(Jam)3.86
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#459Innovation(Jam)3.18

Comments

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Just let me know when I can get this on steam :p

But seriously, wow. 5 stars everywhere...

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Wow free and awesome, let's greenlight it!

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Wow, played it for like 20 minutes. Awesome experience. Good work :D
If you fix bit the controls a bit (are a bit rough), it can possibly be one of the best ones of this compo :D

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Ops, it was only 8min i thought i played more :O

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Add some type of collection element to this and it's good to as a mobile game. Great work!

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I always found very scary the magical music of ice cream trucks... this game reinforces my feeling! Very impressive entry.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Loved the style, gameplay and graphics. It lacked a bit variation though. But that style was awesome

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

So much murder and mayhem. And it never ends! It just goes on and on!

YYYAAAAAAAYYYYYY!!!!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Murdering cute fluffy animals :3

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Very impressive! Great and uniform graphics and addicting gameplay, nice job! A bit hard to steer from that camera angle, but that was half the fun!

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Thanks for the game!

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Fun little game! Really like the implementation of audio, graphics, etc.
The only thing I had a bit issues with is the difficulty to hit stuff, but I guess that's just training!

OmarShehata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

It looks very beautiful! The steering felt kind of slow, which made it a little frustrating.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

It's like the Happy Tree Friends got stuck in a 90s console bonus stage!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

You guys have created something special. I loved it.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice! Would love to see some highscore table.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27pm

This game is awesome. I was checking the source, but reading through the C# scripts, wow, that's alot of work to be done in a couple of days! I wanna learn how to make this terrain ramp stuff too xD 5/5 stars!

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I love it!

At first I thought I was supposed to avoid hitting people, and I was doing very poorly. Then I remembered the theme and realized I was supposed to hit people...and I did poorly at that too. :)

Great production all around, and lots of fun to play!

speakupgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

Super adorable. I absolutely love it

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

This game is just adorable! All smiles while playing! I want that ice cream truck! I want to ride my bike in this road! :)

The game feels a little bit repetitive after some time, and starts to feel like a screen saver a tiny bit, though.

But it doesn't take the fun and smiles for playing this game. It feels like an infinite fun run on Green Hill Zone, by truck, while waiving hello to the Happy Tree Friends. :P

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

Thanks for playin'! Yeah, you're spot on. We kind of ran into the time wall so the difficulty ramp is mad untuned.

RafaCP says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38am

Excelent! Congratulations!

flyingbear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Wow, the production quality of this is off the charts! I love the attention to detail you put into this. Little touches like the truck bopping to the beat of the music and that arrow key diagram on the title screen. Also, that ice cream cone has the best expression ever

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03am

Fun game, would have liked the option to silence the audio, and some way of exiting the game. Really enjoyed the macabre humor.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Controls could do with fine-tuning, but this is a really fun, polished entry nonetheless! Great work! :)

rmc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Just amazing!

Someone played too much Carmageddon when was a child! hahahaha!!!

Really nice game!

duon44 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

AMAZING

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Hilarious concept - loved playing! Only problem was that while the offset camera looked cool, it made it hard to control for some reason... Hard to explain.

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Extremely fun! I had no idea what to do or what's the point, but it's just fun playing around and I guess that's the point. :D

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Pretty great. Humorous, smart use of the 3d/sprite effect. Dig it.

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really nice done! So complete!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Please put it up in the Play Store. I don't have an iOS device.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I spent a while trying to dodge everyone lol, until I figured out I was supposed to run them over XD which makes sense with the theme. Awesome game :D Really like the looks and the cool 3d sorcery you got going on.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The rainbow-like explosion when the truck hits an object is awesome! Makes me wanna hit all the trees! xD

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Damnit, what has driving an ice-cream truck to do with unconventional weapon?....

oh....

you are supposed to kill those children. Took me a while to get that :D

Awesome artstyle, I love especially the truck (mixing vector textures and 3d).5ive stars

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

This would fit pretty well on a smartphone or the like, I imagine.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Amazing work! The angle provides a really cool take on driving, and adds extra difficulty! Yaaaay!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Haha great fun, music was catchy and graphics were niiiice. Good job

PnDAA says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Good job ! Perfect game, miss an ending :(.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Not particularly good at, but very fun.

islane says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Love the truck! I could definitely see this successful mobile game, great job.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42pm

You could probably ship this as a game right now. I'm digging the art style, and came over to check out this game after seeing your blog post. Death-by-ice-cream-truck would suck on a tombstone. 5 Star Game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43pm

@CorgiCommander aww, thanks man. I liked Newt Scoot, too ;)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32am

I've been in this competition since LD23 and this game has the most outstanding graphics I've ever seen here. Or even in the big game releases in the market lately.
I just cant see why nintendo doesnt make a mario game in this cartoon 3d style.
The model of the truck plus textures is mind blowing. Im giving 5 stars to graphics just because i cant give 6

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:34am

PS: the game is impossible to close on OSX. I had to call task manager and force quit

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05am

@pinkmonkeyhead Cmd-Q works for me; weird :|

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:20am

@pinkmonkeyhead aww, shucks. We tried super hard to make it really boipy. I'm glad you enjoyed the look so much.

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:29am

Cute! Reminds me of my everyday life!

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59am

Had a lot of fun with this, especially once I realized I was actually /supposed/ to be hitting people. The look of it is really cool, too, especially the truck. Very neat style.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Fantastic!

The camera loses sight of me when I'm near the left side of the track, but other than that it's mechanically perfect. Great job!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:47pm

You just taught me that i'm really good at not hitting things when that's my goal. This is such a fun little game. The graphics are amazing and the controls are really responsive. Great take on the theme!

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:30am

Great work! I saw your post on the main page and was excited to try it out! It's not really clear what happens when you run over people though, it took me a while to get enough and see that it gives you more lives... Excellent game!

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Great game, very very funny congrats!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:29pm

A game almost ready to sale! Awesome! :O

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Wow, man! Such a concise, polished experience. Visuals were really nice, audio was perfect. Every event felt really 'juicy'. Great work.

Lovelace Lair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Amazing game, 5 stars - super fun to play :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Fun game! Controls might be a tiny bit too stiff, music was catchy, art was great. Well done!

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Such polish! Much fun! Very wow!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Is there any ending to this madness?! Seriously, very funny and perfect graphics! Good job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very polished. Loving the cutesy art style. At first I didn't know I was meant to be running the guys over, some sort of brief explanation would have probably been good. Cool stuff though!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I should feel bad for running all these children over but this was ridiculously addictive plus the art style is absolutely amazing.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:24pm

So hard! And so well made!
Awesome job!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:12am

Really good entry! Had a ton of fun.. And those sound effect :D

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very nice game. I like how intuitive the controls feel. the "lane" system works also fine.

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:35am

Amazing! Loved everything.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:37am

Such a fun game to play, I would love to see an icecream truck upgrade system in future!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:37am

I love the perspective and the animations, but if there was an end, I didn't find it. Great start and I would totally like to see it fleshed out.

Blobo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:45pm

My god, this was the greatest game i've played all ludum dare!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nails the look - I love the animations

jk5000 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Fun, Fun and Fun.

goblin says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Wow amazing game, loved everything 5 stars
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Beautiful weapon I felt better than when I played carmagedom. but missed a goal in the game, or a gamification factor, say scoring scheme, skills for improvement, higher goal :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Fun take on an endless runner type. The most fascinating thing in the game is the ice cream truck. The animation and texture work makes for an awesome style. I think that the color pallet is a little drab tho. It feels like a polluted environment and I think that brightening it up a bit would make for a more appealing environment. Throw in some environmental progression, more obstacles (and some sick jumps), and coins to collect and you have a solid foundation going forward. Maybe you can have a powerup that allows you to play music to attract all of the kids toward your truck! Also, that death rainbow sploosh is the greatest thing ever. Amazing job.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:32pm

I like the camera placement and the graphics, specially the map when lanes diverge.
The truck was nice too but lacked a little cohesion with the map.
Kids screeming in joy when I die <-- cool
The same when I respawn <-- strange
Control was a little unresponsive for my taste, but that added up to the feeling of crazy driving which I think it makes sense.
Good work.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Yeah this is amazing! totally nailed it! :D :D

hbocao says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Beautiful and funny game. The gameplay could have a little more variation. Keep working on it!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:05am

Fun theme, and fun sound!

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:50am

Well put together overall, looks great, quite fun, simple and addictive. Some feedback! I would say put a kill count along with your meter counter and maybe some power-ups! but great job!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:59pm

well clearly the most amazing part about this is the art and animation.

May 3, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Amazing game!

May 5, 2015 @ 4:02am

Psychotic, but it has great art and solid game-play. Could use some content(power ups, maybe levels, etc). Next time use your game development powers for good.

May 5, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I love that the van dances :) Lovely - very fun

Demy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Oh, wow, it's just plain awesome. Map generations, graphics, gameflow... Cool game.

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Killing animals is always so much fun :3

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:10am

Really cool Game, makes a lot of fun! Good job

Little criticism: Please deselect Audio if you didn't made them in the 72 hours. Please don't feel offended, I just think its fairer for other jammers :)

Madball says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:48pm

That was quite fun! And graphics are great, too! However, this game is missing a goal. And what is that bar at the top of the screen? It took me a lot of tries to fill, and it did nothing except for "x1"! Or did it?

ViKing Games says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Adorable, morbid, and hilarious. I love the bouncing ice cream and blood particles especially. I like how quickly it puts you back in the action when you die, it really gets you to keep playing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]