Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

WMD (With My Dog)

by Oborux - Jam Entry

WMD or With My Dog is all about using your dog and ball to explore the dungeons.
You throw the green ball and your dog will retrieve it, make sure he is not harmed running around.
Your dog can pass thru items you cannot, such as ghosts.


WASD to move the player, mouse click to aim and throw your ball.
Click to start / restart game.


Eat some cake, evade the ghosts, smash the urn, say hi to the rats!
Dedicated to both our dogs Tobi (Rip) and Hobo!
Credit and thanks to dogwok and Darren for the fun sounds :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#607Graphics(Jam)3.11
#660Audio(Jam)1.88
#793Innovation(Jam)2.59
#860Theme(Jam)2.76
#953Mood(Jam)2.22
#1038Overall(Jam)2.39
#1053Fun(Jam)1.82
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Fine game, but it would be nice if you could start a bit faster after dying! I died a lot ;)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:10am

that soundtrack, its amazing eh.

Pomb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:35am

I wasn't too sure how to play

nassi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:03pm

The windows version is totally unplayable.

The ball mechanics do not work (http://i.imgur.com/2kc52l6.gif) and even when running around by myself death seems to lurk around every corner and after each door, which, combined with the fact that restarting takes quite a while is really annoying. I also couldn't tell what each of the things was supposed to do other than kill me. I touched some birthday cake I guess, but it didn't do much. The dog symbols had me clueless too. Music was also quite jarring.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:08pm

The respawn time is prohobitive: when trying to understand the game, I died a lot and not being able to restart in the second is really frustrating.

Oborux says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:30pm

@slowfrog I'll see if I can get the restart sped up, it was a test game to see if the dog fetching / retrieving mechanic could work with obstacles

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:10am

Mechanically a bit messy (getting reset to the start a lot was unfortunate), and music was silly. That said, I liked the concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]