Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Snowden Dickpics Simulator 2015

by lcarpentier - Jam Entry

Why make a boardgame? First of all because this is singlehandedly the most unconventional weapon you can pick for a Ludum Dare, apart maybe from making a pizza, but I'm not sure you can submit a pizza.

Also, we wanted to make a board-game.

Snowden Dickpick Simulator 2015 is directly inspired by this interview: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/04/06/edward-snowden-john-oliver-dick-pic_n_7008330.html

Don't let NSA get your dickpics. Use them as your very special freedom weapon, because you love America.

Players: 2
Required material: A Tileset (print ours or make your own as long as you keep tiles ratio) and pawns (we used fabulous FIMO dicks).

A tile-pushing game on a board of 5x5 with little dickpics.

Video to be uploaded

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Humor(Jam)3.86
#315Innovation(Jam)3.39
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#489Theme(Jam)3.39
#633Mood(Jam)2.90
#734Graphics(Jam)2.83
#766Overall(Jam)2.91
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42am

This is hilarious! :D

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Maximum humor rating, engage!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27pm

So, will this be sold as a set?

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

#dickpicsforfreedom

Chris M says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44am

This looks great, love the path generation from random tiles and the theme is pitch perfect. Looking forward to seeing the video.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I don't understand why many members of Ludum Dare think that it is necessary to create a game with some dicks so as to be interesting. Why not? Ok ok - who dares wins, but... :/

morbidcamel says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Ha ha... You wanna check out my game :)

dos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Ahahaha :D
It's not "random dicks lelelel rotfl", it's about specific John Oliver interview with Edward Snowden. Mere idea of using that as a theme for "unconventional weapon" LD game is absolutely hilarious!

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

May 5, 2015 @ 12:39pm

This is ridiculous. Ridiculous and brilliant.

LeoM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:33am

The other board game !
Fun, as long it's not our dickpick we play with ! ^^
If tou are interested I could buid a 3D printed set for this ? :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]