Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I CRUSH YOU

by grillaface - Compo Entry

Many little heads.

I must crush them!

Controls:

Left / right or A/D, mouse for the hand and click to pinch.

Based of course on the classic "Kids in the Hall" skit. Would have loved to add more characters, levels, well everything... but fix bugs or add features? That is the question.

Made with love at the RVAGAMEJAMS.com LD meetup in Richmond VA, and with a little help from Photoshop, PyxelEdit, Audacity, an iPhone and electric guitar.

And HUGE thanks to the awesome Will Blanton (@x01010111), the host with the most, for both hosting the meetup and my game on his site. Check out his stuff it's the awesomest :)

Please have fun and thanks for playing :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#113Humor3.70
#121Theme3.94
#393Audio3.00
#433Innovation3.27
#608Graphics2.96
#701Mood2.74
#760Fun2.81
#912Overall2.75

Comments

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice game with good graphics, the sharp contrast between hd and pixel art is nice. The only thing to tweak is the length of the game.

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

I made a finger-head-poplin' game too... and your hand is waaaay better than mine!

Jajo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

This was too hilarious :)

Bemmu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I feel pretty certain this was made under the influence of something, but besides that (because of it?) it was a really bizarre little experience that made me laugh out loud. Five stars for great sounds and humor!

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

loved the idea hahahaha :P

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Super smooth animation. Also, amusing premise. ;) I kinda felt like there wasn't much to it, though. It was implemented well, at least!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Very silly; I got a real kick out of it! Short and not much to it, but I dug it.

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Fun game. I really liked the way the hand looked but there was no real challenge though.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Clever concept. Would have taken it further. Hand & world clash. I'd keep the realistic hand, but have it be in a realistic office environment. Squash your coworkers and boss!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Haha, love that Kids in the Hall reference! An unconventional weapon indeed :P

balom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:08am

Nice hand! ;)

I like the music too, did you make it?

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

Hey @Balom, yeah I made it. Ran home on Sunday afternoon and brushed some dust off my Boss MetalZone distortion pedal :) Did a couple quick takes using the mic on my phone but didn't have time to listen to preview them and get better sound quality :) If you listen close you can hear the pick since my phone was closer to me than the amp :0

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59am

that was pretty fun - nice memories - great job

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00am

Love it! However the people to crush stopped spawning or didn't re-spawn. Needs more people to crush because it's so fun.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01am

Good take on the theme. The mixture of photo and pixel art is a bit surreal.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:53pm

This is definitely a fun game! 5/5

Zayron says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Nice job! I wish it was a little longer. :)

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This game was really creative, and I love the actual hand being used to crush the animated enemies. The voice acting was hilarious, and the game play was smooth. Wish it had more difficult levels.

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:32pm

That art style is pretty interesting! I loved the music too, but gameplay was little boring
.

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:49pm

What a bizarre game - then again, I haven't seen the skit in question. Not sure if this happens only to me, but the enemies (?) seemed to spawn outside the borders of the screen, and only rarely ventured into view, so there wasn't actually a whole lot of crushing to be done...

Cool song though! :)

uvwar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Needs more erupting fountains of particle blood!!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:11am

Strangely satisfying! Hey, wouldn't it be cool if this integrated with Facebook so you could crush your friends?

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Great :) Nice simple game well done. Made me laugh.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Very interesting mechanic.

ceosol says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:26am

I am completely in love with the concept. I wish the controls were a little bit better. Maybe have the fingers adjustable so you can pinch at a head without needing the entire body. Nice entry, and I hope you continue developing it in the future.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:12am

I know the skit but I've never actually seen it. This was a cute implementation. The hand looks really nice! I think I crushed three heads and then the people stopped showing up and I just had an empty landscape with a floating hand. Not sure if that's what was supposed to happen. Cool entry.

chabuduo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Nice super creative! i had fun
nice sounds too! GOTCHA

MiniBobbo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:56am

This was funny. My first playthrough I only had two guys appear though. The other ones wouldn't come on the screen so I could crush their heads... :(

grillaface says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Thanks for the feedback y'all. Btw you can use left / right to scroll the view so you don't have to wait for them to come on screen... Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]