Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sun Wukong

by Mr. Jif - Jam Entry

"Ha! So they think they can keep the great Sun Wukong in this puny mountain prison? Please. Oh, what? They also took your powers and scattered them throughout the mountain? Well, then. Better get to it!

Play as Sun Wukong, the Monkey King in this Metroidvania style game where you can explore, gain 7 different abilities, and go bananas! (Heh.) Use skills such as ground pounds and combo attacks to escape the mountain!

CONTROLS:
Movement - Arrow Keys or WASD
Attack - Z or K
Jump - X or L

** Team **
Josh Maggard (@MaggardJosh) - Programmer/SFX/Design
Dan Konves (@DankOvens) - Programmer/Level Design
Denver Poteet (@DenverSkyline) - Art/Design


** Links **
Will add links to time lapse videos for art and code when the vids compile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#146Overall(Jam)3.70
#176Fun(Jam)3.58
#215Graphics(Jam)3.89
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#567Audio(Jam)2.57
#713Innovation(Jam)2.75
#748Humor(Jam)2.39
#916Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

Love the look and feel of the game :)

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

Plenty hard! Game is frantic and fun and quite polished. Kudos!

sydan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I had to stop playing because I put over half an hour into this game. Really good and loads to do but very challenging!

madameberry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Hard! But good.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Holy shit. This is an awesome, solid, challenging platformer - just how I like 'em :D

Love the unlocks and metroidvania style gameplay. Graphic style is consistent and immersive, character animation and particle effects rock, the sounds fit and the general mechanics just feel right.

Good job man, good job. *Doffs hat* :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Love the player controller! Impressive scale for a jam entry. Cute avatar, and nice powerups! :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Very nice and polished, congratulations! I think the controls could be a little less "slippery", it is so easy to die due to a small miscalculation when jumping or even walking.

handkor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17am

Impressive amount of work and polish. Good job

hexdie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:21am

Overall, very nice work! I really like the artwork and some of the level design. The audio was lacking but that's perfectly understandable given the circumstance of it being a game jam.

I'd say my only real criticism is that the controls felt a bit hard to control. I seemed to move or jump farther than I intend to and things felt a bit slippery, where I wouldn't stop quite where I wanted to. This in combination with the precise jumps and movements in some of those rooms made this game challenging.

Still, overall, very impressive work! Good job!

acro says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:37am

Thanks so much for the pixel art timelapse, that's really helpful and inspiring to see.

The game is phenomenal as a whole package. The lack of good sound to complement all the rest is a real shame. I initially thought the movement speed was too fast, especially for certain one-wide ledges, but no; actually it's perfect given how the rest of the game is laid out. It's never over-reliant on single-tile platform precision.

The level design is extremely intelligent and well considered, with very good gating and brilliant use of the few well-designed enemy assets. The platforming puzzles combining spikes, jade dragons, jump hooks, etc, escalate beautifully. And the ledge positioning/safe zones are really tight, satisfying to overcome, in fact for all the looser feel of the game control, some segments even reminded me of some of the 100% item shinespark set pieces in Metroid Fusion.

The only thing I noticed worthy of criticism was that I felt that after getting the cloud in a bottle, the scope of where I could go became much broader, but all the rooms looked too similar. You all clearly did an insanely huge amount of work during the jam, but if there'd have been any way to colour-differentiate some of the bigger areas it would've helped to prevent some sense of getting lost later on.

I look forward to finishing this, and regret that I don't seem to be able to save my game... or indeed buy the full product!

pkenney says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

This is a really good metroidvania. The way the level wrapped back on itself had me doubting whether I'd done the right thing, and I was just on the edge of feeling lost but never really was.

Main character was very interesting and the challenges were satisfying. I played until the fight where you have to throw 6 switches on blocks being hit by fire. I tried and tried but I couldn't get it right. It felt too much like the challenge was taking me past the limit of the looseness in the control. I know it was always my fault, but it was tough to get that level of precision out, since the guy is so stateful and the buttons move different amounts in different states.

But part of the fun of it was all those different states of movement and piecing them together. It's a great game that really took me to the limits a lot!

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:55am

I loved the graphics and it was fun to jump around. I found the controls hard to use. Just a bit too sensitive for me.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:07am

Awesome level design, awesome feel, and awesome graphics. You guys nailed it! Would have been nice to have a more dramatic ending but there was so much content packed in that it's understandable without one

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:22am

Wow awesome game. Nice graphics and pacing and level design and everything. BUt I got stuck after striking down through a bridge just to find a locked door in the next room and myself unable to jump up to the bridge using double jump. Like this a wasnt able to finish the game which is a real shame.

Orava says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

Finished the game! Great level design combined with all the different powerups.

Sounds could've been a bit more subtle in the long run, ended up turning the volume down a bit because I felt like they were pounding a bit.

I also managed to get stuck in a death state somehow, where I could still move, but my character was invisible (reseted to normal once I died again). The ground particles made the game playable like that, and I have to admit I kind of liked it in a weird masochistic way.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:10am

Music is cool and the mechanics are nice. The spikes kept surprising me though because I couldn't see them always, the sort of blended into the level for me. That's more the way I see I think though!

Overall this is good. I really like difficult platformers! Also, special mention for the soundtrack, it's pretty neat

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19am

Oh no I commented on the wrong game! Let me try this again:

I love Metroidvanias with all of my heart and this is a good one. Graphically this is just beautiful, amazing style and cool animation (particularly that idle).

If you're developing it I'd maybe add a little 'invisible step' to the edge of the platforms so that you will fall off, but can jump for a split second afterwards.

Quite amazed how much game you've got in here! Slightly jealous!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Absolutely loved the amount of detail put into this (especially in 3 days). The gameplay mechanics and level design was really great and fits the character very well.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Great game. The controls work perfectly and the graphics suit well.

Andrea says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Fantastic game, with amazing level design, sweet art and sounds, awesome use of the theme!
Very challenging too, but in a very good way!
Incredible job guys!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Overall it's very fun to play. It took me a while to figure out where to go, I think that there's a gap between telling the player that you use the platforms to get up and finding that wall bust move - since the platforms aren't used much to get to it, it's sort of misleading, but I figured it out eventually so not too rough.

Again, overall great job and it's exciting to see all the work you did in the timelapse. Congrats on finishing and thanks for sharing!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:33am

Great game, Nice graphics, audio is a little meh, but really enjoyed playing this game, you had me playing for hours!! good job

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Great graphics and I love the progression of this game! Really nice game, feels very metroid-like!

alvivar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

Solid gameplay and fun! The level design is pretty good.

I play if for a long time without getting bored, the jump feels great!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:23am

Loved the feel and the controls worked well. Loved the power ups.

Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

I'm really bad at this kind of game to start with, so the speed at which the character moves makes it frustrating to play. It seems well constructed from what I can tell, though.

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Absolutely amazing. I generally love Sun Wukong as a mythological character and wish more games included him.

I also made a platformer/Metroidvania myself so I'm really happy to have stumbled on your entry. The world is huge and so many abilities and content in this game - and very difficult but satisfying too. A minor negative is that all the areas have the same graphics, so it was difficult to remember which places I'd been to. However, it was either that or sacrifice the gameplay so I think you did the right thing there :) Also loved the character art and the little flourishes of animation. I'm seriously impressed, and makes my own Metroidvania pale in comparison in terms of features. Well done!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:41am

I got lost =(
Very big game. And without any unique environment of every room it's too hard to locate yourself.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:06am

Wow this game is huge! Had a lot of fun exploring. I felt the controls may be too sensitive, but still, great job!

gillenew says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:04am

enjoyed the game, but the character was left with a very high speed and hard to control in time to jump some small obstacles

Goutye says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I got stuck and no possibility to go out with the skills I had. However, I got a lot of fun with this really well polished game! Nice art, gameplay, challenge! :D

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:01am

Great game! I miss having some BG music, though. Managed to finish it, but had to restart once when I accidentally got stuck (even suicide did not help).

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Really difficult, but very fun. I feel like the movement is just shy of perfect, and with some tweaking could make for a very nice arcade-y feel. Nice job!

ajopart says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Well done. Fun and difficult. I like !

blubberquark says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:50pm

The game as a whole is quite good, but the level design is a mixed bag. The individual sections with the powerups are great, but the whole world is confusing and same-y. Put some landmarks in there, or give names to the rooms so players don't get lost. Also I died a couple of times because there is no way to look down a ledge, but i had to jump.

Plustech says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:14am

Man, the amount of content! I really like the hook mechanic, I would enjoy playing only those levels on a straight line. The movement was a little erratic and it was quite hard to jump from or to small platforms. Besides that, a really solid entry.
Great job!

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:59am

The game really looks fantastic! I miss a background music and better sound effects. I think you can add a mini map like Metroid to help the player on not getting lost :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]