Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Synth Guitar

by eXpl0it3r - Compo Entry

Use sounds to fight your way to the next level!

Emscripten Edition:

http://my-gate.net/pub/Synth-Guitar.html

Goal:

You're a synthesizer guitar and need to reach the gloriously colored tile.
Use your sounds to open blocked doors.
The faster you are, the less missteps you make, the higher will be your final score.

Controls:

* Arrow keys for movement
* A/Q, S, D, F for generating sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Audio4.05
#236Innovation3.59
#407Mood3.11
#416Theme3.50
#462Overall3.27
#638Fun2.95
#756Humor2.33
#917Graphics2.41
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47am

I loved how the notes of the waves are in sync with the music. Nice waves and use of sound for the theme. I got only 80 points though, which is really small.

Nyrox says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Very cool, would have loved to see some procedural generation in there :D, amazing work for 48 hours. (I don't know shit about audio programming ;( )

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I'm loving all these games with musical elements this time around.

Fun concept. I feel like there's a lot of different ways you could go with expanding the mechanics (procgen, puzzles, enemies, etc). Good work.

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nyrox: The wave sounds are "procedural" generated, but yeah it's not really noticeable.

Docjekyll: Thanks! Yeah, my original idea was to allow more modifications to the sounds and add different elements, but the time was just too short.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

audio > graphics amirite?
I liked the puzzle element, but i don't like how it penalizes for clicking the wrong note as I tend to make sounds to match the music.

lamogui says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

It's cool to see somebody that have a procedural synth in it's game! You should make a 32k game for this LD32 !

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

pikmin4000: I'm not good at art, but for that it's not even *that* bad. :D
I didn't think about that. I guess, I could remove the penalty.

lamogui: What exactly do you mean with 32k game? As in 32k demo?

Lo-X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

Well, as you know, I really like your game. The procedural sound idea is great. Just too bad you hadn't time to do the frequency modification part, but I guess it ould be a nice future upgrade. I can't do as good scores as you did in the stream :o

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:53am

Oh man, this was cool. I'm dumb and didn't actually realize that you gave me the symbols on the button icons at the bottom until my third run through, I was just trying to memorize them, LOL! Fun puzzle game, was trying to keep beating my high scores.

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:54am

Glad you liked it! :)

lamogui says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:41am

Yeah that's it (like 32k demo) !

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13pm

I have never done a demo, but it would have been a fun challenge indeed. :)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very interesting Game! Though the focus is on audio, the graphics seemed unappealing at first.

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Yeah, I'm really not good at graphics, but thanks for giving it a shot regardless! :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:57am

Nice game, would appreciate if it was a little bit harder, but it's very satisfying to play the sound sync to the music :-)

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:43pm

lol... i win this game with 0 scores...

but i like the music and gameplay... good concept!!

eXpl0it3r says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:45pm

I'm sure there's a lot room for optimization to make things harder while balancing the score better.
Thanks for the testing and commenting! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]